We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed September 14, 2005

The hotel was good for a short stay, room clean and functional, if a little dark and staff helpful. Try and ask for a room at the front of the hotel as the back rooms overlook the railway line. The hotel was a short walk to the main restaurants/bars in Canmore. Standard range of food on offer in the continental breakfast included in the hotel price. The hot tub was nice, but the pool a bit cold for my liking and the water-slide seemed to be switched off most of the time.

The prices in Canmore are much cheaper (hotels and restaurants) so I would recommend staying in this area as an alternative to Banff which is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2005

I chose Canmore Inn because of the low rates, the central location and because it was not a cookie cutter hotel chain.
I was surprised to find that it was actually a holiday inn express
that specializes in tourists groups arriving by bus.
Four to six buses arrived nightly creating a large amount of noise and confuison. It felt like a rowdy college dorm.
The staff worked hard but their main focus was to turn over the beds for the next busload. The sheets were never changed the 5 nights I was there and on one day they never ever came to empty the trash or provide clean towels, cups, toilet paper.
There were lines for everything.
If you want a drive through hotel this is it. If you want to feel like a guest look someplace else.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Edmonton, AB
13
Reviewed September 26, 2004

Whenever we are in the Canmore area, we make a point of staying at this hotel. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the service is excellent, and the last time we were there they gave us a discount for being a repeat customer.

The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. We are a family of four, and we found enough choice of restaurants around the hotel to satisfy everyone. If you are an overnight traveller on business, or a family on vacation, please consider staying here. You won't be disappointed.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
738
Reviewed August 16, 2004

First the good news: this hotel was very reasonable - we paid $80 a night US (about $55 Canadian), plus another $15 US a night for a cot. It was high season and that was a steal! You get a nice little continental breakfast as part of your stay, too. It has a terrific, 3-story water-slide which the kids LOVED and local calls were free - plus it's centrally located. The bad news- the room wasn't all that clean and it was tiny when we put the cot out. Plus, there are lots of tour buses coming and going and a train running behind the hotel all night. So - it was a mixed bag. If you're traveling on a budget, it's ideal though!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
1158
Reviewed August 5, 2004

Since my last stay in a Howard Johnson was in Hamilton about 7 years ago and it wasn't a pleasurable experience, I was a bit reluctant in booking another stay. But the 89$ rate was cheap and I decided to book it. What a beautiful HoJo! My economy room wasn't huge but still, it suited all my needs. The mattress was simply incredible. No need to go to a Westin to get a Heavenly bed. Free local and 1-800 calls, very practical to call for information on local attractions. Room was clean. The bathroom only had a step-in shower and I actually liked that better that a full bathroom because it gives you more room to move around and I never take baths in a hotel anyway. Continental breakfast was included and for a little 5$, you had a full buffet. It's centrally located in Canmore too, restaurant, banks and the main street are within walking distance. The kids I saw seemed to enjoy the 3-storey waterslide a lot. I'd say the hotel is perfect for about any kind of travellers, except the older crowd perhaps who might not like the fact that they are lots of kids in the hotel and also a load of tour buses.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2004

We stayed there in August 2003.

Ask for a top floor facing the front (back faces railways but there is hardly any trains and you can also see the mountains so it's ok to) Rooms are clean and average size. A little dark but ok.

The kids loved this hotel because of the indoor water slides ...they never wanted to leave the place!

Close to Banff it was an excellent base for visiting Banff for a fraction of the price. This hotel is worth 3 stars in my book.

4  Thank Mist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2003

Stayed there in August 2003 with 3 kids. Great location..15 minutes from Banff, reasonable price, kids loved the pool. Canmore is much less crowded than Banff and is just as beautiful. Would highly recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WestcoastMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.5 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.9 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing