We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times”
Review of Hostel Bear

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Bear
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is wicked! Staff is nice too.
There is a train once in a while but no big deal. I will recomend it to my family and friends. Nice hardwood floors.. Big kitchen.. Pool table.. Bar / Lounge is cool too. The Private rooms are very nice! A warm cottage feeling all around Wood & Fireplaces everywere.. Also free Wifi : )

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello Jack,

Thank you for the review we are glad we could provide you with a pleasant experience. I hope the fireplace was able to keep you warm on what has been some strange weather we have been having lately.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went to the Hostel Bear in Canmore this past summer.The kitchen is fantastic and the location is great, even with the train tracks just on the back of the building. The problem came when I got bitten by bed bugs all over my body.Staff knew about it and the managment did not care about this issue at all.
This place is infested with bed bugs.
I am surprised no one else has ever written anything about bed bugs in this hostel.
Travellers should know!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello Janette,

I am sorry you feel as though management did not care about any issue you may have had. We take every issue very serious regardless of what that issue may be. We get inspected on a regular basis and have never been given a negative report. We have always taken every precaution possible to make sure our hostel stays pest free. In past months there was been a huge issue arise for all hotels and hostels in traveler destinations from sharing rooms that have travelers from overseas. I believe this may have been the issue with your stay as we get checked bi-weekly in our summer months and no report shows any issues. I hope you can come and allow us to provide you with accommodation again and prove to you how enjoyable a stay with us can be. Management is always available to provide any additional service needed and I hope your experience will not be a forever negative one with us.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed here mulitple times now. Staff are helpful and friendly, facilities and rooms are very clean, and you always meet super people from all over the world. I look forward to staying here each time I pass through.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathracerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thnank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed meeting some of the many different people we get daily.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Hostel bear close to a dozen times. Staff is always friendly and all areas are generally very clean. I must note that I have only stayed in private rooms with friends, so I have not had to deal with other people.

Room Tip: Second floor is ideal because MANY rooms have broken windows on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada_Scott12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello Scott,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you have stayed with us so many times and I hope next time you are available to stay with us you will be able to take part in our new frequent sleeper card. We are currently working out all the design aspects of this card and hope to have it available summer of 2013. Your tip was very helpful for other travelers and have many requests for the top floor. We did have some issues with children vandalizing our lower windows. We believe we have managed to catch everyone causing the issues and are currently working to replace all our windows with newer more energy efficient windows. Sometimes good things happen when problems arise and this has allowed us to further explore our efficient outlook to be greener each and every year. We hope to have each and every window replaced by 2014.... We have a lot of windows:)

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hi there I've stayed at this location a few times while travelling through the area. As far as a facility goes it was great, nice big common areas, games, tv, kitchen with lots of storage space, and rooms were spacious and fairly clean. The location was close to shopping/food and parks.

To me the experience of staying there really depended on who else is staying there at the time. For example, one summer I stayed there it was full of travellers who were friendly and easy to get along with. There were no problems asides from the annoyance of having a train rumble by every 3-4 hours during the night.

Another time I stayed there during the fall, and It was TERRIBLE. I was in a room with a few guys who quite obviously were doing questionable activities along with being up all night blasting music and having no reguard for anyone else. Also it seemed to be a base for some homeless/near homeless type people to hang around at.

So over all, it depends on the time of year---Definately wouldn't be staying there again outside of the busy summer months.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed with other travellers and be placed far away from the rail track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for the review we enjoy seeing positive and negative reviews as it helps us to make each and every stay that much more enjoyable. I am glad you have had a few good visits with us and am sorry to hear of your negative stay in the Fall, we take drug issues very seriously and have a zero tolerance policy, anyone caught or suspected of being under the influence is removed immediately and authorities are contacted. I hope you get to come experience our hostel once again and can take advantage of our upcoming frequent sleeper card.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Hostel Bear is spacious, clean and comfortable. There's an airy open-plan kitchen, and a nice games room/ bar. Staff were helpful and we were able to leave our bags when we went on a weekend hiking trip.
The bedroom (we had our own private room) was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was very clean with a great hot shower. I can appreciate the hygiene aspect of plastic mattress covers, but I'm afraid they don't make for a comfortable night's sleep!

The one downside to the hostel is the location. It's bounded by a busy road to the front, and a freight train line to the rear... with trains during the night. If you're not a sound sleeper, bring some earplugs!
Other than that, a great value stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW2inCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise of the train behind our building. Due to the location of the hotel strip being located right next to the railway it does become unpleasant to some guests in each any every property located along the strip. We have had several meetins to move the railway system out of the town centre and hopefully next time you stay with us it will be in a different location.

We do however sell ear plugs at our front desk for anyone wishing to drown out the train or a neighbour that likes to snore. Thank you again for your review and we will see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would have to say this is in the top 2 hostels I've ever stayed at having done a fair bit of travel through Eurpoe & North America. The rooms are huge & clean & the free parking is a bonus! Comfiest hostel beds you will find plus the views from the common areas are amazing.

The Staff could not have been more helpful, they helped organise all the different activities throughout the time there & just made the stay all the more bearable (even the one that looks like a sasquatch!).

I doubt you'll find anything as good quality & good value for money anywhere in the rockies.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello Micheal,

Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to read. I am glad you have rated us so high in your books of accommodation. We hope to see you again in the future but unfortunately our "Sasquatch" night employee has moved back home and no longer works with us. He will be missed and I am sure he enjoyed being mentioned in this review very much.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.6 mi away
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bear

Address: 1002 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada (Formerly "Bear Country Lodge")
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range: $23 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canmore’s newest hostel! Conveniently located one block from downtown Canmore. The Hostel Bear sleeps 170 guests. The spacious dorm rooms sleep 4-10 guests, with privacy curtains and night lights on each bunk, in addition each room has its own an en suite. Private rooms are also available. Amenities include large fully equipped kitchen, free wireless access and a large common lounge. Our friendly, helpful staff are here 24 hours a day to ensure your stay exceeds expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Bear Hotel Canmore
Hostel Bear Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing