We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely the friendliest place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Resorts Canmore
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom with our 3 children ages 15/12/10 yrs that we had exchanged for our Marriott timeshare through Interval.
The unit we were in was a renovated one, no frills, but very comfortable and user friendly. Limited wireless internet in the rooms, but available in common areas.
Sean, Steve, Rick and Phil were just phenomenal...the steak/chicken bar-b-q dinner and karaoke night were delightful No sales pitch AT ALL....just lots of opportunity to meet people and have fun. Our kids especially enjoyed playing pictionary with the group. Our hosts went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time.

Highly, highly recommended!!!!!! We cannot thank Sunset resorts enough for making our trip such a memorable one!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ks10583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

ok where to start...

We arrived to this hotel, there is a lot of construction around, the lobby is moved to a different location so it was a bit confusing to find but we managed.

the rooms are very nice despite the fireplace not working. it is basically a condo with everything you need, washer and dryer were very handy since we had been travelling for the last 2 weeks.

the hotel is very secure, you need 2 different keys to enter the building which make you feel quite safe.

there is an underground parking lot which was nice for the winter but extremely dusty. and be careful to park ONLY in the Sunset resort parking spaces which are a bit hard to figure out at first, if you don't it wont take long till you get a message to move your car, the parking lot is share with locals and I think other businesses.

The room were really good and I don't want to bash or anything but here are the points that needs work on:

the mattress in our room was probably harder then the floor, I woke up with back pain everyday, don't expect a nice duvet because you'll freeze at night, there was only a sheet and a very thin comferter.

The gas fireplace was not working but the pilot was on.. go figure.

Room service.......huh? we've put the room service card on the door to come back to the room almost exactly the way it was. except they emptied the garbage. don't expect your towels to be changed or even get more Shampoo or soap. we ended up going to the store and buy a soap and bottle of shampoo and also some more laundry soap. Room service was not existant. a little vaccum and new towels and shampoo was pretty much all I was looking for but... not happening.

on the good side, the view is just amazing, where ever you look it's breathtaking.
you can't really hear the trains which is very good, I can just imagine the hotels closer to the tracks. trains go by all the time almost every hours.
the living room is very comfy with very good heating system. the kitchen is well equipped with stove, fridge, dish washer etc, even a normal size coffee maker with a TIm Horton coffee sample! (very good!)

Canmore is about a 3 mins drive to Banff National park which you must drive too, I really liked this hotel but next time I think I would stay in the park. Canmore is really the real estate area. LOTS of construction.

The price for the room was very good, I would expect a bit more service from the cleaning crew.

Overall, I would definitly recommend this hotel despite the few little issues we had.

oh yeah one more thing, no internet in the rooms...

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmarcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Our weeklong stay at the Sunset Resort Canmore was a wedding gift to my husband and me. We initially wanted to stay in Banff, but read bad reviews about the timeshare we were looking at there. We settled on the Sunset Resort in Canmore, and are really happy that we did.

We arrived late in the day on Sunday, so we missed the initial orientation to the area. However, we did attend the steak/chicken dinner, and as another reviewer said, it was an amazing meal. We were fearing a sales pitch, but never heard one. Instead, we had a lovely meal and spirited discussion with one of the staff members. It was a great evening.

Our room was very nicely furnished and clean. We appreciated having the small kitchen. We also used the in-unit washer and dryer through the week. My only complaint would be that the room was too warm. I guess kudos go to the builders for insulating the place very well! The temperatures ranged from 30F to 60F, and we never turned on the heat or air conditioning. We had windows open all the time, and even slept with a fan on at night.

Overall the hotel was very quiet. We rarely saw or heard other guests. It was nice to be able to park on-site in an underground lot with restricted access. We felt very safe in the hotel and in the town of Canmore.

We are looking forward to going back to Canmore. I'm not sure if we'll be able to stay at the Sunset Resort again, but we did seriously entertain the thought of buying a timeshare with them.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Becca713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

What a dump, despite the fact that the place is brand new. This is a prime example of a hotel getting build in a hurry, ventilation didn’t work the first night. Which means trying to sleep in +30 degrees celsius. Very cheap room finishes, couldn’t even provide extra pillows. Non-smoking floor, yet we had people smoking on our floor, and management unable to do anything about it. They also sell these units for timeshare, feel sorry for those people. The only time ever we checked out of accommodations early. Oh I almost forgot, we had booked a condo unit, but got stuck into a hotel room. Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank whatwerewethinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Just got back from a great trip to Canmore. We stayed at the Sunset Resort property and had an absolutely wonderful time. We got the week through an II trade and are glad we did. As frequent travelers who are used to staying in nice places, we have certainly had more upscale rooms, but have never encountered better service or better hospitality than we did in our week at Sunset. That said, the room is still nice. The bottom line is that the staff’s attitude is that they could not do enough for you.

Along with many of our fellow travelers, we started the week at the Sunday orientation breakfast and came away with several new suggestions and tips about the area, though we had been to the area previously, and not a sales pitch in sight. Meanwhile, a freak Sunday morning August snow storm was going on outside. It did all melt by afternoon.

Every week the staff provides a free steak (or chicken) dinner on Monday evening. Despite the number of fine restaurants in Canmore and Banff, it ended up being our best meal of the week. There was plenty to eat, plenty to drink along with lots of fun and a great chance to meet your fellow travelers and the Sunset staff. Everyone seemed to have a great time.

The staff had planned activities just about every day for those who were interested. We participated in a group hike to Grassi Lake and a mountain biking trip and had a great time. Staff members actively lead and participate in the events and even filled out a foursome for a golf outing. They genuinely seem to have a great time doing it as well, which makes everyone else have a good time. Additionally there was a wine (frozen drinks and beer as well) and cheese party on Thursday for the guests. It probably goes without saying, but everyone had a great time.

Do take the time to really visit the area as it is some of the best natural scenery that you will ever come across. We took trips to Yoho and Kootenay National Parks in B.C. along with trips to Lake Louise, Johnston Canyon and Kananaskis Country. Don’t miss Moraine Lake and Peyto Lake, 2 of the most beautiful lakes you will ever see. There is just so much to see and do in the area.

In closing, 3 cheers to the staff a/k/a the extreme team of Phil, Steve, Sean and Richard. They made our week a great, memorable week of vacation. We are looking forward to coming back for a winter vacation at Sunset, with a whole other agenda of activities. The dog sledding does seem like lots of fun.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pupparooskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting Banff earlier this month. This entire area is quite expensive and after reading countless reviews for other properties I decided to go for the decent - not too pricey range rather than splurging, as we were only staying one night and knew we would be spending very little time a the hotel.

When we arrived our room was ready early, which was nice, we dumped our stuff into he room and headed to Banff for the day. The room was clean, very basic. The bed was your average hotel bed...comfortable enough for a decent night's sleep. The balcony was small, and had an empty fish tank sitting on it!? I didn't bother calling to ask them to remove it. It had a full size fridge, which while not necessary, allowed us to grab some groceries and freeze some water to take on our hike the following day.

Overall this place fit the bill for our one night stay in Canmore, if we were staying longer however, or expecting to spend any amount of time at the property, I likely would choose a place a little nicer with more amenities. However, in this area you pay the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath the first week of August. I guess the first thing to address is that it could be a little easier to know where the front desk is to check-in, but that was really minor. Our accomodations were great. A very nice room that was up to date. I did learn that there were 4 units that had not been updated, so I guess the few reviews that complained about the room were in one of these units, but ours was very good, unit 205.

The staff is really excellent. We attended the Sunday orientation, which was NOT a sales pitch at all. It was all about talking about the area and what to do, plus the sponsored activities by the resort. Very informative and we did some things we did not plan on based on their recommendation, so we are very glad we attended. The steak dinner is not to be missed on Monday night. And it was a big, very good steak, with potato salad, bread, salad, chips and drinks, including beer and wine. The Thursday cocktail party was good too.

The resort does have a nice common area with hot tub, pool table and other games and a very good work out room. But we were there to see Banff, so didn't spend much time on site. I saw one review about a tip for the cleaning that was left as an envelope request. Don't know what they were talking about, as we saw nothing like that.

The resort is very close to both Highway 1 and the gates of Banff, so this is really a great place to stay while visiting Banff, much cheaper and less crowded, but still nice restuarants and stores.

Overall, we had a great time and no negatives at all.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SemajFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.0 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
554 reviews
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 109-1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range: $149 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing