We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation - Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Resorts Canmore
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Vacation - Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Just got back from a great trip to Canmore. We stayed at the Sunset Resort property and had an absolutely wonderful time. We got the week through an II trade and are glad we did. As frequent travelers who are used to staying in nice places, we have certainly had more upscale rooms, but have never encountered better service or better hospitality than we did in our week at Sunset. That said, the room is still nice. The bottom line is that the staff’s attitude is that they could not do enough for you.

Along with many of our fellow travelers, we started the week at the Sunday orientation breakfast and came away with several new suggestions and tips about the area, though we had been to the area previously, and not a sales pitch in sight. Meanwhile, a freak Sunday morning August snow storm was going on outside. It did all melt by afternoon.

Every week the staff provides a free steak (or chicken) dinner on Monday evening. Despite the number of fine restaurants in Canmore and Banff, it ended up being our best meal of the week. There was plenty to eat, plenty to drink along with lots of fun and a great chance to meet your fellow travelers and the Sunset staff. Everyone seemed to have a great time.

The staff had planned activities just about every day for those who were interested. We participated in a group hike to Grassi Lake and a mountain biking trip and had a great time. Staff members actively lead and participate in the events and even filled out a foursome for a golf outing. They genuinely seem to have a great time doing it as well, which makes everyone else have a good time. Additionally there was a wine (frozen drinks and beer as well) and cheese party on Thursday for the guests. It probably goes without saying, but everyone had a great time.

Do take the time to really visit the area as it is some of the best natural scenery that you will ever come across. We took trips to Yoho and Kootenay National Parks in B.C. along with trips to Lake Louise, Johnston Canyon and Kananaskis Country. Don’t miss Moraine Lake and Peyto Lake, 2 of the most beautiful lakes you will ever see. There is just so much to see and do in the area.

In closing, 3 cheers to the staff a/k/a the extreme team of Phil, Steve, Sean and Richard. They made our week a great, memorable week of vacation. We are looking forward to coming back for a winter vacation at Sunset, with a whole other agenda of activities. The dog sledding does seem like lots of fun.

  • Liked — The Service along with the location
  • Disliked — Master bath could have been laid out a little better
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pupparooskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    27
    18
    23
See reviews for
60
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting Banff earlier this month. This entire area is quite expensive and after reading countless reviews for other properties I decided to go for the decent - not too pricey range rather than splurging, as we were only staying one night and knew we would be spending very little time a the hotel.

When we arrived our room was ready early, which was nice, we dumped our stuff into he room and headed to Banff for the day. The room was clean, very basic. The bed was your average hotel bed...comfortable enough for a decent night's sleep. The balcony was small, and had an empty fish tank sitting on it!? I didn't bother calling to ask them to remove it. It had a full size fridge, which while not necessary, allowed us to grab some groceries and freeze some water to take on our hike the following day.

Overall this place fit the bill for our one night stay in Canmore, if we were staying longer however, or expecting to spend any amount of time at the property, I likely would choose a place a little nicer with more amenities. However, in this area you pay the price.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath the first week of August. I guess the first thing to address is that it could be a little easier to know where the front desk is to check-in, but that was really minor. Our accomodations were great. A very nice room that was up to date. I did learn that there were 4 units that had not been updated, so I guess the few reviews that complained about the room were in one of these units, but ours was very good, unit 205.

The staff is really excellent. We attended the Sunday orientation, which was NOT a sales pitch at all. It was all about talking about the area and what to do, plus the sponsored activities by the resort. Very informative and we did some things we did not plan on based on their recommendation, so we are very glad we attended. The steak dinner is not to be missed on Monday night. And it was a big, very good steak, with potato salad, bread, salad, chips and drinks, including beer and wine. The Thursday cocktail party was good too.

The resort does have a nice common area with hot tub, pool table and other games and a very good work out room. But we were there to see Banff, so didn't spend much time on site. I saw one review about a tip for the cleaning that was left as an envelope request. Don't know what they were talking about, as we saw nothing like that.

The resort is very close to both Highway 1 and the gates of Banff, so this is really a great place to stay while visiting Banff, much cheaper and less crowded, but still nice restuarants and stores.

Overall, we had a great time and no negatives at all.

  • Liked — Excellent Staff, Great Location
  • Disliked — Better check-in, area is under construction
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SemajFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

We just returned from an absolutely fabuous week in beautiful Alberta, Canada. The scenery and weather were breathtaking, but our overall experience was greatly enhanced as a result of our experience at Sunset Resort in Canmore.

Canmore was an excellent location for all of our day trips. It's less "touristy" than Banff and Lake Louise --- so you aren't constantly battling tourist traffic and prices.

Our 2-bedroom unit was newly remodeled and was one of the nicest we have ever experience. BUT THE VERY BEST PART of the stay was the staff. ALL of the members of the staff go way out of their way to make sure that all of the guests feel comfortable and have the best possible experience in the area. The Sunday morning informational breakfast was filled with informative, on-target information. We followed EVERY suggestion they made --- including a daily itinerary --- we saw places and wildlife that other travelers we've met never experienced. The free steak dinner on Monday night was delicious and provided a great opportunity to recheck suggestions about sites to see.

There is NO sales pressure of any kind at this property ... just great service and a true passion for making sure that every vacationer has a great experience. We are usually vacation "loners", but we thoroughly enjoyed the whitewater excursion that Sean put together for us. He went along with the group and made sure that everything went smoothly.

We've traveled the world, but this was truly a vacation to rank in the top group. We would definitely recommend Sunset Resort to anyone planning to visit in this part of Canada.

  • Liked — Newly remodeled with separate bedrooms/ living room - nice kitchen and balcony gas grill
  • Disliked — No air conditioning --- usually not needed --- but there was some outside noise when windo was open
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

As said before in other reviews, the staff at this resort is what makes it so special. I have been on many vacations and never even knew the staff by name. At this resort I feel that I have made new friends with the staff. Steve, Sean, Phil, Gary, Richard and Richard's dad (and I'm probably leaving someone out) made our vacation so special with their wonderful hospitality. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is planning a vacation in this area.

  • Liked — The proximity to the things we wanted to do and the hospitality of the staff.
  • Disliked — No balcony from the room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank samswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Sunset Resorts is an RCI property in Canmore, Alberta, close to Banff National Park. While the accommodations are OK (construction was going on right outside our balcony), the staff made our stay one of the most enjoyable of our two weeks in Canada. At the top of the list is the complementary Steak dinner cooked up and hosted by the staff. It was a night of good food, games, and lots of laughs (and too much wine!). the wine and cheese party on Thursday night was another event hosted by the staff. Both of these events were an opportunity to meet other guests and plan day time activities with them. This staff bends over backwards to make your stay unforgettable. They are gracious, accommodating, and efficient. The resort provides internet access in the members lounge which also has a pool table, hot tub, and comfortable couches and chairs. The accommodations include hotel type rooms and condos.

  • Liked — proximity to Banff NationalPark and the staff
  • Disliked — thw construction outside the balcony
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dcitykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

Though the property had new construction under way and the unit we stayed in could have used some updating, the staff more than made up for it. They were wonderful and friendly from the cleaning staff to the front desk. Sean, Richard, Phil, Steve, Mike, were at our disposal at all times starting from assisting us to our unit upon arrival. They provided an orientation breakfast where guests could meet one another. They gave us wonderful information on where to go, when to go and what to see. They then had a steak dinner for us AND a wine and cheese party with croquet and bocce. We had such a good time. The proximity to Banff National Park was great - very close. We recommend the resort.

  • Liked — The Staff.
  • Disliked — The room needs updating.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cnovotny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#19 of 29 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Property: Sunset Resorts Canmore
Address: 1151 Sidney St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing