We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't take your kids!!! Totally rude women working there!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ammonite Factory - MOVED

Ammonite Factory
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Showroom/retail store/museum/factory. We offer interpretive tours of our factory and we also offer a wide variety of ammolite jewelry and gem grade ammonite fossils or fossil pieces for sale.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't take your kids!!! Totally rude women working there!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

First thing we walked in no one greeted us just yelled out and said All CHILDREN MUST BE supervised!!! We left. Do not reccomend

Helpful?
4 Thank Rhodale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    9
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful jewelry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice staff and beautiful pieces of ammonite to choose from. Good price ranges also.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank cardscharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ammonites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

They have lots of ammonites both for sale and for viewing. The tour that they offer does cost money and we did not take the tour. We saw ammonites in many stores throughout the rockies, but these were the prettiest and best selection. Prices were all about the same.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grammy&grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge waste of money and time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We thought that this would be a real factory tour. In reality, you pay 5 dollars a person to listen to them give you a sad tour of the very small store/salesroom/factory. A decent salesperson would have been happy to explain the process for free. Everyone on our tour looked at each other like we were embarrassed to be caught by such a ripoff. A video ran on an old 20" TV stuck on a bookshelf in an alcove behind the counter- could barely see it. Prices were very high, I travel and tour a great deal, and I was furious with this experience. The only bad spot in a great trip to Canmore.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank wldwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Loved to see all the beautiful items on sale and got to hear a lot of the background of the ammonite factory, I was even lucky enough to meet the owner when I went to collect my Ammolite the following day. Worth visiting !!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mushroom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ammonite Factory also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing