We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but less than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Resorts Canmore
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
big city
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice, but less than expected”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had called to book a 2 bedroom suite, but then it wasn't available when we confirmed the booking, so we had to book two 1 bedroom suites. They were farther apart than expected, but it still worked out alright. The reception upon arrival was friendly and helpful. We received (per suite) 2 cards to get into the building, parkade and pool, and 3 cards for the room - one of which must be kept near the front door to keep the power in the suite on. They said we'd be charged $25 per key if one of these 10 keys went missing - yikes! The kids enjoyed the water slide, the hot tub wasn't very hot (probably because it goes outside as well, which was a neat feature). Our hallway was being fixed I assume, as there was drywall removed and torn/peeling wallpaper all the way down the hall, although we didn't see anyone working on it - it was that way for all 4 days.
Our suites were a little smaller than I expected, but still worked out fine. For a suite for 4 people, I was surprised that it only had a dining table for 2, as well as 2 bar stools for the kitchen counter. There was ample storage in the kitchen including a full (empty) pantry. The kitchen was well appointed, and everything worked perfectly. However, they had very minimal cooking utensil and a medium-small pot and pan. There was no salt or pepper (which is typically a staple in suites with kitchens) and only 3 dishwasher detergent pucks. We called to ask for more, and more than an hour later we didn't have them, so we went down to the office. We were told they would bring them right up, but it was over 3 hours until we actually could run the dishwasher. It says that there is some house cleaning service during our stay, but they only emptied the garbages. They didn't make the beds, wipe anything or replace supplies (like toilet paper) but they did leave a big roll of garbage bags on the kitchen counter (?). The bathroom was small and the door wasn't lockable (in either suite's bathroom or bedroom), but the shower was a delight - a full steam shower with back jets, a foot spray and a radio. Lovely! having a washer and dryer in the suite was a great bonus too.
The suite had a regular phone which had no service and a cordless phone that always said "charging" but died as soon as you picked it up. We told the front desk, but nothing was done, so we had to use our cell phones, even to call the front desk or another suite. The brochure said each suite had a blu ray player, so we picked up some blu ray movies for the trip. One suite didn't have any player at all. We mentioned it on the first day, and they brought a dvd player on the second day, but it wasn't blu ray so we couldn't play any of the movies we'd brought.
There was a small door in the middle of the bedroom wall. It was supposed to be locked, but it was open and exposed the mechanics inside the wall (a pipe with a valve shut off). Without the key, this couldn't be closed.
The bed and the pull-out sofa both had great pillows and a luxurious duvet, so sleep was great. The bedroom was cold because the window was frozen shut with a small gap that let in cold air. The window handle was covered in frost on the inside. The fireplace did a great job of keeping the rest of the suite toasty warm. We used the BBQ and it worked great.
We still had a wonderful vacation, and probably wouldn't have been bothered by these things if it hadn't been such an expensive place to stay for us.

Room Tip: We asked to be fairly close to the pool, which was great for the kids to walk there. There wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfamily009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    29
    18
    25
See reviews for
60
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at a Sunset Resort Condo over New Years, 2013. We had a 2 bedroom condo, one large room with a queen bed and one tiny bunk room with bunk beds. There was a full kitchen and very nice living/ dining area. Because we were skiing etc every day, having the washer and dryer was a real luxury. The living room had a nice pull out sofa but due to the relatively small size of the condo, I would recommend it as a 4 person unit, not 6. The staff were friendly and there was a hotel/resort only a few steps away with a large swimming pool/hot tub/water slide. It was only $50 per week for pool access and this was well worth the price. A hot soak after skiing was welcome and our 11 & 17 year olds enjoyed the pool and slide. The condo is very close to downtown Canmore's restaurants and pubs so we had no trouble walking home after a couple of drinks with dinner. Our condo had been newly renovated and was very stylish. There were 2 flat screen TVs. We brought our own music system but there might have been music programs on the TV. The bathroom was small but well appointed and the entire condo was very clean. It would have passed anyone's white glove test. My only negative comment is that the key system was complicated with 2 keys and a parking pass card needed to get into the condo. Even when you've entered the parking garage with your pass card, you were stuck if you didn't have the elevator door key. The keys could be more clearly marked for ease of use. The condo provided a few dishwasher tabs and a bit of laundry soap to get you started (nice) so it's worth packing a bit more of each so you don't have to buy a big supply.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The living area is very small. The pIctures online are deceptive (purposely?). When we booked we made it clear that we were coming with 6 adults yet they put us in this tiny suite. Herb Tarlek salesman will tell you what ever you want to hear. Not cool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalgaryJa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear CalgaryJa54,

our 2 bedroom units are standard and sleeps up to 6 people with 4 people sleeping in the bedrooms and 2 people sleeping on the pull-out couch situated in the living room. Most of our guests understand the 2 bedroom unit confirmation but perhaps, booking 2 rooms may have been a better option for you. Should we have known that you needed more space, we would have offered you a larger 3 bedroom unit or a 2 bedroom and a 1 bedroom unit.

Sincerely,

Sunset Resorts Canmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in a balcony two bedroom condo for two days Oct long weekend. Hot when first arrive but opening windows cooled down the place. Nice gas fireplace off to the side of the TV. The TV has HDMI connectors you can hook into if you have a portable Blue ray. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, pots, pans, cutlery but no salt and pepper. We used the washer and dryer so we went home with clean clothes, always a bonus. There was a table in the eating area off to the side of the kitchen and stools by the kitchen counter.

Dryer needed some work as it took 3 cycles to dry clothes, they said they would get their maintenance people on it as soon as the turkey wore off :-).

One good thing to know is that although they advertise a 10 am checkout, they are pretty easy going about extending this a couple of hours if you ask them.

The underground parkade is only 6 foot one inch but there is parking above ground as well. The place was pretty quiet for us when we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains opposite the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We prefer not to stay here but even on long weekends when everything else is booked up, this place still has availability. As a result, we have stayed a few times and in a pinch will continue to do so. We always prefer Grande Rockies over this place though. The units are clean but things are showing its age like leaks from the kitchen sink and all the batteries for all the remotes are dying. One time I upgraded to mountain view which was a terrible mistake. Not only is it mountain view but it's always highway view. To make matters worse, the windows in the bedroom and living room didn't seal well so you could hear the traffic all night long. When I checked out, I was asked how my stay was and I mentioned that the mountain view was a disappointment because of the highway noise. His reply was "well you got a mountain view though, didn't you?" I politely reminded him if he doesn't really care about people's opinions then perhaps he shouldn't ask. He then gave me the whole "I'll talk to my manager...." line and as expected, nothing was followed up.

Room Tip: Do NOT "upgrade" to mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Please note that we manage private units at both Sunset Resorts Canmore and Paradise Resort Club (Grande Rockies Resort) which allows you to choose your preferred property. If there are any unit deficiencies we ask that you report them to the front desk immediately so that maintenance can rectify the problem. As the resort is perpendicular to the highway, the mountain views are panoramic. For those guests who haven't been here, the highway is approximately 1 block away from the resort. If you are a light sleeper, please request a room in the other wing and we will do our best to accommodate you but most guests are mainly concerned about having a view.

Sincerely,

Sunset Resorts Canmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed with my husband and daughter which we exchanged through interval international and where very pleased with our apartment ( two bed ) lovely spacious apartment with all we needed and more ! Loved the spa bath in the master bedroom and the bed was very comfortable ( and enormous !! ) even though the resort was fully booked we did not hear any noise at all for the whole week we stayed ! The staff were very helpfull and we enjoyed a lovely BBQ which the resort laid on for everyone ( f o c ) .The town of Canmore is great and had the friendliest people we've ever met with lots to do but doesn't feel to touristy like Banff . best base to do lots of activities from .shops and bars/ restaurants where all within walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family get together, after a wedding, was great.
The view! The spacious rooms! The facilities!
The Frisbee Golf was hilarious and enjoyed by all!
It was a good base to shop and explore and hike and bike.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
522 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Property: Sunset Resorts Canmore
Address: 109-1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing