We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windtower Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Always stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. It's close to the centre of town, new, and includes breakfast! A hot breakfast! Some of the rooms are small, but the stay is always fantastic. We never spend much time in the hotel, we are always out hiking or skiing, or in the hot tub! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_kat1554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    183
    119
    72
    51
See reviews for
91
277
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed the weekend of the cold spell where even the gondola in Banff was closed due to the weather. We wanted to go to snowboarding but weren't brave enough to face the -40 temperatures. So we went around and saw a bit of canmore and then spent the afternoon in the room. It was great we had the curtains open and if we wanted to get some fresh air the balcony was right there. The hotel was clean and friendly and I would recommend it families or couples. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We bought a groupon for this stay. definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with an exceptional service experience. We appreciate you allowing us to serve you. Should your travels plans include Canmore, we'd love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great Value from this hotel. It's newer, features underground parking and free hot breakfast which was actually very good. Some of the servers were a little young and they ask you questions during breakfast like they are serving you which is weird. The fitness center is nothing to write home about. It's just a small room, no changerooms or anything.The room we had was tiny but had a king bed (not much else fits) a nicer wall mounted LCD with basic HD channels. This is a great spot to explore the mountains from. Who needs a room when you should be outside!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rickenbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! It's excellent to know that you experience great service throughout your stay. I apologize that you found the room uncomfortably warm. We do have a limited number of portable air conditioners that maintenance can bring to our guests rooms and install if required. We hope you choose the Windtower Lodge & Suites for further accommodation in Canmore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights in a king bedroom suite. Overall it is a great hotel with some minor setbacks. We loved our room and of course the views from the room are amazing. Front desk staff was amazing and very helpful when we asked about things to do in Canmore. The only things I can criticize are the food and dining staff. The food was overpriced for what you get in my opinion and the one night we decided to eat dinner there we were waited on by someone who was more interested to hang out with her friends than serve us. There are plenty of options for eating in Canmore and I suggest you venture out instead of eating at the hotel even with the free breakfast. With that being said I would love to visit Canmore again and I would definitely stay at the Windtower again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heihn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Although I was disappointed with your experience at The Wandering Elk, I'm grateful that you chose to share it with me. I speak for the entire team when I say that your service experience is the most important thing to us. I have passed along your feedback to the Manager of the restaurant; I'm sure he would invite an opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience. Please feel free to contact him directly at sam.monette@windtower.ca at your convenience.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The one bedroom suite was spacious and nice to have a stocked kitchen to have glasses and plates etc. for the wine and snacks that we brought, Coffee and tea was supplied. We eat in the restaurant and the food was good but a bit pricey, there was a free breakfast that was not too bad for a help yourself. The check in/out staff was great and friendly. A bit out of the way from shopping and other restaurants but a short drive. There was free internet and a hot tub. The underground parking stalls were small and I found my card did not work all that great for getting in as I had to insert it a lot of times before it finally worked. Overall I would go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of your experience. We're glad to know that your accommodations met your expectations for our hotel. I would like to let you know that we will be changing out the VING key card system for our parkade door this summer. We will be using a pin pad which will eliminate the issue of the key cards!
We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked 3 nights here. Originally booked a smaller suite but the staff quickly booked us in for a suite when we asked with no problems. Our suite is beautiful, romantic, and comfortable. We've had a splendid stay, the staff is friendly and efficient. It's cold but we expected that. Breakfast is fairly good for a free hot breakfast. I think the eggs could be prepared differently but that's just a personal thing but all in all we've had a fantastic time. I've already emailed my entire family and friends with photos and that I want to come here for my 30th birthday and book several suites. Very very happy. Thank you windtower. (Although we haven't paid our bill yet haha)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fauxangst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Traveller, We're happy to hear that you were please with your experience. I hope that we did enough to encourage you to make a second trip! We'd gladly welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I bought a Groupon and stayed for a weekend. The rooms, cleanliness, location and food were good but nothing stood out as great. The food (free breakfast) was ok (again) but there was no fresh fruit or vegetables. Service was below my expectations as well... not that it was bad but for example, when the underground heated parking was full the front desk said "sorry park outside" even tho there were lots of "reserved" spots open. I guess those were from condo owners who weren't there that night. The main reason I thought they could make an effort to help with parking (aside from being a paid extra feature) was that it was going to be -35 overnight. And the front desk even referenced my using a Groupon as the reason I was out of luck as far as a parking spot was concerned. Overall it was ok (good value and clean) but the poor service definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeanB-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I have shared your comments with our leadership so we can continue to improve our service! Please allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality, for which the Windtower Lodge & Suites is known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.3 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
1.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.3 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Property: Windtower Lodge & Suites
Address: Wind Tower 100-160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada's mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce The Wandering Elk, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Wandering Elk is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a "Pets Can Stay Certified" accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore
Windtower Lodge & Suites Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing