We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Coffee, Good Service, Cosy Atmosphere”
Review of Mountain Mercato

Mountain Mercato
Ranked #25 of 124 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe/Coffee/specialty groceries/ wine/beer/bubbles/antipasto/deli/bakery/organic produce/local farmers/imported goods
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Coffee, Good Service, Cosy Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The locals know where to get the best coffee , service and food. Early in the morning they are one of the few places that are open for good, Italian style coffee - love it! Light meals.... Elderflower water is our favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    49
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“It really is the best coffee in town.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

When you make a statement like that, you need to back it up and Mountain Mercato does just that. We have eaten breakfast here a couple of times now and the coffee and food is always consistently great.

With its 9:00 AM opening time and import foods store attached, it is likely as close as you can get to Europe in this small mountain town.

The fresh made panini sandwiches are as tasty as the coffee. Interesting blends of meats, cheeses and veggies and great vegetarian options. Food is served hot and the lattes and Cappucinos are good to the last drop. Service is friendly and efficient and staff are always willing to explain the menu. On my latest trip, I was also pleased to see they now offer smaller bags of the coffee beans they use to make their beverages. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great for lunch1”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We dropped in for lunch during our day in Canmore, there is a pleasant pavement patio if the weather is good, or you can sit inside at one side of the store. We had the soup (amazing home made sweet pepper soup) and the bruschetta. We liked it here, it's slightly quirky in a good way, and the food products on offer in the deli are fresh and mainly local. Staff are very friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hillcrestroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DEVINE”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This cafe is amazing, I was there for a few days and got addicted to both their panini's and coffee. I never got around to trying the cakes but they looked like they would just melt in your mouth.
The staff were always friendly seeing as they always seemed to be humming with people the atmosphere is still relaxing and is nice to sit and watch people go by.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kendall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“great latte”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

a good place to sit and rest while wondering around Canmore. A nice little store selling interesting food items. We had great latte.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreckingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Mercato also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Mountain Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing