We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Canmore”
Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, AB
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Canmore”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore As I had a hospital appointment the next morning. We selected the King Room with the Jetted Tub and were absolutely amazed at how nice the room was. Service from the Staff was excellent and the lil convenience store on the main floor had lots of goodies!

Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cowboy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    364
    246
    87
    49
See reviews for
424
286
57
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here because it was cheaper than some of the hotels in Banff, but looking back, I would have paid the extra money so I didn't have to stay here. First, the hotel backs onto the railroad tracks, so bring some earplugs. But, don't expect to get a good night's rest. Our bed was awful. I don't think I have ever slept on a bed that was this uncomfortable. Also, I wouldn't advise walking around without shoes on in the room. There were clumps of long, black hair on the floor, hair on the bathroom floor, and hair that was tangled in the hair dryer. Not very impressive. However, the continental breakfast was adequate, even though we stopped elsewhere for coffee before continuing our travels. Overall, I would not stay at this Ramada again. I could have spent the same amount of money on a different hotel and slept in a cleaner room with a better bed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingandersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

[Note: I gave this hotel one extra star simply for the great continental breakfast - aside from that this hotel would have received only 2-stars.]
PROS: Great breakfast, free WiFi, some good facilities (exercise room and water slide).
CONS: Overpriced, loud (they actually openly offer guests earplugs for the train-noise), non-smoking rooms reek like smoke, questionable customer service.

This is a mediocre hotel that has questionable service, and it is a bit overpriced. I say questionable service because when I booked our room in advance I specifically asked for one that was quiet and that had had a good view of the mountains (and was told that I would receive one). However, when we checked in we were given the EXACT opposite of this, despite the fact that there were many other rooms available. The room was situated right above the main entrance, so we could hear everyone coming in and out, and located near the elevator/stairs, which was totally noisy. Also, the entrance veranda seriously blocked our view of the mountains! We asked to be moved (because the mini-fridge wasn't operational) and the next room reeked like cigarette smoke. If a booking representative from the hotel tells a customer that they will be receiving something, I find it misleading that they would give us the exact opposite of what I asked for and was told that I would receive (when there were clearly many other rooms available).

The free WiFi was a very nice bonus, and the breakfast is an excellent feature that made me change my review from 2-stars to 3-stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlpineExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mcmurray
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

A good value for the location, this hotel features good rooms (unless you have one facing the train tracks), an excellent pool/waterslide/hot tub, a great breakfast. Our main concern was the three times we called security due to a party across the hall that went all hours. The police were finally called at 3:45am giving us very limited sleep that night and an 8-hour drive the next day.

Room Tip: Bring your ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The Ramada Inn at Canmore was a very pleasant surprise. Hotel staff were professional and very friendly. The hotel has a 'Rocky Mountain' decor with pine furnishings and stonework. The rooms are bright, clean and comfortable. Beds, linens & towels are fresh. A large breakfast room served a complimentry breakfast including freshly made waffles & pancakes from the kitchen, real granola (not just cereal) yogourt and fruit.

The hotel is conveniently located on the main road through town. The rail line runs directly behind the hotel, but I didn't notice (or hear) trains running through town. (Trains are common place in the Banff / Kicking Horse Pass area so there is no getting away from them.) Canmore is only 12Km from Banff and the Ramada Inn, Canmore is a great alternative to staying in Banff.

Overall, for $82/night off-season AAA rate, this hotel is an excellent value and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freedom55Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sitka, ak
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

They have a large sign that says "rooms starting at $59.00" when I checked they were out of those rooms but had some for $102. Ended up staying and hotel was okay but the trains pass by all night long so if you are a light sleeper it probably is not for you.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isledweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed here with our two teenaged daughters on a ski package special, which (factoring in what we would have paid for lift tickets) effectively brought the cost of our night's stay down to the $60 range.

This is not a five-star hotel, and it does cater to a lot of young families, so if you're hoping to bask in silent, pampered luxury, it's not for you. But, here's what we got for our $60:
- a decent-sized, scrupulously clean room, with two very comfortable queen beds
- a small fridge and microwave
- free wireless high-speed internet
- an excellent free breakfast buffet for the four of us, including hot items, fresh fruit and pastries, in a large, pleasant breakfast room
- a great waterslide (though the pool itself is little more than a splashdown area) and a small whirlpool
- 24-hour coffee station in the lobby
- pleasant, helpful front desk and housekeeping staff

Yes, it's located next to railway tracks (as are many Canmore hotels). Yes, you will occasionally hear small children with loud footsteps and voices in the hallway (the hotel caters to many young families). But, for crying out loud, people -- it's a budget hotel, offering decent rooms with generous extras, at rates about as low as you're likely to find anywhere in the Canadian Rockies. Quit yer compainin'!

The price was fantastic. I had a great sleep and a nice breakfast. I will recommend this hotel to friends and family. I will stay here again (in fact, we plan to make reservations before we leave). That's the bottom line.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.5 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Property: Ramada Canmore
Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing