We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not Fogo, but it's pretty darn good!”

Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Feel transported as ancient Brazilian traditions come alive in our churrascaria - our house of barbecue - and special place that bursts with authentic South American atmosphere. Enjoy the rich sights and sounds that echo our unique history and dedication to superior taste, while traditionally dressed servers offer an incredible selection of perfectly roasted meats to choose from. Celebrate any occasion in these perfect settings, located in Calgary and Canmore, AB.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It's not Fogo, but it's pretty darn good!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The salad bar is almost non-existent, but the meats were excellent and plentiful. A little spendy, but less than than Brazilian style restaurants here in the states...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigTimTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    116
    32
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian around”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We couldn't have had a better experience here. Came after skiing and were given amazing service by everyone we encountered, friendly and relaxed (so different from the rodizio place in our own city.) We had well-made caipirnhas and the house wine and were very happy with both.

It's a nice-looking restaurant, too, with a little sunroom-type space with mountain views at the front. Decor is very contemporary and the place is bright and open. Not a place for a quiet, romantic ambiance but with the constant parade of meat past your table, I don't think the experience would be conducive to that kind of thing anyway.

The salad bar is varied and very fresh, and refilled constantly. The meat, more importantly, was outstanding. Everything was served hot and immediately from the grill, with great seasoning and plenty of choice. Everyone carving the meat was super friendly, accommodating, and charming, and I felt really comfortable and welcome even in my thermals and toque.

It was my boyfriend's birthday and he was delighted with the whole night. We've been to rodizio restaurants before and this one is top-notch (especially after working up an appetite skiing!) Really could not recommend it more highly. $40pp is a completely reasonable price for endless food, especially when that food is miles above buffet standard. The rodizio place in our city is pricier and not nearly as good from a food or service perspective.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amelisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great barbecue meal, Rodizio-style!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our family of three thoroughly enjoyed our first Rodizio dinner ever! Here's how it works: For one all-you-can-eat price, you get a nice selection of mixed salads and sides, buffet-style, drinks extra. You also get a little cardboard cow cutout, green on one side, red on another. Turn it on the green side, and smiling servers start bring a never-ending procession of smoky, yummy, succulent meats to your table! They slice the meat right off the skewer onto your plate, and they do not stop until your cow turns red. The meat was fantastic - beef many different ways, sirloin, roast, super-tender ribs, chicken wings and hearts, pork sausages, lamb, and you really cannot tell what comes next, but it's all delicious! Tasty drinks too - we had caipirinhas, ask for half the sugar if you don't like them sweet. Great service and ambience, well worth the price!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandomSkierDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was good - customer care left something be be desired”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The food was good, however the customer care left something to be desired. Before we arrived at the restaurant we knew our 9 year old daughter didn't feel 100%, however we were celebrating a special event as well as on a holiday so we went anyway as she assured us that she was fine. As it turned out our daughter began to feel worse and was unable to eat. This was clear to everyone who came to our table as she both had almost nothing on her plate and ended up almost laying down across my husband and myself.

We declined the ice cream that came with her meal, and when both the server (and who I believe to be) the manager were clearing the table we indicated that our daughter hadn't participated in the meal. Our bill came as though our daughter had ate her fill. I understand that it is in the restaurant's rights to charge us the full amount, but it left us feeling disappointed at the apparent lack of customer care/satisfaction. As we love Canmore and visit a couple of times a year, Gaucho's would have gained happy first time customers who would have told all our friends and come again if they had just stepped it up a little.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gastromy”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Great variety, nice way to get to taste several different foods. One needs to remember to slow down on gobbling the food down. Great for teenage kids with huge appetites.

Helpful?
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing