We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, fresh asian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai It Up - CLOSED

Thai It Up
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cheap, fresh asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We got there just before the evening rush. What a line up--obviously the locals know it has the best Thai food. Green Curry and Chicken Paneng were both delicious. They made sure that the Chicken Paneng was Gluten and Dairy-free for me.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunny800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    24
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice surprise! Wholesome, fresh, fast...if not quite authentic...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were delighted to find a Thai place in little Canmore, so we ordered take out from Thai It Up, run by an ex-pat who went to Thailand, loved the food, and studied cooking. We ordered the Green Papaya Salad (one of our favorites) and the Chicken Panang Curry. Both were fresh, tasty, with authentic ingredients (Kaffir Lime leaves, Green Papaya, Thai Chiles - where do you GET this stuff in the middle of the Rockies??). Our only criticism was that the flavors were rather bland. Panang, for example, should have a rich spicy coconut-based sauce: this was really just a stir-fry on rice. I applaud the owner for offering food that is well-prepared and freshly served. I would just suggest making the effort to mimic true Thai flavors, balancing fish sauce, lime, sugar etc. (And more coconut in the Panang!). But we recommend this place as a good, healthy option for Canmore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schaferpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just on Railway Avenue, small little restaurant with BIG food. The butter chicken is to die for, best Thai food ever. Can eat in or take out

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holdner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The food taste pretty good and price is reasonable. I wish there are more sit down place so we don't have to bring the food back to our hotel.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 73SummerTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canmore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“wish they had seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

great spot, use to serve from a food truck in town last summer. Now a spot to go year round. Too bad there's limited seating at the window only. Fantastic for take out at lunch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank canmorebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai It Up also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing