We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value especially if you get one of the cleaner units!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadian Rockies Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canadian Rockies Chalets
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value especially if you get one of the cleaner units!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have stayed at the CRC 3 or 4 times now.... It's a hit or a miss whether you get a clean or 'not-so-clean' unit! We have stayed in a bears den unit- sub basement, 2 bedrms, no real views - we had to request that the cleaning staff come and clean the dried up vomit of the walls (left by the previous occupant) in the bathroom. - no real apologies but the receptionist came quickly and cleaned it up!
The next time we stayed was in a mountain retreat (yes, we did stay here again) 3 bedrooms- views were great, didn't mind the train passing through (got used to it very quickly and the kids loved seeing them -1yr old and 3yr old). Unit was bit ragged and not very well cleaned again - we have stayed in 'newer' self-catering condos in Canmore, they may be cleaner but they are smaller, more expensive and not walking distance to the grocery stores!
Our last trip was in a Cougar chalet - these are more expensive because they have an extra bathroom and seem in better condition than the other units we have stayed in... The trade-off was that the balcony was facing on to the road so we chose to sit inside and enjoy our glass of wine!

Overall, these units are reasonably priced, BUT because they are all owned individually then it seems that there is differences in the quality and upkeep of each unit- I think the housekeeping standards are pretty low, but the bedding seems clean and I don't mind wiping down surfaces when I get there. The location is great because you can walk to the supermarket or into town and I LOVE the French bakery across the road for fresh baguettes, pastries and coffee... There is also a spa and an English pub within a couple of minutes walk;)

Room Tip: I prefer railway retreats because of the views BUT they are on the rail track side so light sleepers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillnScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    66
    45
    24
    14
See reviews for
91
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel because there was a room rate sale on. The place is obviously older but seemed fairly well maintained. We had a lower suite which felt a bit dark to me as the entrance was below ground level. On entering the suite there was an overall cozy feeling though there were a few things such as cracks in the kitchen counter and yellowing in the bathroom tub that detracted from it. There were also numerous stains on the living room carpet. The kind of place you would keep your shoes on. The deal breaker for us was the bed. It was so hard and lumpy that both my husband and I woke up with stiff backs the next morning. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turfdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in the cougar chalet for one night and we loved the location and that we were all able to stay together (we were two families in there). What we didn't lik was that when we went to check-in at 4pm our room was not ready and the girl at the desk made no effort to empathize. When we did finally get our room, we were disappointed with the cleanliness. We understand that you get what you pay for so we were not expecting luxury however there was a lot of smudged walls, paint peeling, and the floor of the ensuite had hairs still on it. At least the bed sheets were fresh. The views are amazing and location is great. It's great place if you don't plan on spending too much time in your room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvadesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in Canmore at the Hotel/Condo as we needed a three bedroom property for a week.
The front desk staff were very helpful. The rooms themselves were very poorly maintained and very dirty and the room blinds were broken. The rooms were of decent size and the beds were comfortable.I had to wash the floors upon arrival and clean the bathtub. Trains came buy all the time but did not bother us too much ( room was about 60 feet from the tracks.)
The view from the rooms was nice ( unless you get a two bedroom where there is no View)
They had a good games rooms with a good quality pool table and an outside Hot Tub which was nice.
If you need a two bedroom I would stay at Banff Boundry lodge just outside of Canmore but much cleaner.

Room Tip: Three bedroom units have better view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prariedave327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Being the organizer of ladies weekend getaways, it is a top priority to ensure good accommodations for our group. The Canadian Rockies Chalets did exactly that!

Overall Room Description:
We stayed in the Cougar Chalet which contained a fully contained kitchenette complete with oven, fridge and microwave. There was a small dining area adjacent to it and also boasted a large walk in pantry. Upstairs there were 3 bedrooms. One had a king size bed (which I noticed looked rather new and extremely comfortable) along with a ensuite that had a full bathtub & shower. The other 2 rooms had double beds. There were two balconies, one at the entrance to the room and another by the living room. Yes, sure enough there were a few little things we noticed through out the room that could use a little TLC, but the overall experience was so nice that it truly doesn't matter. After all, it didn't hinder our stay and everything worked just fine. No complaints!

Location:
Across from the Canmore hospital, it was easy to find. There wasn't an abundance of traffic as you would normally think and the train tracks behind the chalets did not prove to be much of an issue. MIND YOU we were on the other side.

Bedrooms:
The beds were very comfortable, sheets were clean and looked to be in good shape. The pillows were nice and fluffy. Our king size bed seemed to be newer and was a joy to sleep on. However one girl in our group mentioned that something on her double bed rubbed against her ankle and caused it to swell. We still don't know what exactly happened, but it didn't hamper her spirits and she seemed fine. Bathrooms appeared to be clean and were stocked with fresh (small, not like towel sheets) towels.

Kitchen & living space:
Excellent size and very comfortable. Kitchen was fully stocked. Nice large walk in pantry and even a little dining area as well! The living room had a covered balcony which was nice. It even had chairs outside! Furnishings were not "high end", however were very comfortable and made the stay relaxing.

Hot Tub area:
We went to the hot tub that is located upstairs from the office. The entertainment area inside was nicely outfitted with seating and games. Outside the hot tub is on a covered balcony and was for sure an asset to our stay. The entire area was clean and well kept.

Staff / Reservations / Check in/out:
We originally made our reservation at the Banff Boundary Lodge but somehow I forgot to confirm and ended up losing our spot. The wonderful staff recommended that I try their "sister" location, being the Canadian Rockies Chalets. Being a loyal customer to the Banff Boundary, I took their recommendation. The staff was wonderful and were able to process my reservation for our group promptly. We had a slight number of attendee's change about a week prior to our arrival and therefore I had to cancel one out of 2 rooms. They corresponded through email and made the change with no issues (IF you must make changes to your reservation, you must do so as soon as possible to avoid being charged before 72 hours of arriving. We canceled our other room a week prior). We arrived the evening of March 9th and had a easy quick check in. Please note that you will be charged a deposit pre-authorized to a major credit card at check in but it get's refunded upon checkout providing the keys are returned and there are no damages etc. just like any other place. Our room was ready for us and there was no issues in having to wait for anything. The staff were knowledgeable and professional. Check out was also no issue. One of the ladies left a shirt behind and they emailed me that day to let me know that they found it and even offered to ship it back to her!!! Of course she has to pay the shipping fee's. I have stayed in numerous places before but have never had such wonderful customer service! I feel that the staff at the Canadian Rockies Chalet's have done an outstanding job beyond check out!

Kudos!!!

Room Tip: Cougar Chalet's are large, boast 2 1/2 bathrooms and are away from the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icannotthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was the second & last time that we will be staying at this hotel. We arrived at the hotel for check-in to find that our room was not yet read-deja vu- this happened last year when we stayed at this hotel. We came back 2 hours later, luckily we were able to check-in this time but what we found was absolutely disgusting. My husband actually thought that the cleaners forgot to clean; there was hair all over the bathroom and kitchen floors, the bathtub, the sinks, the beds and the sheets. The bathtub was black with flith and there were piles of dirt along the bathtub seal. Our friends opened up the sheets to their bed to find stains, hair and globs of detergent. We called the front desk and asked for cleaning supplies which they were unable to deliver. They also tried to get the cleaning staff to come and re-clean the room, however they never came. Finally we were moved to another room which was equally as disgusting. Piles of dirt & hair on the floors etc,etc. After we finally settled in we were ready to go to the hot tub which was conveniently out of service for maintenance. This hotel lacks in every way. If you are looking for an affordable pig-sty this is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dKricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We also stayed in the Bear Den for only $65/night. Well worth it!

Good:
- room was quite spacious with lots of light in the back bedrooms. One bedroom had a King size bed and the other had a queen or double. The bed was good (I was worried as some have commented the beds were awful). The bear dens are on the ground floor beneath the larger chalets.
- it was clean
- there were plenty of notices and information regarding the second level chalets to lift chairs, be quiet, etc. We had zero problems with noise from other guests which did include them coming back at 2am (we were still up). I was more concerned with morning noise and we did not hear a peep from anyone.
- view from our bear den of the mountains was great
- so close to downtown. Loved that we could walk to our fav pubs and not have to find a cab
- staff were nice. Not overly friendly, but polite and answered any questions we had.

Not so great:
- wished the hot tub was open later than 9:30pm. We never had a chance to enjoy it.
- very few parking spots, but nothing to be extremely concerned about.
- oh that train! We were mere steps from the train and to be honest, I thought it would have been WAY worse, but it was ok. I would happily stay here again. We did request a room on the road, but since the hotel was totally full and we were pretty much the last to check-in, the request could not be met (which we also knew going in).

Other:
- we did have to pre-authorize $100 damage deposit for the chalet on my credit card. Not a huge surprise since we pre-paid the entire cost of the room up front and I saw this on another trip advisor review.

Overall I would totally stay here again for $65/night. Next time we plan to bring some friends though since the chalets are so spacious!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road are the furthest from the Train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcitedforCuba789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.8 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Rockies Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Rockies Chalets

Property: Canadian Rockies Chalets
Address: 1206 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadian Rockies Chalets 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Canadian Rockies Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Rockies Chalets Canmore, Alberta
Canadian Rockies Chalets Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing