We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodges at Canmore
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Recently stayed for 2 nights to attend wedding. Stayed in a nice one bedroom unit with loft. Room was a 2 level split - living area down and bedroom loft up. There was a half bath on the bottom level. Staying with my teenage son who was to sleep on the pullout couch, however, when we pulled it out on our first night, there was zero bedding on it, plus when my son sat on it, it was nothing more than a bag of springs. There was no way he could have slept on that even if it had bedding. Since it was already after midnight, he crashed with me, and we didn't sleep well at all. The bed was supposed to be a queen, but it didn't feel like it. Called front desk in the morning to complain and asked for a room with 2 beds. We were immediately offered a 2 bedroom unit, which we moved to for the second night. Second room was very nice and big and had 2 full bathrooms. We used the hot tub which has great, they also have a nice fitness room. Underground parking is a bonus, just have to be patient with the card swipe to get the overhead door to open. Took about 8 attempts to get it to work. There are a lot of choices for accommodation in Canmore, and the Lodges at Canmore offered a good price for the type of rooms. Friends stayed down the road and paid over double what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REETZ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear RGNJG; Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and excellent review regarding your recent stay with us! I’m pleased you enjoyed our spacious and well-equipped suites. However do deeply apologize, that you had to change suites, but again pleased it all worked out for you and your son. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you and your family again in future!


Kind Regards,


Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    120
    59
    29
    21
See reviews for
151
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 4 PM and checked into our room at 4:30. When we entered the room, the housekeeper was still there and informed us that there were no large towels available. We had a 6 PM dinner with family and needed to shower and change after a day in the mountains. The housekeeper called down and confirmed that there were no towels and no estimated time for delivery. It was then suggested that we could shower with the few small hand towels that were in the room.
I went to the front desk where there was a line of four people waiting for one clerk, and watched as two individuals were told that housekeeping hadn't released their rooms and they had to wait and get back in line later. I asked the clerk for large towels and was informed that they would be delivered. When I asked when they would be delivered, the clerk then decided to open up a bag and gave us a few large towels.
Later that night when we turned in, the bottom sheet on our king sized bed was a flat sheet that was too small for the bed so it wasn't even tucked in. Any small movement in the bed and we would end up sleeping on the bare mattress.
All in all, a very poorly managed housekeeping operation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AncientMariner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear AncientMariner57; Thank you for sharing your experience. Please accept our deepest apologies for all the trouble and inconveniences caused. No excuses can be offered except we have failed in our service. I would like an opportunity to invite you back. Please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make sure you get the stay you deserve.

We look forward to redeeming ourselves and regaining your trust in our services.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit for a girls weekend with friends and it was pretty nice. We enjoyed having a balcony and the kitchen was well equipped. We were located in the cougar lodge (which we found funny since a bunch of women were staying there).
The hot tub was nice, and luckily it was just our group in it (7 of us) because it would have been too small to fit anyone else.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoeybear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Zoeybear123; Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review regarding your most recent stay with us. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay in our fabulous suites with everything they have to offer and that you found them clean and comfortable. Also happy you and got to enjoy the outdoor hot tub (open year round). Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you and the ladies again on your next trip to the Canmore area.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We travel RCI and we are staying in the cougar building at Elkhorn Resort. First off the garage key card does not work well at all. At first we went back to get them rekeyed thinking it was just a bad keying. I stood at the garage entrance having to slide my key card in and out about 30 times to get the garage door to open. There was a broken bell hop cart that had a sign not to use it as soon as we walked towards the underground building access. We did find a second cart that was pretty run down but was serviceable.

As soon as we walked into our room we were greeted with a 3 foot by two inch slash in the carpet, banged up walls which were not patched over but just painted. The Microwave shelf is coming apart, broken tiling in the bathroom. The dinner table leg, literally on its last leg and is loose and was at an angle and looks like if you had a good family dinner at it, you would end up wearing the dinner on you or end up on the ground. The TV is mounted on a wall, it’s a nice Samsun 40" or so, but it looks like it has been wired by a 12 year old. There are 5 wires running down to the floor all looped around each other messily hung.

The kitchen is decently stocked for cooking items but both spatula's had dried on food on them. The stove had crumbs all down sides and looks like it has never been pulled out and cleaned. The drawers in the kitchen are quite dirty and to be honest almost look like there are mouse dropping in the back corners. The shower rod clips are rusted, and some are missing.

We tried the Free internet offered by the resort and it was spotty at best, constant interruptions and drops. The RCI internet was a better service and as of the writing of this review has been good.

The bed was comfortable but with the cleanliness of the room I can only wonder what else maybe sleeping with us and the girl at the front desk was quite pleasant and helpful. We called the RCI Elkhorn resorts number she gave us and got very little customer service, there were no other ‘RCI’ rooms available and were not willing to move us into a better room that was not on the RCI books. She did tell us this room was scheduled for a deep clean and updating so I guess this is as dirty as a room gets before they decide to do something about it, it is just to bad they are still putting people into this room, ourselves included. It’s nicer than a 200 sq/foot hotel room but it’s far from the quality we have come to expect while traveling with RCI and does not even achieve a bronze rating in our estimation.

Room Tip: Search elsewhere in Canmore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4U2NVME12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear 4U2NVME12; I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Lodges at Canmore in our Elkhorn RCI units. In regards to the lack of housekeeping and condition of the suite. I do certainly apologize for all other issues during your stay.

Although you have indicated that you do not wish to stay with us in future, I do hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please contact me directly 403-609-3600 and I will personally make your reservation.

Kind Regards,


Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed at the Lodges January 10-17/14 in the Cougar lodge, booked through RCI. Had a two bedroom two bath very spacious room. 2 adults and 1 toddler and it was a perfect size for us. The only bad thing I could say about this resort is that we had been missing a few items out of the room. We had advised the front desk but no one ever came to restock them. A few butter knives, glasses, pool towels, extra blanket for the sofa. Also our phone had no dial tone, and a piece in our fridge was broken. It seemed like they didn't care to come and fix anything or bring our missing items. Some of the furniture is starting to get a little beaten up looking. We also thought it was strange that everytime we used the pool no one ever came to take the cover off the pool. The front desk knew we had been at the pool because we had to ask for pools towels, because we had none in our room. So after getting changed and standing around for a bit my husband would end up having to roll up the tarp. Not a big deal, but strange they didnt say "Oh someone will come by in ten minutes to uncover it" or something like that.
Overall it was still nicer than staying in a hotel for a week. We would stay again. Also the underground parking was nice to have as well. Not very crowded this time of year. And with RCI bookings they didnt offer any cleaning service at all midstay. Which we thought was unusual.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadadada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Canadadada; Thank you for your good review regarding your recent stay with us. I do appreciate your kind comments. I do apologize for the missing out of your suite. We are now continually correcting this issues and ensuring all suites have the needed items. We are also looking at refreshing the suites. Once again, I do appreciate your review and look forward to hosting you and your family again in future!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit at the Lodges at Canmore. Other than some slightly worn carpeting, the unit was quite nice and suited our family well for the eight days we were there.

On check-in (at 4:10pm) we were given a unit that was still in the process of being cleaned. We had to wait around in the lobby area for about 30 minutes while the staff finished up. That was a bit disappointing as we had travelled from Toronto by air and car and our kids were anxious to get settled in and rest a bit. Based on a couple of other conversations we overheard at the desk over the next few days, we weren't alone in having to wait on cleaners to check-in (even well after 4pm in one case).

We made use of the outdoor pool and hot tub extensively. The tub was nice and hot (39ºC) and enjoyable. The outdoor pool was a bit cooler, but the kids were in for swims even on the coldest days we were there (-10ºC).

Noise levels were decent - we were on the first floor, and occasionally there was some footsteps heard from the unit above. Not horrible, and a fact of life when staying in these types of accommodations.

The Lodges at Canmore is in a great location, a couple of minutes from two grocery stores, Starbucks and an easy walk to the new Elevation Place rec facility in Canmore. The Banff townsite is about 20 minutes away by car.

We'd definitely consider staying at the Lodges again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear JamesKoole: Thank you for your review, it certainly is well appreciated. I do apologize for the check-in not ready upon your arrival. We do strive to ensure all rooms are ready prior to 4pm.
Delighted you enjoyed the use of our outdoor pool and hot tub. It certainly a nice to enjoy an outdoor pool and hot tub in winter. Lodges at Canmore certainly has a fantastic location and is close to all your needs.

I thank you again for your great comments and I look forward to welcome you once again at The Lodges at Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Lodges for only one night while attending a wedding in Canmore. If you prefer the condo experience over a traditional hotel room, then I would recommend this location. Pool, hot tub & underground parking. The condo was nice & nicely furnished, which of course will vary by owner. The value was good for the money, however if you are hoping to stay at a place within walking distance to local restaurants, this is not really the are of Canmore to be looking in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya W, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for the review Mark H! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lodges at Canmore.
All of our suites at the Lodges feature a full kitchen with the amenities from home, at least one full bathroom, a full living room with a queen size pullout couch, and of course a separate sleeping area. A lot of our guests enjoy this option rather than staying in the traditional hotel setting as they have the option to either eat in the suite or on the balcony attached to all suites, or go eat at one of the many restaurants that are in Canmore and the Bow Valley.
Our suites while being spacious are kept up to date for the pleasure and comfort of our guests. The pool and hot tubs are a definite hot spot at The Lodges, and guests appreciated having access to our underground parking especially during the winter!
While we are not right in the heart of downtown we are a quick three minute drive to downtown Canmore or a fifteen minute walk!
I would like to welcome you to a Bellstar property in the future, might I suggest booking at Canmore Crossing our sister property which is located on Railway Avenue and is a quick five minute walk to downtown Canmore.

Sincerely,
Tanya Whelan
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Canmore

Property: The Lodges at Canmore
Address: 107 Montane Rd, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodges at Canmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Canmore provides the ideal mountain resort experience for active families and friends with everything you need in our fully furnished 1- and 2-Bedroom vacation rental condominiums. Not just lodging, enjoy all the comforts of home with gourmet kitchens, living spaces with TVs and DVD players, washer/dryers, enough room for all of you, plus an outdoor pool, hot tub(s), a fitness centre and central BBQ area. All this plus the awe-inspiring views of the Rocky Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodges at Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Canmore Hotel Canmore
Lodges Canmore
The Lodges At Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing