We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. There is only front desk service during the day and no amenities such as pool or restaurant. But the room was clean, the beds were fine and the location was good. If you're just going to be sleeping here, it's a very budget friendly choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockiesLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    45
    19
    32
See reviews for
50
53
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ended up here through a GroupOn this weekend. After reading the reviews we approached the deal with some trepidation.

First off you have to keep things in perspective. You are paying $65 for a hotel room in Canmore. Not $200. If you need a chocolate on your pillow every night and your bed made, this is not the place for you.

Contrary to the many negative reviews here, we found our room to be relatively clean, the beds were ok, but certainly not top grade. The pillows need to go. The bathroom was clean & the water hot.

The biggest problem with this place is ownership. Apparently it is still owned by East Indians, but is managed by a Canmore company on a lease basis. It's a strange business relationship where no incentive for improvement exists for either party.

When a hotelier can't provide one pen or one drinking glass, but feels the need to provide an iron and ironing board, ownership clearly doesn't understand the hotel business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank solodivecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Groupon brought us here. We were impressed with the view and the location to downtown, within walking distance. When we walked into the room it appeared clean, it was tidy. However, upon further inspection (over our time there) we spotted clipped nails on the carpet beside the bed along with other "stuff" that wasn't vacuumed up from previous guests. Stray dark hairs on the bathroom floor were probably brought in by our socks from the carpet in our room. The pillows were SO squished approx 1" high and probably as old as the hotel. Bring your own pillows if you stay here! The rooms need a GOOD vacuuming! Little things need to be fixed in the rooms like lamp shades that are melted and look very shabby. Rusty shower rod and door hinges could be changed out as well as face plates over light switches that are broken, dirty and or have paint on them. The common areas could use a good vacuuming as well on a regular basis. You can tell dirt has been left to accumulate. It was OK for the price but bring slippers and your own 2 ply toilet paper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I bought a Groupon getaway for Mountain View Inn in Canmore. We thought it was a good deal at the time that we bought the coupon as we love to go to Canmore and Banff from time to time. There was an extra charge for a premier king suite which only provided a very hard older king bed (not a pillow-top), a bar fridge, microwave and coffee maker but no cups or glasses. There were no pictures on the wall and the furniture was very plain. Too us this should have been a standard room without an extra charge for a king suite. When we got there the desk took our credit card and made us sign for lost keys, damage deposit, etc. The key was on a small plastic tag which could be easily lost by falling out of your pocket. BEWARE you will be charged the full $100 if you do lose the key! They do not have an electronic card key system in place. When we got to the room we noticed that the vacuuming was done in the middle of the floor but not at the edge of the bed. We found Christmas ribbon (Mid-January) and crumbs there and under the table too. The bathroom was not well cleaned to the extent that we did not want to use the tub with the stains and dirty shower curtain. The front desk staff did their best to be helpful but were in an impossible situation with the management policies that they were expected to follow.This place is a dump and does not measure up to many places we have stayed at for less money. It really needs upgrading. We will not recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely not be back!!

Room Tip: If you want a good room find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilangel_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Super cheap place to stay! We were here over New Years.

The staff is super friendly and were very helpful!

The rooms were not as bad as the people before me said. I've stayed in much worse places for far more money!

There are no housekeepers, but we were told that when we checked in. People really need to pay attention and stop whining. They have a vaccuum and other cleaning supplies available if needed.

If you want all the in room comforts like a coffee maker and fridge. Or if you are looking for somebody to replace your towels and bed sheets every morning then pay more money and stay somewhere else.

This is now my go to place when coming to the mountains. It is soooo cheap!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneNotMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a dump! Very ran down the whole place was burned with cigarets burns everywhere. I never seen housekeeping once and they never cleaned our room, had to ask for a garbage bag and the garbage can looked like it had not been cleaned since 1999. The toilet and bathroom smelled of urine, shower was so terrible had to take a bath. No fridge or coffee maker in room, beds as hard as Rock. They charged u 100 dollars per key :/ Cheap prices so I guess u get what u paid for best thing about this hotel is location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara6065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Ab, Playa del Carmen MX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the WORST groupon experience I have every had, such a disappointment! The Hotel was TERRIBLE,

1.When I first called to book they told me I had to book by Dec first which was not listed anywhere on my groupon

2. When we arrived we had to pay 100.00 deposit for a key per room ( I now have a 200.00 hold on my card for 3 days)

3. The bathrooms were dirty!

4. No one came to clean or do anything in our room there were additional charges for cleaning making beds, vacuuming even taking out the garbage.When I asked about it apparently the lady who checked us in was suppose to have told us this. How about they tell you this BEFORE you book!

5.We couldn't get fresh towels unless we took our soiled towels to the front desk to exchange them
6. No coffee machines in room Lobby coffee machine was always empty and we were told they only make coffee at 7 am.

7. They state you get free wifi but if your lucky it only worked lobby area sometimes

8. Beds are hard as a rock!

I am sorry but this has made me very nervous of buying another groupon

This is what I also wrote to the groupon company today we just checked out this morning what a disapointment

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalies23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#14 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.2 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Canmore
Mountain View Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing