We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, and no curtains!!!”
Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Noisy, and no curtains!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel July 2011. We were staying over for a wedding. There was a family reunion in the hotel, and the family was extremely loud. We attempted to go to sleep early before the wedding day and it was almost impossible with both the adults yelling down the hall, and the kids running around. It appears that the hotel should have spent most of their money on real estate and not sound proofing.

The next night we went to bed late so it wasn't an issue falling asleep, but we were rudely awakened by the same family yelling across the hall, and the cleaning staff decided to turn the radio on loud while they cleaned the hall. Not what I wanted to wake up to. VERY RUDE.

We also noticed that the hotel windows did not have real curtains. Only for show. The only closeable curtain was a thin sheer sheet. So as soon as the sun came up the room was super bright. Not good for sleeping in.

All in all this hotel was lovely...unless you wanted to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasgirlie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    364
    246
    87
    49
See reviews for
424
286
57
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

When we arrived the the hotel, the front desk had not yet set us up in the system. The girl was very nice and started to set us in. I explained that I picked the "Deluxe Room With Two Queen Beds" and NOT the "Deluxe Room With Two Queen Beds Railway side". The front desk explained that for $142 you get the Railwayside and $169 is the bow valley road side. She then gave me the "quieter" road side for $142 without any hassle. WAY overpriced, nonetheless.
One of the beds had a roller wheel busted and it tilted, I just asked for some phone books, to their credit, they were wiling to move us, but after unloading into a room with a toddler, I declined.
The breakfast was awesome,along with the water slide.
I am really getting tired of these "Sign Change" hotels. Best Western is notorious for it, now so is the Ramada. You CHEAP HOTEL OWNERS, spend some money and renovate the ENTIRE hotel, not just the lobby! If you can't afford it, then sell it to someone with money and standards. I always wonder how much money is given under to the table to these Ramada/Best Western standards inspectors to approve thes dumpy hotels. Long live internet reviews, these cheap hotel owners have met their match.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afropuffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is a very smart, clean and well appointed hotel. It is very easy to find, and has decent views to the surrounding mountains (although I noted current building work nearby that might affect these views). The breakfast was slightly better than you’d find in a motel, with a couple of hot choices. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds / plenty of toiletries etc – my only concern was the bathroom floor that became exceptionally slippery when wet. The breakfast was served in a separate block, which confused a few people, including me, for a while as they looked for the “West Wing”.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The room was comfortable located in the front of the hotel, the rooms at the back of the hotel may get train noise from railroad right behind hotel. There was a walkway however to the many stores on the other side of the railroad tracks. The breakfast was great, so much so that I told the chefs. The hotel had a nice pool and a fair number of treadmills in the exercise room. The staff at the front desk may need retraining to handle the complex demands of incoming and departing customers.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

How do I rate this hotel? I felt that an "Average" rating was too severe but "Very Good" was too good.

We stayed here for two nights Friday and Saturday night. When we booked we had a choice of "Mountain Side" or "Railway Side". We chose railway side as it was cheaper and we both work in the railway industry and believed that a "bit of train noise" wouldn't be a problem.

Within minutes of checking in a freight train went by. Canadian freight trains are very long. We counted about 100 wagons (compared to about 25 in Britain). They are also heavy (mostly double deckers) and rumble by for about 90 seconds.

That night we decided to go to bed and shut the curtains. You don't get any. Just a net so in summer the late nights and early mornings let the full Canadian daylight into your room!

We reckon that about 6 trains went by during the night. Yes they do disturb your sleep. They are so noisy that you can't not hear them.

Whether or not there was engineering works on Sat night / Sun morning or whether or not they don't run but the next week we had a peaceful night with no trains.

The hotel provides a complimentary hot breakfast and there is a jacuzzi and swimming pool with a flume - but there are no changing rooms and you have to get changed in the toilet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This hotel is built 5 feet from a very busy, extremely fast train that travels all night long. If you are on the bottom floor I hope for your sake the train does not derail. The parking is limited as well, and the breakfast is served in an entirely different building?? The pool is quite small and hard to enjoy due to the splash the older kids are making when they come off the slide. Oh and one more thing, don't expect the manager to tell the kids to leave the pool when thery spit on, swear at and belittle your kids. It won't happen!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My family and I just finished up a wonderful family reunion weekend at the Ramada in Canmore. 4 families and 10 children had a blast playing in the pool and waterslide and enjoying Canmore and area. The hotel is a great value as it offers a great hot breakfast, swimming pool with waterslide at a very reasonable price. As well, the staff went out of their way to make sure that our large group were looked after especially when we needed a large room to have an impromptu birthday party at the hotel.
We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.5 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Property: Ramada Canmore
Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing