We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Southern Albertan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay recently. The room was modern , beds were comfortable and the pillows good. The ventilation system was really noisy, we opted to turn off the heat in spurts ,the weather was warm and the room stayed really pleasant. Our room was not ready when we arrived at about 4:15 took about another 20 minutes. ,
We opted to walk into town a really pleasant 1/2 hour walk, all down hill.
Restaurants in the area are abundant and really varied.
The hot tub outside was really nice to sit in while it snowed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We decided to trade a week and this resort was all that was left. My husband booked it and to be honest I wasa bit worried as Tripadvisor was not too keen on the facility. I have to say boy was I wrong! This beautiful little town in a hidden gem... Absolutely beautiful with wonderful walking trails all over. The resort was very clean and quiet with a nice pool and jacuzzi. The only problem was the jacuzzi had to be shut down the last day we were there due to a problem with the electrical. Better safe then sorry and they had another one inside anyway. They also had a dry sauna as well which was very nice. My only knock to the property is that the kitchen could use a few more "tools" for cooking. Not that I did much, but a measuring spoon would have helped while making my coffee each morning. All in all... I would come back tomorrow if I could. I'm sitting in the airport now to go back to Cali and don't want to go home! I love Canada

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom condo as that is all they have I do believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love_to_travel32825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We checked in on 2/4/11. Only 7 guests were checking out from the prior week. Besides the fact that check-in time is ridiculous (4PM), they were unable to meet this and clean 7 rooms from 10am - 4PM. I guess we couldn't get a previously cleaned room. The woman at the desk was the first bad experience. Rude. Our dishwasher didn't work. You could almost tell by looking at it as the door opened and almost hit the floor..insides severely cut up by years of use. They sent someone up who named about 4 problems with the unit and said that it needed to be replaced. We washed everything by hand the entire week. No replacement. The coffee maker is a circa 80's unit....complete with the coffee stains and it boils out all over the counter on occasion. The formica counters had 2 plate sized burns in them. Several of the pots and spatulas were either missing handles or the handles were in the process of falling off. The couch seat pillows were full of holes. The main TV had no sound on several channels. We had to pull the small TV from the bedroom to be able to hear the super-bowl. We brought the manager in to describe all the issues. He said that they're "too small" to be able to deal with the problems. When we checked out today we went to get the luggage cart to move our luggage. Unfortunately it was being used by the cleaning people to move their supplies around. Besides this, if you're going skiing, Canmore is an hour from Lake Louise skiing and about 30 minutes from Sunrise. Canmore is a nice little town...but too far to walk from the Grand Canadian. If you want to stay in Canmore, find somewhere besides the Grand Canadian.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I loved the hotel from the moment I walked in. The entrance was welcoming yet elegant. The rooms were a great size and I loved that they were suites. The kids slide was wonderful for the kids and we enjoyed the indoor/outdoor hottub.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farzanashariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenfell,SK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Staff clueless.Pool shut down for the month with no notice prior to arriving so what do you do with 3 very active kids who were looking forward to the pool.The adjoining hotel was reimbursing there guests the money for using the rec. center in town while we were told that we should have been notified by II. I will be talking to them as well as i didn't receive any notice from them.Rooms filthy and not well maintained.One of the matresses needed to be replaced as caved in the middle we are here on day 3 and still waiting for it to be replaced so kids are sleeping on the floor.Bring everything from home to stock the place including your kitchen sink as sink plug doesn't even work.Will never come back and will definetly not reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Invited the in-laws to the family time share. Nice to have two private bedrooms and a full kitchen -- good family time and good space! Very quiet and secluded location -- ideal for getting away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcademicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I reserved this unit through a timeshare swap with II. There were not any recent reviews when my swap was made. I was worried about my choice. I was very happy with the resort when we got there. The unit had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a living/dining area, kitchen and small balcony. The bed was comfortable. I didn't cook while we were there but the kitchen was stocked with everything you need to cook and serve meals. Our unit was in the back and we had a very nice view of a wooded area. There is also underground parking available which was nice when it rained. We would stay here again if we go back to Canmore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 mi away
Sunset Resorts Canmore
Sunset Resorts Canmore
#21 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#23 of 30 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
4.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club

Property: Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club
Address: 91B Three Sisters Dr, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club Hotel Canmore
Grand Canadian Hotel Vacation
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing