We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best baguettes this side of Paris...”
Review of Le fournil Bakery

Le fournil Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Le fournil Bakery provides small moments of pleasure to its customers, in the form of freshly baked breads, viennoiseries (croissants and more), pastries, quick lunches and specialty food items, all made in store using the highest quality natural ingredients,
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best baguettes this side of Paris...”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

With plenty of outstanding little cafes in Banff and Canmore it is hard to believe that Le Fournil could stand out but it does. The baguette sandwiches are simple, delicious, and affordable. You will be hard pressed to find a more authentic pain au chocolat. The coffee is very respectable. A bright cheery place for a quiet bite and a skim through the newspaper.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    33
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best baking ever!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

These ladies in this place are creating awesome smells when you walk into the palce. Then when you are looking thru the glass at all the wonderful treats and sandwiches it is impossible to decide. We had some good breakfast stuff and loved it so much we went back for lunch too. They were very kind to our children and my son loved the food so much Pascale offered him a job. Since he is only 9 he will ahve to wait a while. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fastrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for a quick breakfast before going on a hike in Banff National Park. I had the blueberry danish and he ordered the ham croissant. The pastries were very light and airy, yet buttery and flavorful. There was so much to choose from, it was hard to make a decision! We also ordered the turkey and cranberry sandwich to go while on our hike. This sandwich has a basil mayonnaise that was excellent. Make sure you visit this bakery while in Canmore-fyi-they are closed on Mondays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiseKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Indulgence”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Euro style coffee's, Tasty teas. Daily soup and sandwiches made on a Baguette. Fresh and Authentic. The Owner Pasqual (spelling?) puts a lot of time and good energy into this venture with success! A variety of tantalizing pastries, cakes, tarts and breads.... Best Bakery in Canmore!
Be prepared to gain weight if you eat here often... Rich and delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This establishment is an absolute must visit if you are into fresh breads, sandwiches, and soups. My only complaint is that we did not discover this place until the second last day of our vacation, otherwise we would have been every day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le fournil Bakery also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Le fournil Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing