We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting.”
Review of Mountain Mercato

Mountain Mercato
Ranked #23 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe/Coffee/specialty groceries/ wine/beer/bubbles/antipasto/deli/bakery/organic produce/local farmers/imported goods
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had lunch while we enjoyed the street traffic passing by.
Soup and salad!!
Excellent quinoa salad!
I truly regret that we didn't have coffee.....can't remember why not.
Staff was perfect. Certainly not unfriendly.

Helpful?
Thank Mary Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    48
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
quebec
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food quick lunch very good specialty food market”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ate lunch at this local restaurant all of which was excellent even the glass of wine
Great selection of wraps,paninis,and their soup is very much worth trying with a daily choice.
Their food market has a very varied choice of specialty food .
Well worth the visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcelfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delicious Greek Salad”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I ate here quite a few times while visiting Canmore. The Greek salad was delicious and everything in it was organic. How wonderful to find some organic food on our travels. We would definitely eat here again if our travels ever bring us back to beautiful Canmore, Alberta. The gals who waited on us could have been a little more friendly but that would not keep us from coming back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyofthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coffee, lunch or tapas with friends. A good place for a visit.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Most weekends I will end up sipping coffee at the Mercato at some point and probably munching a rich panini with a book or a slice of the Globe and Mail in hand. Not a great place if you want to have a proper meal, but the absolute best place in town to take a magazine and a friend and have a good catch-up over gourmet coffee and exquisite tapas.

The Mercato is pricey, yes, but you get what you pay for. The service isn't warm and fuzzy but is professional, the water is free and has lime slices in it, the coffee is good (Phil and Sebastian), the food is delicious, and the shop is full of food art. (Think French lavender, fig and port preserves, Italian lady fingers - that kind of thing). My only wish is that they would: 1) bring back the heavy cups that kept the coffee so nice and hot, and; 2) serve the wine in wine glasses rather than Italian-style in a tumbler. Otherwise, a character location in a character town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“Getting what you pay for, not always a bad thing!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The price of the coffee is slightly more than the other places on the main street, however you get what you pay for. This is the best coffee, by far. The dulce latte is recommended as I've not had anything like it before.

As for the food, they obviously have someone who knows how to cook, prepare and present. When they do the half price platters on Thursday/Friday/Saturday you can't get that kind of food from anywhere else in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mik3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Mercato also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Mountain Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing