We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a DUMP!”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a dump! Very ran down the whole place was burned with cigarets burns everywhere. I never seen housekeeping once and they never cleaned our room, had to ask for a garbage bag and the garbage can looked like it had not been cleaned since 1999. The toilet and bathroom smelled of urine, shower was so terrible had to take a bath. No fridge or coffee maker in room, beds as hard as Rock. They charged u 100 dollars per key :/ Cheap prices so I guess u get what u paid for best thing about this hotel is location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara6065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 184 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the WORST groupon experience I have every had, such a disappointment! The Hotel was TERRIBLE,

1.When I first called to book they told me I had to book by Dec first which was not listed anywhere on my groupon

2. When we arrived we had to pay 100.00 deposit for a key per room ( I now have a 200.00 hold on my card for 3 days)

3. The bathrooms were dirty!

4. No one came to clean or do anything in our room there were additional charges for cleaning making beds, vacuuming even taking out the garbage.When I asked about it apparently the lady who checked us in was suppose to have told us this. How about they tell you this BEFORE you book!

5.We couldn't get fresh towels unless we took our soiled towels to the front desk to exchange them
6. No coffee machines in room Lobby coffee machine was always empty and we were told they only make coffee at 7 am.

7. They state you get free wifi but if your lucky it only worked lobby area sometimes

8. Beds are hard as a rock!

I am sorry but this has made me very nervous of buying another groupon

This is what I also wrote to the groupon company today we just checked out this morning what a disapointment

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalies23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Well where to begin..A Total Disappointment. I just stayed their with my child this past Sat/Sun night on a Groupon Deal and we almost left after first night. We arrive to be told it's a $100 deposit per room key, overall hotel is in very poor condition. Room had no pictures on walls (maybe afraid someone would steal them? lol) stains on wall, chairs, carpet. Beds were hard as rock. If you wanted a fridge it was an extra $15 per night. No Coffee or anything in room that every other hotel I have stayed at had complimentary (low budget or highend). Lobby coffee machine was always empty and we were told they only make coffee at 7 am. Wifi if your lucky is only in lobby area. TV is a 20 inch 90's big boxstyle. No restaurant, gym, no amenities etc...
The Sat night other guests across hall were yelling slamming doors most of night, onsite security in building did nothing. Another guest had to ask them to be quiet finally.
If this wasn't a prepaid Groupon Voucher I would of left after first night. With the $21.60 in tax due upon arrival and the voucher cost it wasn't a deal at all for the accommodations you got.
I suggest anyone with a Groupon deal here that has used it and feels the same disgust I do, Call Groupon and complain. They will help and did redeem my confidence in using them again to purchase travel deals. Report this hotel so they do not keep offering this deal online to buy. This hotel needs to be shut down for complete renovations and needs new management to really put the guests needs first. This is my first Poor hotel experience finding deals online.
I have read many other complaints now for this hotel on here and wish I saw them before my trip!
Hope my review saves someone else this awful experience or buying this "not a deal" online!
Cheers

Room Tip: I was actually "upgraded" to the mountainview side when I booked the reservation. I laugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lola2012Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Mountain View Inn is a very simple place to stay, and I mean that literally. Looks to me like it was built in the 1980s or so and the building is still of that era. Very little modernization or updating to be seen. Things have a tired and somewhat worn look but that said, the place is clean. Don't expect many amenities. WiFi? Wired internet? Certainly not in your room. There is free wifi in the lobby but even this basic modern travel convenience is not available to from the comfort of your room. Rooms also were old looking, with bulky fuzzy CRT television (no flat screens here). No breakfast, no making up of your room every day. But a clean with a reasonably comfortable bed. If that's what you want, then this place is for you. There are far better accommodations available around there area so I'll not be back.

Room Tip: If you want a really good room stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was passing through Canmore again and looking for a good deal - the Mtn View Inn was pretty hard to pass up with rates so much lower than the others in town. I was a little wary even though I'd been here before but everything was fine. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the people at reception were helpful, the TV was new, and the wifi worked just fine in my room. In general, it was a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breal604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had to cancel just hours past the "deadline" due to legitimate bereavement issues. They were cold, unsympathetic and just to add insult to or suffering dinged us $63.00 to NOT stay at their dump in the mountains!!!!! If they are like this for the big issues how good will they be if you have a small complaint about towels or noise or room cleanliness?

Profoundly disappointed,
Bruce Mohacsy

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rates are good, beats paying Banff hotel prices, but: Don't stay here if it's hot out! The A/C does not work. Fan clatters and there is no way to shut it off. It's an older hotel. Because i heard another room air conditioner sounding crazy like ours. We managed ok, but if it would have been any hotter, it would have been a lousy, sweaty stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travel3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Canmore
Days Inn Canmore
#10 of 28 in Canmore
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#22 of 28 in Canmore
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range: $56 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Canmore
Mountain View Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing