We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
0
3
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
3
2
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Nice and clean campground, has a beautiful trail along the river, close to Kananaski's, Canmore & Banff area. Also not far from the River Rafting drop off location. Has power outlets out in the open with beautiful mountain views. Will camp here again !!

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank Robbin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

We pulled in here at 11 pm for a quick over night on our way to BC. All the treed spots and "lower loop" were taken. So we stayed up on the bald treeless hill. This was such a miserable spot. The highway noise was relentless... All ...night...long! We barely slept and then woke up to strong winds funnelling down through the mountains and a broken tent bearing down on us. After the awful noisy sleep we packed up and were out of there at 7 am.

You need an RV or major ear plugs to sleep here.
If you are so so tired of driving and don't think you can make it any further, still don't stay here. Or just sleep in your car!

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Canada321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Not being able to get a reservation in any serviced campground in Canmore, we stayed at Willow Creek which has 15A electric. The area with electric hookups resembles an open overflow campground, however the other loops are quite nice, being mostly shaded and private. This is a first-come-first serve campground with self registration (CC accepted). Firewood is available ($10, or 4 bundles for $35), and there is a freshwater spigot at the dumpstation. Sites are quite narrow and short, making it necessary to detach the truck from the 5th Wheel. There are laundry facilities (wash and dry $1 each) and communal fire pits.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Willow Rock seems to always have a site open if you need a place for the night and haven't reserved anything. It's definitely more of an overnight place to stay while you're on your way to another place campground than an extended stay campground, but if that's what you need (like we did), it's perfect.

There aren't many bathrooms or water pumps, but everything is within walking distance. No power in the loops, but fires were OK here and fire wood was for sale at the host site. The campsites are very private and well-treed. We couldn't see anyone from our site. We even had a little creek running past our site. A river runs along one side of the campground and some sites overlook this for a nice view.

A good night's rest was difficult both nights we stayed there (on the way to and from our destination). There are highways on three sides of the campground and Highway 1 never sleeps. There was also a group of youngsters a few sites down from us who partied all night. The camp host never did a walk through in the evening to enforce quiet times, so I had to make the trek to their site at 2 am to tell them it's time to settle down.

Overall, it's a nice campground with diverse options for campers to choose from. I recommend it for those who want a weekend away last minute near Canmore and for those just traveling through the region.

Some helpful notes:
- Self-registration takes cash and credit at $26 a night for non-power sites and $33 for power
- Sani-dump available
- Running water and showers available
- More information available on the Alberta Parks website

Room Tip: Lower loop is more treed and private, upper loop had larger sites.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
6  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews