We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rates, great breakfast”
Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Reasonable rates, great breakfast”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I participate in the Rocky Mountains Womens run every year in May. We always stay at this hotel. The rates are reasonable, they offer an AMA discount, the breakfast room has a beautiful view, and it is well located with lots of parking. Make sure you take a photo "poking the bear" out front. Rooms in the older section of the hotel do not have baths, and if you are a light sleeper, make sure you don't stay on the train track side of the hotel. Continental breakfast is excellent!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper make sure you don't stay on the train track side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glassgoddess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Also, thank you for your kind words about our hot continental breakfast.. At reservation time, we offer different room types to best suit each traveler’s needs and budget. We also offer both sides of the hotel.
We hope to see you in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    356
    231
    82
    46
See reviews for
404
272
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This past summer we stayed here for our wedding in Canmore. Most of the guest stayed here as well, and everyone thought the service provided at the hotel was excellent. They went out of their way to help with any issues we might have. Breakfast wasn't that great, but otherwise everything about this hotel really impressed me!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. As always customer service is our highest priority and we’re happy you found it to meet your expectations. Since your stay we have hired a new kitchen manager, we hope during your next day you will find breakfast to be more to your satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We hadn't read the reviews for this place, but luckily my husband was canny enough to pay an extra $10 for a room facing the road (away from the trains) and we weren't bothered by them. The room we had (394) was clean and comfortable, but a little small for our family (2 adults, 11 & 14 year old) especially when we'd squeezed a rollaway bed in. The beds were very comfortable and really our only complaint with the room was it was soooooo hot. Being that outside it was below 0, we appreciated a warm room, but even with the air-conditioning off we hardly slept as it was just so hot. We put the air-conditioner on for a while to cool the room down, but it was quite noisy and disruptive. Outside the room in the hallway there was also a massive heating unit going, so I don't know if that had anything to do with it. The swimming pool was small, but my kids loved the 3 story water-slide - only one complaint - no towels were left at the pool and when I asked at reception I was told someone would be down with some more for my family who were swimming, but this never happened. Overall, I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Follow everyone else's advice and get a room away from the back of the hotel - there is a gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace123NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Good day and warm regards. I would like to apologize for the lack of pool towels. We miscalculated our needs for the holiday season. We’re thrilled you found our beds to be very comfortable; we have replaced hundreds on them with the newer pillow top models that everyone seems to enjoy best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is a great stop for a family. It has everything you need; affordable rates, close to amenities, very clean, large rooms, friendly and helpful staff, swimming pool, waterslide and a decent breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Also, only approximately 20 minutes from Banff. Only downside perhaps is that it is right next to the train tracks so you can hear the trains if your room is facing that direction, but at the same time, with young children, it keeps them occupied watching the trains go by! All in all, a great hotel, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank london391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Your words are very kind. At reservation time we offer both sides of the hotel as an option (train and roadside,) and we’re happy you and your family enjoyed yourselves here. We try to be as family oriented as possible and we know that all kids love our water slide. See you next time.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed in 354, facing the road. Room was great with a partial vaulted ceiling. Very comfie king size bed.. soft.. soft.. soft with 4 king size pillows. Room had a clean couch with coffee table, microwave and fridge. Room was located close to the conference room where our Christmas party was held.. very convenient.. although would have been noisy had we not been attending. Trains were not a problem as we did not hear one. The breakfast was better than most with pastries of many kinds, pancakes, waffles, toast, english muffins, bagels, eggs, sausage, and five kinds of cereals. Breakfast was held in a large room with fireplace. We did not try the pool/waterslide.. but looked like the kids were enjoying! I would recommend this hotel +++

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rottn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thanks for your review of your stay. Also, thank you for your kinds words about our hot continental breakfast. I’m very happy you found our beds to be comfortable; we have replaced hundreds on them with the newer pillow top models that everyone seems to enjoy best.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We live in Calgary, Alberta and we had a very bad snowstorm last weekend. We had spent the day in Banff and couldn't make it home due to the bad condition of the highway. For that reason, we decided to spend the night in Canmore. It was late, around 9PM and we chose The Ramada Inn & Suites because its location basically. The bedroom was nice, it was located on the 3rd floor, we payed for a queen bed (you can get a king if you pay extra of course). The room included a couch, a mini fridge and a microwave, which i think was a good extra value if you want to stay longer. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough to have a good sleep. However, there were kids running around in the hallways and around midnight (if not later) i heard someone knocking another room's door, for quite a while, and it was quite loud, basically you can hear everything from the hallways, not very quiet. But hey, it was just a night. It is well located if you spend the day skiing or driving around the park because it has easy access from the highway, and Canmore is really close to the park gates. Although, the train tracks run right behind it and it could be noisy if your room is located on that side. We could go snack shopping late that night because there is a Safeway and a Sobeys right across the train tracks. The room rate includes a breakfast, nothing fancy, and it is served from 6 to 11 am. We got to the breakfast room around 9:30am and by that time the toasters weren't working, most of the tables weren't cleaned, the counters were messy... to be honest it wasn't really inviting. But they do offer a variety of bread choices, pancakes, yogurt, cereal (no fruit though...) and some scrambled eggs and sausages. I think the food selection was ok... So if you need an emergency stay in Canmore, consider the Ramada if you are on a budget, if not, definetely stay somewhere else. And if you have kids, they are going to love it definitely because it has an indoor pool with a slide.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the train tracks. It can be noisy sometimes... Higher floors have a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to express your concerns about the breakfast room. The toasters have been replaced and we have since hired a new Kitchen Manager. We apologize for the noise you endured during your stay. During your next stay please inform us immediately of any noise you find to be intolerable so we may take action to make your stay more peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed 2 nights with friends and 8 yr. old child. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all had some fabulous nights of rest. The waterpark area was undergoing some renovations but was still open to the delight of our traveling child. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were nicely renovated. The hot/cold continental breakfast was very filling with a good variety of items. We stayed on the highway side and did not hear the train at all. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Lastly, just a short 8-10 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road/highway side are quieter than the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buller_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Good day to you. We’re pleased you had time to enjoy the pool during its renovation. We welcome you back to see the finished product. Were thrilled you had a good night sleep on our new beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.8 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#19 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Property: Ramada Canmore
Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing