We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canmore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canmore
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great view, great location. Went for a mountain biking trip and the hotel has a washing station for bikes. Trails are close by and well-maintained. Outdoor hot tub was awesome after a day outside. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    172
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
119
175
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently had a couples' retreat at this hotel, and I'm glad we chose this hotel. Affordable but maintains high quality standards compared to other hotels of the same rating that I've been to. The rooms have been renovated and the atmosphere was just perfect - quiet, clean and well maintained. Beautiful views of the mountains and there's also a superb hiking trail close by. Analyn the sales coordinator was just amazing. She went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was extremely pleasant. Ask for her when making group reservations!! Other staff members were helpful and courteous as well.

As for the restaurant, we had such a "not so great experience"....mostly because of our special dietary needs. Good thing there are other great restaurants close by.

Overall, the hotel is GREAT!! Would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for some affordable peace and quiet..or even group functions.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but I'd recommend a jacuzzi suite for couples looking for a romantic get awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vodloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I checked in late without a reservation on my way home from a recent trip to the USA (having stayed here one night in the summer of 2012 with my family), in the hopes of getting a room at a reasonable price. The male desk clerk was evidently new (university student with what sounded like an Irish accent?) and was refreshingly unscripted. After about 50 clicks of the mouse and some hemming and hawing, my information on file was located and (ta-da!) I was in for $120 plus tax. Normally I book in advance and as a Priority Club member, checking in is usually very quick and easy. Even though checking in took much longer than usual this time, I have no complaints. The room was on the third floor, and had a vaulted ceiling. Very spacious, clean, and suitably appointed. Wi-fi was reliable and fast (hotel was not that busy, though). Very good value for the money. Hallways and other common areas were clean and well-maintained. (The same room style last summer was $179 plus tax -- thus the difference between off-season and high-season.)

The next morning I had breakfast at the Bench (the hotel's in-house restaurant, although I was hard-pressed to find that name displayed anywhere). The French toast described with the usual glowing and effusive adjectives on the menu, with "heated maple syrup," turned out to have been made from three pieces of plain white bread (Wonder Bread or equivalent) and three small plastic containers of regular syrup (admitted, they were warm). The apple juice tasted weak and diluted. The sausages arrived about three or four minutes after the main plate (why they weren't combined escapes me, but I suspect server or cook error). The price was far too high for what I received.

The hotel earned the Excellent ranking. The restaurant was Terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for a third-floor room with a vaulted ceiling, if available and the price is right. Don't e...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in Canmore rather than Banff given you get better accommodation at a cheaper price, as recommended by a friend. The Holiday Inn was a good choice located a few minutes drive (you will need a car) from Canmore main street. Our king room was a very good size and comfortable with a separate 'living' area. A couple of negatives:

- there are floodlights lighting the front of the hotel and one was very near our window. The curtains did not fully block out the light so it lessened the sleeping experience.
- aircon was typical holiday inn whereby it switches on and off all the time rather providing a consistent sound or fan speed. This would also impact light sleepers.

Overall we were pretty happy and there is enough in Canmore, including decent restaurants such that there is no need to go to Banff. Again, you will need a car though.

Room Tip: May need to avoid a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WombatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently went to a conference held here, and stayed in a room there.
It was a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, they provided a choice of firm or soft pillows. There is a small fridge and a microwave in the room, which were handy. I also liked the extra outlets in the room on the lamp bases. Too many hotels make you search high & low to find a place to plug stuff in, or their location is inconvenient-with outlets on the bedside lamps--that wasn't an issue. We slept great, had a lovely view out the window, and were not awakened by noise.
The lobby and other areas are available for visiting.
On the downside-the towels were a little rough--although they were clean.
And the price was a little more than I'd normally pay, but not too out of line with many places in Canmore.
The staff was very courteous, polite & helpful--and the conference was well cared for.
The restaurant had a limited selection-which may not be an issue for everybody.
My only comment that way was the that the chairs in the conference room were not very comfortable and my leg kept falling asleep on them.

But overall, it was a very enjoyable three days, and well worth it for our purposes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedmanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night - a girls night out. The rooms were quite clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room and didn't have an opportunity to use the restaurant.

My only caution is to check your bill carefully. I paid for the rooms online when booking, confirmed that the rooms were paid in full upon check in and somehow they still managed to charge my card a gain that night. They acknowledged the error when I brought it to their attention, and I'm waiting to ensure the credit was processed appropriately.

In spite of this issue, I would still stay here again and recommend it for a Canmore getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you want a hotel in Canmore that is a little out of the way and quiet this is a great option. Wonderful views of the mountains at every angle (except in the hot tub). The rooms are spacious and come standard with microwaves and fridges (very convenient). The only downside is the restaurant seems to make their own hours depending on how busy they are, we really wanted to have dinner their instead of leaving the hotel at about 8pm and they said the chef already went home and were closing - even they their sign states they were suppose to be open until 9:30pm. Great outdoor hot tub - even though its tucked away at the back of the hotel and doesn't have much of a view of the mountains but still was nice.
The staff were all great!!

Room Tip: Choose one that faces the front of the hotel if you want a unobstructed view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.8 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#14 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Property: Holiday Inn Canmore
Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#7 Family Hotel in Canmore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points
Holiday Inn Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing