We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Canmore Alberta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canmore
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn in Canmore on Priority Club points. The staff were very nice and helpful! Hotel is a notch above the typical Holiday Inn because of its exceptional location and styling. Like a previous reviewer, we also had the vaulted ceiling and a really great view of the mountains as well. Really nice and good value! Staff were able to provide some really good recomendations to us for restaurants etc. Also really, really close to Banff Provincial Park enterance! i would definatly stay here again. Just a note though is across the highway from Canmore, not actually in Canmore.

Room Tip: Ask for a vaulted ceiling and a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindersthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 561 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family spent two wonderful nights at the Holiday Inn in Canmore. Our room was very clean, and the linens were very white and fresh ( I am picky). We were on the third floor and it had vaulted ceilings with a fantastic view of the mountains. We had a mini fridge, coffeemaker and microwave so we were able to keep some food in our room which was very handy.

The staff were very pleasant and we had a wonderful, overall experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in July using Priority Club points. The hotel was very full, as I expected they would be in prime time summer. The good first: The hotel was clean and very nice for Holiday Inn standards. The front desk staff were friendly. Beds were comfortable and the a/c worked well. The proximity to both the highway and the town of Canmore was great. The bad: When we checked in they mentioned we were being upgraded due to my status, however when we arrived to the room (2nd floor) our view was over a roof with some air conditioning units. Not only that, but once I looked at my paperwork - we were in the exact room type I had booked - so felt a bit duped. Day 2, we were gone the majority of the day - from around 10 or 11 until 3 or 4 and came back hungry and tired and just wanted to eat and take a quick nap - but uh oh no housekeeping had been in yet! So we were able to find them and ask them to tidy up our room while we waited out in the elevator area. Discovered a little later that they hadn't left any hand towels, towels or wash clothes so then had to phone for those.

I'm normally not too nit-picky but just wanted to mention the good and bad. It didn't ruin our vacation and probably wouldn't even deter us from returning here to redeem points again in the future.

Must see in the area: Grassi Lakes, we took the easy hike up around 7 in the evening and it was just beautiful! We also encountered a black bear on our hike back down. Our first sighting upon arriving to the area. Caught us just a little off guard. It was probably about 50 to 100 feet away off in the brush (not on the trail).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBRZEZNIAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights using Priority Club Rewards Points. At check-in I was immediately recognized as a Platinum member and they offered to upgrade to a suite but we wanted a room off the first floor. We also received bottled water and chips. The attendants at check-in were very courteous; in fact all employees we dealt with were very nice.

The room was very nice with a very high vaulted ceiling, micro-wave, fridge, flat screen TV, 2 queen beds, lots of pillows, and high quality amenities in the bathroom. The room faced east toward some Hoodoo’s and a number of mountains. The hotel was across the freeway from the town so was very quiet.

I don’t normally eat in a hotel restaurant because they are normally overpriced and not very good, this one is an exception. Not many chefs can cook a blue rare steak, but they can here and it was excellent, also the chicken with a maple glaze was equally good. Add and excellent house wine and we had an extremely nice meal.

The only downside was that someone smuggled a small, yappy dog into their room and then went out and it barked for at least 1.5 hours (August 7). Fortunately we were 4 doors down so I really feel for the people who were closer. A number of people complained and an employee came up and confirmed the animal had been left alone so the called someone (SPCA?) to take it away. I was told that they could not remove the animal without the owner’s permission but when the owner showed up they claimed it was a ‘service’ dog. Even if it was a ‘service’ dog would you not need it when you go out and why would you smuggle it in in the first place. A service dog is not normally a tiny dog and even if it is it would be trained not to yap constantly. Again, this was not the hotels fault, but it was quite an irritant.

Would I stay there again, you bet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tailes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and your great support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a gorgeous little town on the way to Banff. This hotel is nothing off the charts as far as amenities but it is comfortable, safe, secure, and just a good solid place to hang your hat. We couldn't believe how quaint the area is- with its small shops, galleries and hospitality. The Holiday Inn made a nice base camp to go explore the area. While the parking spaces were a little snug, we were lucky to have rented a small car; it might be a bit of a trick if we had dragged along a trailer or had a massive 4x4. We though the staff was more than friendly when we checked in at the wee hours of the morning and were super polite. Nice place without a lot of frills so don't expect to be pampered or think it's some spa village. They provide a nice roof over your head and serve up some proper amenities.

Room Tip: Be aware when the Calgary Stampede is going as this place could be filled and the rates could be ast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smogboy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are always glad when our guest take the time to write reviews. We enjoy of the fresh trademarks of all new Holiday Inns. Coming soon, we will have swimming pool and spa facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Clean and very comfortable. We stayed one night and drove to do Banff. Pricey for the simplistic room. Friendly service- but would be nice if they charged people for taking two parking spots. Many guests thought their vehicles must be special and overlapped their parking spaces so it made it hard for others to park. Also room walls were thin and you could hear your neighbour flushing the toilet. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tromponya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The location of the Holiday Inn is why we chose to stay there. The staff was very nice although I did have a problem understanding the front desk clerk due to extreme broken English. The room and inn were very clean and well decorated. Breakfast is not included with the room, and the prices at the restaurant were quite steep. We chose to have breakfast elsewhere. We have stayed elsewhere in Canmore previously, and compared to other hotels/motels in Canmore, the Holiday Inn is rather expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilton28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you the nice review. Unlike Holiday Inn Express, we offer Full Service Restaurant facilities. We offer great incentives to book breakfast included packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $82 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points
Holiday Inn Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing