We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canmore
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September. Hotel nice enough but no where near anything and during our stay the kitchen and bar was not working. Hence no food and hotel not near anything. Needed a car to be able to get anywhere.

Apart from that hotel nice enough but would not recommend.

Room Tip: stay at Banff rather than Canmore but if on a budget stay in the town of Canmore itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa P, Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to deliver the most excellent experience. I wanted to offer you my apologies for your experience with us. We will address your concerns accordingly. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

The HI Canmore was booked for a one night getaway for my wife and I. A short drive from Calgary, a visit to a local spa and our plan was to spend the rest of the night inside, reconnecting and enjoying room service. PROBLEM, the on site restaurant is closed and has been closed for a month or more. Thus we have to leave the premises for food (did not bring appropriate clothing for dinner) and no room service. There goes our well planned night. Our issue is with Holiday Inn Website not updating this information. They may lose some customers but they would ensure that those informed would not be as upset as we were.

From the website:

""""""Open Daily:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:30am
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Lounge: 5:30pm - 11:30pm

Room Service

Just like every Holiday Inn, here at the Holiday Inn Canmore, we do room service right!

You can select the meal you desire from our carefully crafted Room Service Menu, and let us deliver, right to your room. """"""


So you can see how this might make someone who expressly wanted room service and reserved at a hotel with room service less than happy.

Luckily the Hotel Manager was able to see things from the customers expectations and why we were severely disappointed. She took the opportunity to secure our future business instead of losing us forever. Now she would not have had to have been placed in such a situation if the website was updated and accurate. I hope that Holiday Inn Canmore can learn that "honesty really is the best policy".

Holiday Inn: Clean, Modern decor, great beds and pillows. Hot Tub was luke warm and jets did not work.

As for Canmore recommendations:

Breakfast: Chez Francois

Lunch: Harvest Cafe

Dinner: Tapas Restaurant

Spa: Bodhi Spa

Places to stay: Stoneridge for longer stays and Holiday Inn Canmore for overnights assuming things are 100% operational.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa P, Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with others. It is great to hear that we have met most of your expectations on your stay. I can assure you that we are looking into your concerns for the benefit of our future guests which includes you for your next stay at our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time your travels takes you back to Canmore, I will personally welcome you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights while exploring the National Parks in the general area. Easy access to Canada 1 and a short drive into Canmore.

Our room was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. Beware of the luggage carts, they are the worse I have ever used. They were wobbly and hard to navigate.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bulldog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was our first trip to Canada and Banff. Very impressed with the location, staff that are very professional, friendly and very helpful (thanks in particular to Ms Lys, Mr Hong, Mr. Osvaldo for all your tips and help, you made our stay really pleasant).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights when we were in the Banff area. Very nice hotel and good location. Only problem was that the restaurant was closed. Service was good and the front desk clerk recommended at great restaurant for us, The Iron Goat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there recently for a wedding and was impressed. Very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The room included a microwave and mini fridge which was a nice bonus. Service for check in and out was very quick. The room had a nice mountain view and was well priced for the Canmore/Banff area. Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Holiday Inn in Canmore is located right off of Hwy 1 with beautiful mountain views all around. It is situated alone on the service road so it is not closed in. The town of Canmore is just across the overpass with lots of restaurants to choose from. The hotel appears new and is nicely appointed but the restaurant was closed during our visit. The room was large and the bathroom was very nice and there was a mini fridge and microwave.

The Holiday Inn had a nice lobby with travel information for the area. We used points and arrived after 4pm. There was a NO Vacancy sign on the door. As a platinum member who made my reservation back in March I was disappointed to have had my king bed changed to two queens and not to have any type of upgrade - but I realize that is on availability. The room was all the way down the hall on the third floor across from the ice machine which my husband loved but I found it a little noisy - especially late at night. If the gap below the door was fixed it would help with the sound or you could put a towel down there. There was a slight amount of traffic noise due to the highway but only if the window was open. You are just about 15 minutes from Banff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#7 Family Hotel in Canmore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $85 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points
Holiday Inn Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing