We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spectacular hike that is both easy and rewarding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grassi Lakes

Grassi Lakes
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
163 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Spectacular hike that is both easy and rewarding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently completed this hike as a group of 4 in April 2013 and had a wonderful time. The surroundings are gorgeous and there are a ton of great photo opportunities, especially when you reach the top of the trail. We saw no wildlife along the way, but still wouldn't hike here without bear spray. The trail does have some steep portions, and it was very iced-over when we visited which made these portions slippery and a little treacherous... but overall the hike was easy and can be managed by anyone in decent physical condition (especially during the summer months).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    231
    27
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must in Canmore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Easy walk, fantastic views, place with history and surely so meditative if you are lucky to have not too many people around!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nastyaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good reward for a short hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, 19 yo daughter and I took this hike before heading over to the Oh Canada! Eh? dinner show. It was the perfect way to spend a couple of hours. We even got to see a rock climbing club! This is a relatively easy walk that was enjoyed by people of all ages on the day that we went.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kmp1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great hike for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

There are two ways to access Grassi Lakes. One is a relatively easy walk up an old roadway access, the other a more strenuous hike through the woods and up rocky stairs to the lakes. The views are amazing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Local Hike to take your guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a wonderful hike that you can do 2ways. An easy route, wide path and gradual walk up, but no scenery. The other route can be a little more challenging, view of the Bow Valley is stunning, the steps can be challenging but a much better way to go to get to the top. A full,loop starting on the more difficult going up and taking the easy route down should take you 45/50 min.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SDHT9521JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grassi Lakes also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Grassi Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing