We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2007

My husband and I chose the Bear and Bison for our wedding on January 9th 2007. Lonny, the owner, was very helpful and spent lots of time giving us all the info we needed, before we made a definitive decision. To make a long store short, everything about our wedding, both ceremony and reception was just perfect! Our overnight guests we very well received, and accomodation in all rooms was above all expectations. Our guests especially appreciated the jacuzzi tubs in every room. Many rooms even had a view of the spectacular mountains directly from the tub! The decor of each room is tastefull and reflects good taste without being overly formal. We were delighted by attention to detail. The Bear and Bison Inn was everything we wanted : an intimate setting, lucious food, relaxed atmosphere, professional but personalized service. We could not have asked for more! We are also pleased at the idea of spending more time at the Bear and Bison for our anniversaries! I would highly recommend the Inn for any kind of function, or just for a nice weekend getaway.

  • Liked — rooms, views, food
  • Disliked — I guess location could be better-either right downtown for convenience, or really out of the way, for privacy.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank beatnoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    28
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
80
132
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We recently returned from a six night stay at A Bear & Bison. We were very impressed with everything about our stay. The food was delicious! In addition to a gourmet breakfast, we received a picnic lunch every day. The lunch allowed us to choose one of the many beautiful places in the park for our meal without detracting from our time for touring. The rooms were clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and very romantic. The staff was extremely hospitable and quick with advice regarding points of interest and things to avoid. Our stay at A Bear & Bison made our trip to Banff National Park a very special time. We look forward to visiting again in the future!

  • Liked — food/room
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCHoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We arrived at the Bear and Bison on a cold rainy day. We had some time to kill before check in and one suggestion Lonny made (via email) was to take a scenic route with a chance to see wildlife. We did not realize that this route would be so far out of the way and the last leg 50 miles on a gravel road. It was overcast and for most of the drive we didn't see so much as a squirrel. BUT, when we were just outside of Canmore we saw a grizzly bear eating berries by the side of the road! We were so excited and it definitely made the drive worthwhile!
The staff is very warm and friendly. The town of Canmore is great and very close to Banff. The inn is lovely. The bed was very comfortable. My husband's only complaint about the room is that there wasn't a shower (just a large jaccuzi tub that had a shower head). The breakfasts were pretty good. The lunches were great!!
We really enjoyed meeting the other guests and made some new friends.
The inn is off a road and the outdoor jaccuzi does not give the best views (it's OK, though). The town is not within walking distance but driving around is so easy.
We would definitely recommend the Bear and Bison!

  • Liked — The room was very clean, comfy bed and large tub!
  • Disliked — Lack of shower in the room
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mominburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

Recently I traveled to Canmore and was once more humbled by the outstanding service and attention to my needs, by Mr. Middleton and his staff.

When he heard that I was traveling with my significant other, he made sure I was checked into the best suite in the Inn where I found a note of welcome and a nice bottle of my favorite wine.

Later that evening, the staff suggested a great Greek Restaraunt where we enjoyed a fantastic dinner.

When we came back to the inn, we found our bed had been turned down and a couple of nice treats on the pillows. Nice touch eh?

We couldn't help ourselves and we indulged in a soak in the Jacuzzi tub in our room complete with the bubbles, candles and wine. I wouldn't say we had TOO much fun, but we did need to wring out the towels afterward!

The king size four poster canopy bed was more than just a pretty cool looking bed. It was REALLY comfortable too. There was a lovely cool breeze through the window and very little noise from traffic on the road outside.

After a wonderful sleep Chef Middleton brought an amazing breakfast to our room. It was better than ANY Honeymoon morning I can ever remember, or imagine.

I'll be back to A Bear & Bison Country Inn in Canmore Alberta.

Helpful?
4 Thank ohzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Our first two nights in Canada were spent at the Bear & Bison and the reception we received from Lonny, our host, could not have been warmer. We arrived tired and grouchy after 15 hours of travelling, but were instantly relaxed and made to feel at home in the most welcoming of surroundings.

The bedroom was elegant and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was invigorating.

Breakfasts were a real treat and set us up for a good day walking.

We would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a warm and comfortable stay on the edge of Banff National Park. We will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Welcome, Cleanliness, Bed, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

My husband and I dreamed of getting married in the Canadian Rockies and a friend of mine suggested the Bear and Bison Inn. After searching around for a venue, we stopped by the Inn to take a look. Just pulling into the driveway was enough for me and I knew that this was the place that we will be married. We wanted a small wedding and this was the perfect place to have all of our 20 guests gather together (since all were from out of town) and share in our special day. We really wanted a place where our guests could check in, drop their bags and park the cars for the weekend. We didn't want to have everyone have to drive here for the wedding, go there for pictures and then to somewhere else for the reception. The planning was absolutely seamless and our wedding day went off without a hitch. Lonny and Danielle were very accommodating to any request we had throughout the weekend. The weather cooperated and we were able to have our wedding outdoors in their beautiful garden gazebo. The reception meal was exactly what we had asked for and more. All of our guests raved at the selection of foods and the mostly the amazing Lobster Bisque we had chosen. I must say that our guests were well fed and watered and we couldn't have asked for a better place to have had our dream wedding. Our guests can't stop talking about the great service, the great food and the relaxing time they had at the Bear and Bison Inn.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, service and great food
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Floss1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

Whenever possible, I prefer to stay at B&Bs for the reasons that made our recent stay at A Bear and Bison so special: genuinely gracious service, care and coddling directly by the owner, the opportunity to mingle with other guests, unique, romantic accommodations and the little unexpected delights that cinch the deal. Everything at A Bear and Bison rose to that standard. They made dinner reservations for us and recommended two of the best restaurants we've ever eaten at... served gourmet breakfasts... hosted a happy hour each evening with Lonny himself serving the drinks... packed a delicious complimentary picnic lunch every day for each guest... and extended us an exceptional rate on the most beautiful room in the Inn -- whirlpool, fireplace, king-sized bed and views of the mountains from both windows. Even the music softly piped into the dining area -- an eclectic mix of smooth jazz, R&B, country and Irish pub -- was perfect. Thanks Lonny, Danielle and all your staff for a wonderful welcome to Canada. We definitely want to return!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnitWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.3 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Property: A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
A Bear And Bison Canadian Country Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing