We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upper Kananaskis Lake

Upper Kananaskis Lake
Ranked #7 of 49 things to do in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Outstanding area for hiking or just driving through, especially when autumn colors are at their peak!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2RoadTrippers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    30
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
271 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“beautiful country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

A beautiful drive to be enjoyed during any season. The water is so clear and pristine you can see the bottom. The drive starts out very sketchy, over a wash board road, but it does end in a Km or so and the road further is gravel surface but a good road. The scenery is well worth the trip and I personally recommend it to all my friends/co-workers. TAKE A CAMERA -- there are lots of nice photo ops of the surrounding mountains, reflection pictures and wildlife. Early mornings are great for spotting wildlife. A good telephoto lens and binoculars help. We often see moose feeding in the lake. One such time in the spring/early summer we spotted 3 moose feeding on the opposite side of the lake. Take your time and enjoy the peace, tranquility and fantastic scenery.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beauty Upon Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We traveled to the area in the early morning. The air was still brisk, two kayakers braving the chilly water. We walked along the peaceful shore, such beauty. As we left we encountered a number of vehicles heading to this no doubt popular spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Point, Upper Kananaskis Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a late season (mid October) hike to camp at the Point, first thought was fantastic, must write it up, second thought - What? Encourage other people to share this unique experience? No way!
Ethics won, so here is my report and photos (camera did not like cold temperatures). Met two moose en route, and bear tracks (VERY large claws) going into the campground, so take all necessary precautions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first experience in the mountains.

Coming from Ontario to Alberta, I was told I would be about 10 lbs heavier than the locals because of relative fitness levels. I was passed by a senior with a cane, children, and a pregnant woman. I offered to let my friend ride me like a toboggan on the way back down.

That said, the views were beautiful. The lake was pristine and untouched, but it was freeezing.

Highly recommend this.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Kananaskis Lake also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Upper Kananaskis Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing