We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B in the midst of spectacular scenery”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 32 Canmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay with Colline and Ron. They had designed the B&B accommodation specifically and, as such, was spacious, well planned and very well equipped.

Examples of the thought that they had put into the overall design include a self contained kitchen, separate entrance and additional insulation between the B&B area and their accomodation such that noise from one would not reach the other.

The breakfasts were first class as was their welcome, warmth throughout our stay and their local "value add" about places to eat and visit.

Those aspects plus breakfast overlooking the Rockies, and the possibility of elk in the garden, made the stay in The Homestead a very memorable indeed.

A great stay and one we would return to if in the Canadain Rockies again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Colline and Ron are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many B&Bs all over the world and this rates among the very best. Beautiful patchwork quilts on the beds. A nice extra touch is the guests' kitchen where we could prepare our own lunch and suppers. This is in addition to the fabulous breakfast provided by Colline, along with friendly conversation, in the upstairs breakfast room which has great views. The natural garden was a great place to relax and we saw deer there. We stayed at first for 2 days and then returned for a further 2 after a not-so-good experience at another local B&B. Canmore is a nice alternative to the hustle and bustle of Banff which is only a half hour drive away. We were there for the Highland Games (Labour Day weekend) which we very much enjoyed, especially the massed pipes and drums with hundreds (maybe thousands!) of pipers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Colline and Ron Seabrook are the most wonderful friendly hosts. The cooked breakfasts were fantastic, they were completely flexible about what was on the menu. Lovely to have breakfast on the balcony looking out to amazing views of the Rockies. The room we were in was the Homestead suite which was lovely and spacious with a nice view onto the garden. Very comfortable bed and excellent ensuite. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B if you in Canmore and I think Canmore is a better place to stay than Banff if you are exporing the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatloverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a find - this has to be one of the best B and Bs we have stayed in. Colleen & Ron are wonderful hosts and very helpful. Room excellent with very comfortable bed, Lovely breakfast with the bonus of well equipped kitchenette if you want of make sandwiches for lunch and don't want to eat out every night. Local supermarket does great pre prepared food. Also very comfortable lounge for relaxing in the evening & choice of backyard or balcony for sitting outside. Amazing views all round.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank austefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our room was very large including 1 queen, and 1 twin bed. Both rooms are non smoking and extremely clean. The breakfasts were generous and excellent quality. Colline and Ron provided great advice and are very knowledgeable about the area. This is a wonderful location at a reasonable price. The mountain views are outstanding right outside the door. There is no traffic noise or train noise as the location is well enough away from the centre of Canmore. The additional space provided as standard for guests included a large games room up above the garage with a 50" TV and fireplace, and kitchenette with a full sized refrigerator, microwave, and kitchen and dining utensils and dishes. It is a perfect location to take day trips to Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, and Banff, as well as scenic drives on 742, 93S into BC, and 1A as it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Banff. I would recommend a minimum of 3 nights stay to allow time to see some of the sights. After our initial 3 nights we returned for 2 additional nights on our return trip from Jasper and the Athabasca Glacier. Overall my wife and I had a great time at this B & B. The home is very quiet at all times and it is located away from major roadways in a recently developed neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Colleen & Bob were wonderful hosts. Good comfortable room - lovely and quiet, very clean and well kept beautiful house.
Breakfast was cooked (if you wanted a cooked one!!) otherwise cereals or most things catered for. We had leisurely breakfasts - with good conversation. In fact, we didn't want to go out - we enjoyed sitting round the breakfast table just talking, during and after breakfast. Canmore is a lovely little town - with some good bars - and we found it more friendly than Banff itself - which was just a tourist trap!!! it was a 20 minute drive to Banff (through the National Park) - but would definitely recommend staying in Canmore instead, and just visiting Banff centre like we did....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sephora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Wonderful hosts - so friendly and helpful, excellent advice for what to see and where to go, including 'off the beaten track'. Delicious breakfasts. Clean accommodations, comfortable beds, plenty of towels. We were made to feel at home immediately and found it hard to say good-by after 4 nights with Colline and Ron! Hope to return to Canada - will definitely stay with Colline and Ron when we do!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnaModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
5 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.2 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
1.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Address: 168 Carey | Alberta, Canada, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2R4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range: $80 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Mountain Views! Quiet,Spacious, Bright,Cozy,Clean, Convenient, Comfortable 1 bedroom Suite and kitchenette. Sleeps 1-3. Queen bed, sofa-bed, private en-suite bath with large walkin shower. Fireplace, 32'TV,w/free movie channels,VOD & pay/view. Complimentry tea,coffee. Free WiFi. Free off street parking. Private Guest entrance. Well equipped Kitchenette for simple meal preparation to eat in, take to your patio or for picnicking. Home-Cooked Breakfast choice served at 8:30 or Self Serve with no set time. Breakfast served in kitchenette to eat in or take to your patio to enjoy park and mountains. Located in a quiet forested area away from the railway tracks and highway. Rates $100-$165 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestead Bed & Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing