We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The exclusive inn rental offered for weddings is the "Rolls-Royce" of all inclusive wedding experiences!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The exclusive inn rental offered for weddings is the "Rolls-Royce" of all inclusive wedding experiences!”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My husband and I chose to book the inn exclusively for two days to celebrate our wedding and it turned out to be the best decision we made during the whole wedding planning process. From the moment we arrived until the day we left there was not a need or want left unattended! They offered clear and honest communication and many options throughout the wedding planning experience to fit our style and needs as well as an invaluable list of vendors and service providers. We had the best of the best for Commissioner, Salon, Photographer and DJ. They all worked so well together and took care of everything effortlessly.

We enjoyed a welcome dinner with our guests the evening before the wedding day and had a soak in the hot tub, very relaxing. The morning of the wedding we experienced what breakfast really should be! All of our guests had a beautiful picnic lunch delivered to the rooms, this was especially convenient for the bridal party as we were all busy getting ready. All of the items we had prepared for the wedding; the favors, guest book, ceremony items etc. were all handed to the inn staff upon arrival and they took care of all the set up. We chose the silver cocktail service as our reception dinner and was a luxury many of our guests and ourselves had not experienced and was well worth it and I'm sure will be talked about for quite some time...the food was amazing, thank you Lonny!

The service and friendliness of the staff was fabulous...professional and courteous when they needed to be but not afraid to have fun with us! You will never be left hungry, without a drink or fresh towels and made up bed. Thank you Danielle, Dave and the rest of the wonderful staff!

The rooms were gorgeous and we really did feel like we were at home. You can tell a great deal of thought has been put into every room and area of the inn. Many of our guests said it was the most relaxed yet classy, formal wedding they had been to! That meant a lot for us to receive so many wonderful compliments from our guests since many of them had traveled a great distance to be with us.

Canmore is a gorgeous town with welcoming people surrounded by mountains, we couldn't have chosen a better location. The inn is situated so perfectly in the town and landscaped in a way that you feel like you're in your own little world.

What we liked best about our whole experience with them was the all inclusive nature of the wedding package. We didn't have to deal with different vendors for table linens, china, party rentals etc. Everything we needed they had under one roof and if we didn't I'm sure they would have gotten it for us! This created a wedding experience that was virtually stress free for us.

If I have to say what I liked least it would simply be the lack of counter space in the bathroom of room #3, the room most recommended for the bride and groom. It was a bit inconvenient but certainly would never weigh heavily enough for us to think it's a downfall. The view from that room most definitely makes up for it!

We look forward to spending anniversaries here every year and are even considering having Christmas or Thanksgiving here with our families in the future. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us and would highly recommend this inn for weddings or any other group experience!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_ahalberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    27
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
79
131
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We are seasoned travellers in Canada and abroad but I had to write about this place since we had such a great time. The room was tastefully decorated, and had a little balcony to sit out and take in the incredible view of the mountains. The chef/owner actually made a gluten-free meal for me (celiac disease) at every sitting of our wedding group of approx. 30 people. We hated to leave!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerinsalvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I went to Bear and Bison for our honeymoon. Our room was pretty nice... but the shower took some getting used to so that we didn't soak the whole floor! The food was ok... we would have preferred less "gourmet" perhaps. We had a lot of grilled onions in our breakfast, but nothing was bad. The box lunch was pretty good too, but there seemed to be a lot of mayo and weird sauces on the sandwiches.
Our room was overall very nice, with a cute little sitting area outside. The bathroom was also very nice.
It was nice to get breakfast served in our room if we chose, which we did on one morning. The staff was very nice, especially Dave. He was kind enough to lend us bear spray for our hike to the top of a mountain. We were there when the owner wasn't there and arrived late at night, but we had a key waiting for us and our room was ready for us.
The happy hour was a great time to meet other people and chat about hikes and fun things to see.
Overall it was very nice. Canmore is a much better place to stay than Banff or Lake Louise. The prices are better and there aren't as many crowds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expat
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Spent three nights at the Bear & Bison Inn (my second visit) and loved it just as much as the first time. Everything about it is exceptional. Every room has a fantastic view of the 'Three Sisters' mountain peaks. The owner (Lonny) and his wife love to travel and each room is decorated in a different theme. Lonny also used to be a chef in his former life, and the food is outstanding! A gourmet breakfast greets you each day; then they provide you with a gourmet packed lunch - even when you are departing. There is also the much appreciated Happy Hour. A few mintes drive from the B&B will put you in the Town Centre where there are all types of restaurants and shops. Canmore is more laid back (and less touristy) then Banff. I will definitely be going back; just hope it's not so long between stays.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillbillyexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

A Bear and A Bison was our first step into a week of travels in Canadian Rockies and it set a tone and a very high standard. Not only the physical aspects of the lodgings surpassed expectations but the intangibles of service and atmosphere set this apart from other places I stayed. InnKeeper Lonny and assistant Danielle were very careful to provide all their guests with not only good food and drink but also the invaluable insights they had regarding the sights to be seen locally. I will strongly reccomend to any friends headed to that area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We attended a wedding here. Staff was excellent!! Accommodations were great! Meals were prepared very well and the dinner on the day of the wedding was better than the meal we had downtown at a "higher-end restaurant. I would recommend this place for a small intimate wedding. It has a cozy rustic atmosphere that makes it very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Our stay at the bear and bison was the highlight of our wedding/honeymoon. The service was fantastic, the view was superb (room 303) and the breakfasts were to die for. We stayed for 3 days in the middle of the week, of which we had 2 nights to ourselves which was absolutely fabulous. A little bit of a trek from the Canmore town centre, but we didnt mind as was so totally romantic. This place is a credit to Lonny and his staff and we will be sure to return the next time we visit the Rockies!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boifrombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.3 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Property: A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
A Bear And Bison Canadian Country Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing