We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, 15 min from Banff, good hotel, terrible internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Because of previous tripadvisor reviews, we stayed at BW Pocattera twice in July, to and from Kelowna, BC.
Rooms are good size,AC works well ( wall thermostat controlled, unusual perk for a BW Hotel) Trains do run by the south side of the property, so stay on the highway side (North side) if you are a light sleeper.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast passable. Warning - no decent restaurant nearby. The joint next door is barely digestable, and expensive to boot.
Only major issue -the internet. On both stays (10 days apart). the in-room internet not only waas VERRRRY slow, but locked up my computer. The second time, I had to get Dell to overnight a repair disc to me to get the computer back up. They have a lobby computer, but it is very slow also.
We would stay there again , but underbno circumstances would we use the in-room internet.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Pocaterra Inn is on the end of Canmore's main drag, closest to the Banff National Park entrance. The architecture has stone and log look that suits its mountain setting. The lobby, pool, breakfast area, and most importantly, the room was spacious, clean and inviting. This felt luxurious for a non-resort hotel. We felt impressed for the price we paid.

The following night we stayed at the Best Western in Banff, and were completely disappointed. I wished we would have driven the 20 or so miles back to Canmore to stay at the Pocaterra, and next time, we probably will.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bathtubjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Best Western Pocaterra Inn was a nice surprise for us. My wife, my two year old and myself spent a night there on the last weekend.
Front desk staff (we were helped by John) were friendly and professional, the room spotless and spacious with very comfortable beds, and the view was fantastic.
I booked a room at the front part of the hotel since I had read a couple of reviews about the back part being a bit noisy, but the whole establishment felt really quiet.
There's a well equipped gym and an entertainment room in the lower level, and also a really nice pool with a big slide.
The only thing that could be improved (and this is a very personal opinion) is the continental breakfast. It wasn't bad, but it lacked some freshness (the fruit was canned instead of fresh, for example).
But overall, a great experience. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife, 18 month daughter and I went from Calgary to Canmore for an overnight getaway from the city, and were delighted with the Pocaterra.

The staff was friendly, rooms clean and new, and the free breakfast was everything we needed. The cherry on the cake was the pool with waterslide. The slide was too fast for our little girl, but the other kids around 10-12 year olds looked like they were having fun. As an added and unexpected bonus, there were several sizes of small lifejackets for small kids.

A tip - make sure that if you are considering other hotels along Highway 1A, that you are not on the railroad side. The Pocaterra was very quiet, but some others on that strip may be disturbed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corbin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

On a recent trip to Canada we spent two nights at the Best Western in Canmore and the hotel is a good nice hotel. Very Clean and large rooms with lovely staff. Breakfast was nice and filling. In a good location for traveling the area. Very impressed and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Excellent hotel with great staff and views to boot. We stayed there on our journey from Saskatchewan to Vancouver and liked it so much we took a detour from Portland in Oregon on our way back to stay there again.
Clean and spacious and within an easy walk to the shops and restaurants of Canmore. I would recommend that you book a room at the front of the hotel if you're a light sleeper as the service road can be a very slight pain at times at the rear. It's not the end of the world if you are at the back but something to bear in mind.
Very good standard of continental breakfast. A nice pool and hot tub with a gym, sauna and steam room as well.
We will definitley stay again and would recommend anybody to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReginaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Just got back from a golf week-end in Canmore. We stayed two nights at this hotel. Upon check in, we were offered freshly baked cookies and iced tea. Staff was very nice and helpful and the hotel was very clean. Nice indoor pool and hot tub! Would definately stay here again. Beautiful view of the mountains - especially the Three Sisters mountain range.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfergirl917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,001 reviews
6.0 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $91 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western
Best Western Pocaterra Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing