We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, great service!”
Review of The Georgetown Pub

The Georgetown Pub
Ranked #23 of 127 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Georgetown Inn Pub is by far one of the best pubs in Canmore for comfort, service and food. The pub itself holds a very comfortable atmosphere, with a wood fireplace, local photo's, and just an all-round cozy feel. The pub itself is housed in a Victorian style Inn, which adds to the comfort and uniqueness of the experience. The staff are always friendly, always accommodating, and always make me feel welcome and taken care of. The food is fantastic! Whenever my family comes to town,they always stay at the Inn, they always want a meal at the Georgetown Pub, and they have never been disappointed. The fish and chips is a huge portion (I can never finish it!), the salads are by far the best in town (they will always accommodate a substitute item), the roast beef and Yorkshire pudding meal....amazing, and if you want an English style breakfast this is the place to eat! If you're looking for a cozy pub atmosphere, great food, warm fireplace to warm up after a day out in the mountains, or just a cold pint or a glass of wine after a long day, without the hustle and bustle of downtown bar, I highly recommend you give the Georgetown Inn Pub a try! You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 334 of 449 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Return visit for 2 people in our 3 generation group. I had the halibut--excellent, as were the English chips. Batter wasn't lumpy or too thick, just a nice flavourful crust. Not a lot of coleslaw was a disappointment. Two of our group had the stuffed Yorkshire pudding and couldn't get around it all. The youngest of us chowed down on the shepherd's pie. Not a lot of elbow room, but the fireplace was cozy. The walls and ceilings were full of great antiques and could keep you discovering gems for several return trips. Would return to try the stuffed Yorkshire pudding for myself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katydidit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you Katydidit13 for bringing yourself and extended family (3 generations...awesome) in to our pub. We are greatful to hear your comments and hope you do come back soon to try our Stuffed Yorkshires!!! Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Apparently the Georgetown Inn has won the "Best Fish & Chips" award for Canmore for several years. While it may well be true that they are better than all other restaurants in the area, they are not very good, and their #1 spot could easily be taken by some other diner that cared about the details. The halibut was good - fresh, meaty, and well cooked. The rest of the meal was very average / below average. The fish, itself, is the most important part of the meal, but second to that is the batter, and while the flavour was OK, it was soft and rubbery. How can fried batter be rubbery unless the fish was cooked quite a bit earlier and left under a heat lamp or similar?

The fries were just fries, no particular effort. The coleslaw looked brown and limp, not bright and crunchy as it should be.

The table and chairs were dirty and sticky, and the credit card machine wouldn't work. The total for Fish & Chips, a glass of draught beer, taxes and tip = $37.80! Almost $40 for a lunch of soggy batter...I feel robbed.

If you're in the Bow Valley and searching for Fish & Chips, head to Schooner's in Cochrane.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GrittyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you GrittyMan for your thoughts...we appreciate all of our patrons comments and look to improve anywhere we can. We prepare our fish and chips as they are ordered by our guests so the meal is fresh for our customers. We also make our fries by hand and from scratch so they are fresh as well, not already pre-made from frozen. I just wanted to share with you how we create our fish and chips. I will go over your thoughts with our kitchen so that they are aware. Sorry to hear that you did not say something to your server as we would have helped in some way with your billing. We cannot help with any issues if we are not informed at the time our guests are in our pub because we are more than happy to listen and solve any problems. The credit card machines sometimes do go down so we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. I see you are from Cochrane but if you do come out to Canmore again please let me know ahead of time so we can make things better for your dining pleasure. judy@waymarker.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Food is very good! Staff are friendly and usually attentive. Unfortunately they are only open if they are busy. Don't count on them being open until 10pm as posted! showed up at 8:45 and the doors are locked. It's a quiet time in Canmore and Banff, however it will only get quieter if you cannot count on businesses being open as posted. This isn't the only business closing early or not open at all on some days.Too bad!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kevin1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you Kevin W for liking our food and staff....we are however concerned about your comments that we closed early....I would like to discuss this further with you at your convenience! Please contact me at judy@waymarker.ca We do hope that you come back again!! Our hours of operation are the following:
Sunday through Thursday 8AM until 9PM ( when the kitchen closes)
Friday and Saturdays 8AM until 10PM ( when the kitchen closes)
But we do stay open later for beverages.....thank you again for your comments and we will definitely look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent 4 days in Canmore, eating everywhere, and recognized the service at the Georgetown Inn Pub to be some of the greatest we received. Our server was Fiona, and she was a pure delight. Friendly, attentive, and a great server. 10 all the way across.

We came in for the fish and chips and a pint and it was fabulous. A quaint and authentically English Pub hotel bar (perhaps without the old fashioned skis on the ceiling, lol). The wood burning fire adds a cozy element. Great little find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FlightsnFlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you FlightsnFlights for saying such wonderful things about us and I will be sure to let Fiona know that you thought her service was amazing!! Thank you for finding us and I hope that you come again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Georgetown Pub also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Georgetown Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing