We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodges at Canmore
Nearby Hotels
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$141
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pocaterra Inn(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$136
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE(Dead Man's Flats)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Canmore(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Creek Lodge(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$122
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
75
125
64
32
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
125
64
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrizzly lodgebedroom lofthot tubunderground parkingbbq grillwasher and dryerlake louisefull kitchena great staythis past weekendking bedoutdoor poolown mealsski tripwell equipped kitchenmountain viewcondo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 319 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Gathering at the Lodges at Canmore for celebrating my Mothers 100th Xmas [birthday March 6th 1923] was was a great choice .We had a 2 bedroom condo for 6 nights with good facilities and I was able to cook a complete Xmas dinner for 7[2 of the family stayed 2 nights in a premium 1 bedroom condo and were most impressed with their facilities] Our only complaint in the 2 bedroom was that the pillows were a bit hard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEL225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hi Jel225,

Delighted to see you and your family had such a great stay with us over the Christmas. Wonderful that everyone appreciated all the facilities at the resort, and that you were able to cook your family's Christmas dinner in the suite.

I wish your Mum a very Happy 100th Birthday.

Kind regards,

-Adrian
Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Cougar Lodge for 5 days for Christmas.
Let's start with the good:
- Great Location
- Reasonably Affordable
- Pet Friendly
- Decently nice rooms
- Underground parking
Now the bad:
- WiFi is absolutely horrendous. Barely works with any computers
- Pillows are very uncomfortable. Bring your own.
- Kitchenware is extremely poor quality
- Front desk staff is rude and unhelpful
- Gym was a little sparse
Overall, I would stay here again if they got the internet issues sorted out. For the price and location it is a pretty good place to stay. Just bring your own pillows and look over some smaller faults.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_B154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. Glad to see you enjoyed the location, value, rooms and heated parking. We are currently adding more access points to the wi-fi, which will enable the system to better handle peak usage.We endeavor to provide the best guest experience and appreciate your feedback in this regard. I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind regards,

-Adrian,
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Cougar Lodge from December 7-12. We had a discount rate and would have moved to a different hotel if we were paying full price.

The check-in process was quick and we were directed to a few good local restaurants. There were several bellhop carts available to take our bags up to our room.

Upon entering our unit, we were really happy with the 1 1/2 baths, the loft bedroom, ensuite laundry and full kitchen. While exploring the kitchen in preparation to make dinner, I noticed several of the dishes and glasses had food residue. The carpet also looked like it had been very hurriedly vacuumed. We also kept finding long dark hairs on the couch, on the bathroom towels and on the bathroom floors. The entry system to the garage seemed to only work only after inserting the card 5-10 times.

Note that the units are privately owned. This meant that we had 4 phone calls from people asking for who we presumed were the owners. The units are NOT cleaned/re-stocked until the 5th day of your stay, so only stay here if you're tidy! Extra supplies are available from the front desk for $5. We were provided a very tiny bottle of dish detergent and 2 units of dishwasher detergent. While only my husband and I were staying in the unit, we had to run the dishwasher more than twice because it didn't work very well and because several pieces of cutlery were missing from the 6 place settings.

Pros:
Washer/Dryer
Free underground parking
Full kitchen
Close to downtown Canmore
Gas Fireplace

Cons:
Shabby, rough towels
Needs a deep clean
Very small stock of kitchen supplies
Missing kitchen cutlery

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalieker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Hi Natalie,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see you found the suites spacious and enjoyed our heated parking, in-suite laundry, full kitchen and gas fireplaces. I will address your housekeeping concerns with the head of the department. All our suites get periodic deep cleans. Your feedback is valued, as we endeavor to ensure each guest experience is the best it can be.

Kind regards,
-Adrian,
Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Grizzly Lodge, a section of the Lodges at Canmore. 3rd floor We checked in on Saturday, November 24-Friday, Nov 30.

The checkin went smoothly. Underground parking was a great convenience.

Upon entering our two bedroom unit, at first glance we were impressed. Both bedrooms had tv's in them with DVD players. 2 full bathrooms, etc. the kitchen was stocked with cutlery and dishes.

However looking closely at the carpets through out they looked filthy. I had moved the coffee table closer to the sofa, only to find they had placed the coffee table there for a reason. A rather large stain was being covered up. The walls looked dirty as well as they could use a good spot cleaning in areas.

The next morning we had went to the front desk and mentioned our concerns only to be told that she did not have the authorization to move us as we were on RCI (timeshare) exchange, and that the person would not be in until Monday. As Monday had come around we then again went to the front desk and asked to speak with the representative. She was not in. So I called the no. And left a message only to hear she her office hours started on Wednesday! It's Wednesday and she never returned my call.

Customer service must not be on there priority list!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FA737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hi FA737,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on tripadvisor. Great to see you appreciated our location, heated parking, smooth check-in and well equipped suites.

The RCI representative did try to catch you but was unable to reach you before your departure. I have forwarded your comments on and I sure she will be in touch.

Kind regards,
-Adrian.
Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The good aspects of this place are its location and amenities. We had a special of $106 a night for 3 nights so it was a good deal. As for full price we would have been disappointed.

We stayed here as we were looking at purchasing one of the units here. After staying here we will not be purchasing one.

The bad, half the light bulbs were burnt out in our unit. Switches did not seem to turn anything on. The card for the Parking garage took 20 attempts to work, no kidding! The Internet was always down. There was no water pressure in the ensuite shower. The tv's where very old and the picture so bad you would not use them. The remotes did not work very good with most of the batteries being dead.

The maintenance guy was nice and came straight away but I would have to question having to call him with all these issues. Perhaps preventative maintenance would be better than have you guests call with a list of issues.

We were told where would be no room service while we were here but the first day, while we were out someone had come into the room. We asked why at the front desk and they said they had no record of it and we should not be concerned?

Overall the price we paid the value was good but I would not stay here if it was not on a deal. They have a lot of work to do to have it at a standard people would expect from a place like this.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at The Lodges at Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hi CanTeacher,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see you appreciated our excellent value, location and amenities. Normally our housekeeping staff reports any deficiencies for maintenance to action before the guests check-in. I do apologise that did not seem to take place on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback, and will endeavor to ensure our systems are fully up to speed.

Kind regards,
-Adrian,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews