We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We took our family for an overnight to Canmore from Calgary. We stayed at the Pocaterra Inn. It was a great experience. The room was spotless and smelled really clean. There were many amenities and the staff was friendly and very helpful. My kids especially enjoyed the pool, water slide, hot pool, steam room, sauna and games room. There are even life jackets available for smaller kids. We all slept well in the clean comfortable beds. There's no restaurant, but there are many near by. Also, the included continental breakfast was exceptional. We'll definitely be returning soon.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IcyOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    337
    70
    21
    15
See reviews for
365
344
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

It is getting close to that time of the year when I will be hibernating for the winter. I find this hotel a great place for sleeping as I move from hotel to hotel for the winter. I am not disturbed by outside noise or thin walls. I enjoy the coffee as I drink loads to stay awake during the winter. Especially fond of Wendy's close by as I like to go there and I cry in my Frosties as cry in my beer when depppppprressed. People look strangely at me as they see the big bear go lumbering by either on the road or in the street. I tend to get depressed in the winter as nights are very long and the days are dreary from lack of sunshine.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtedCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Clean hotel with great staff. Nice breakfast. Canmore location convenient to Banff without the pricetag! Nice pool with waterslide (sign said pool will be closed for remodel in Nov 09). Overall we enjoyed this hotel, and I did not hear any of the trains that other people mentioned (stayed two nights).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandRfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Very decent and clean inn.

Staff ( Sharon and Max ) have been very helpful.

Breakfast - very good / decent.

Best Western in Canmore is an ideal inn at an ideal location. Even if you have to take tourist buses (operated by Brewster), you can reach Banff by 8Am after your breakfast in BestWestern. Takes just 20 minutes to Banff.

You will not see the "tourists rush" and the associated noise and hassle. I can imagine that Banff town itself would be very busy and noisy with tourists all over the place (like in lobbies of 4* hotels --Fairmont and others and on the streets out in front of the hotels).

Stayed in # 318 (August 14 - 18). Ask for it. This is ideal room with 2 queen beds. No noise from outside (unlike as mentioned in the other reviewsof the other hotels about the highway and railroad noise)

/Suri

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

I have found over time that staying at a Best Western can be an iffy prospect. I've been in some that were okay and others that left me sitting up all night watching for bugs crawling on the bed.

This Best Western in Canmore is a gem! My husband and I stayed there on a driving vaction. Closely located to Banff you will find Canmore to be a quieter place to base yourself. The restaurants and stores were wonderful and we enjoyed the lovely setting of the town.

It would be hard not to be impressed with our room. We were upgraded to a suite, and it was really perfect. Our balcony had amazing views of the mountains and even though it was August it was hard to ignore the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom or the fireplace in the bedroom. We felt pampered and this stay turned out to be the best treat of our trip.

Banff is 15 minutes away so this is a perfect alternative to staying in that more costly town. The hotel provides you with a variety of restaurant choices and we were not disappointed in our choice, which was about a 3 minute drive from the hotel.

We did not take advantage of the other ameneties in the hotel such as the pool, spa or exercise room. We did use the internet liberally, though, and had none of the issues other reviewers mentioned.

Not only did we love our stay here, we are already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyoming_traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

This is an ideal base for the Rockies in Banff National Park. More reasonably priced than Banff hotels(easy drive to banff town in 10-15 inutes. An excellent Best Western, well above the usual standard. Comfortable spacious room with 2 queen beds on "nd floor, with fireplace and balcony and a view of the Rockies. Good complimentary continental breakfast with very reasonable choice.
The hotel has indoor pool, slide and jacuzzi, games room, guest laundry and gym.
Canmore is a very pleasant small township with a range of good restaurants on MainStreet. The family restaurant next door to the hotel is very adequate but there is a greater choice of food in town (5 minutes by car).
The hotel is beautifully situated with mountains all around, some train noise during the night but soporific rather than disturbing. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was for families. When we checked in there was cookies and tea in the lobby. Rooms are huge! Nice cabinet/kitchen area with fridge and microwave. Balcony with views of the mountains. Boys were thrilled with the two story waterslide in the pool. We enjoyed the hot tub after hiking all day. They also had wet/dry sauna and very large fitness room. Boys also enjoyed the game room with ping pong tables and foosball. They had laundry facilities and computer to check email with. The breakfast was continental but pretty deluxe...managed to fill up before heading out for the day. My only complaint would be the noise level in the pool area....kids having lots of fun! More affordable than Banff area, too!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
6.0 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.9 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing