We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi-Luxury rental Canmore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Semi-Luxury rental Canmore”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Solara is 2 bedroom condo. Clean, spacious, down duvets, standing jets and rain shower in tub. Poor lighting in room, half of lights didn't work. Deck covered in bird poop not swept. Overall resort not maintained that well. Expect more for price paid. Can't honestly advertise they have a pool when all it is a 6 inch deep wading area. I can't believe a complex of that size doesn't have a pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nans1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Good day nans1980,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to see that you liked the comfort of your 2 bedrooms condo as we have put some great efforts into providing a very upscale level. The level of bedding, duvet and the luxury amenities found in each unit are always very appreciated. The summer comes with its natural effects and certainly we should have put a more constant attention to your balcony for birds, which is usually our only standard of course; therefore I truly apologize for this.

An outside pool as you rightly said as always been part of our projects and we do hope that in some future we can add to the already existing hot tub, wading pool and kids fountain area an outside pool.

In the meantime, I hope you had the chance to enjoy our outside gardens and indoor theater for your comfort, as much as the beauty of Canmore. I look forward to have the chance to see you once again at Solara in the future as a valued repeat guest.

Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    256
    103
    56
    32
See reviews for
393
247
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful suite, very clean, fancy decoration, granite kitchen. BBQ on the patio for more option. Resort even have a theater to let you enjoy some movie if you want.
Nice place to have a relax vacation.
Pool is a little too small and too hot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerDeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Solera is a very odd resort, I’ve stayed here before (while on business for just a night), but not on a family holiday. We tried to check in at 2:30, but were curtly told that they didn’t have a room available, and check-in was at 4pm. So we returned at 4pm, and found check-in to be very straight forward, but make sure you keep you property map with you! It is a maze of underground parkades, levels and elevators. Once you find a parking spot, the next challenge begins, you need to find a self-serve luggage cart (no valet here), for a property the size of Solera, there are surprisingly few, and we could not find one, so we started the first round of bringing our luggage up to the room. Solera also has the slowest elevators in the Bow Valley (maybe the only one’s?), after waiting for what seemed like 5 minutes, we finally got an elevator! Of course you need to share it with housekeeping, since they don’t have a service elevator. We finally arrive to our room, and the first impression is wow, what a great room! We had a premium 2 bedroom suite on the 4th floor (top floor), and it was big and spacious. Very nice granite, nice kitchen (however the fridge could have been cleaned better), bathrooms were very nice and had a cool shower system (albeit a bit dark), nice big patio with table and chairs. The second thing we noticed was that the air conditioning was very loud, but that wasn’t a worry, until we discovered it wasn’t the air conditioner, it was some massive 10’ wide fan for the parkade that never shut off! Even with all the windows and doors closed you could still hear this loud fan (room tip: don’t get a room in the Bow building facing North, or in the Aurora building facing South).

The hotel boasts free wi-fi, but found it was up and down continuously (hence why I’m writing this long review, I was trying to spend 5 minutes doing some quick work, but after an hour, I still haven’t been able to get anything done, so I thought I’d write a TripAdvisor review! So if you need to do work with a wifi connection, don’t count on it! (especially if you want to work on the patio, but that is ok, since I found a natural gas smell also emitted from this monster garage fan, again, not very pleasant).

I’m happy I brought ear plugs, since between the 24x7 massive parking garage fan, the loud fan in the hallway and the elevator pinging (we were 2 rooms away from the elevator), it was anything but a peaceful sleep.

The hotel also boasts free bikes, but unfortunately we stayed at the hotel in August, so they only had 2 working adult bikes available. So as a family of four, we needed to go into town and spent $50 renting 4 bikes for an hour.

For a hotel this size, the “pools” were a joke, I think they were two 4’x10’ hot tub pools and a splash play area for kids. The pool area looked clean, so that was good.

The location is convenient from the Trans-Canada highway, and about a 5 minute drive to downtown Canmore.

Saturday night is probably not the best night to spend at the hotel, since they do cater to weddings. My family and I went up with some rather intoxicated party goers at 4pm, and had a loud wake up call at 3am as they stumbled down the hallway.

So what is our overall impression? This may sound like a negative review, but it isn’t meant to be. Many of the items were design issues, like the limited parkade, slow elevators, monster fan in the middle of the complex, noisy hallway fans/ac, poorly insulated rooms; however some were not like the limited and poorly made luggage carts, missing robes, wifi that was down most of the time. I do have to say the staff was very friendly, and attentive when we called (the robes arrived within 5-10 minutes!). If you want to stay at a condo style hotel with a full kitchen (stove, oven, microwave, large fridge, all cutlery, etc..), this is a great option!

Room Tip: don’t get a room in the Bow building facing North, or in the Aurora building facing South otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCriticalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our group of stayed at 2 3bd units. Our stay was very positive. Plenty of space for 3 families to share. Our units were nice with high end appliances, the bathrooms are large. It was great to be able to cook a quick meal or grill on the patio. We enjoyed the view of 3 sisters mountains while eating on our patio while the children mingled in the other unit. It worked out well for us and we will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
274 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our second time visiting Banff and once again we chose to stay in Canmore. Canmore is just outside the national park so I think the cost of lodging is a little more reasonable. Plus, Canmore has a great grocery store which is important to us because we like to use the kitchen in the condo to prepare some of our meals while we're on vacation (we get sick of eating out all of the time).
Our condo was a 3 bedroom unit and we thought it was terrific. The location isn't far from downtown and it's also very close to biking and hiking trails. The freeway entrance is also pretty close so it was an easy trek back and forth to Banff each day. We thought the condo was in good condition and the property seemed pretty new. It was pretty clean overall. I see other reviewers mention housekeeping problems but I can't comment on that because when we are on vacation, we don't really like housekeeping coming in and out of our room so we just hang the do not disturb sign up and exchange our towels at the front desk. We had some problems with our freezer so we had to deal with maintenance and they were prompt and courteous. Our unit had a balcony with a great view of the Three Sisters mountain range. I found the property to be generally quiet and peaceful overall.
I would stay here again. I liked the indoor parking (I think in the winter that would be an awesome feature). The place was very nice and for the two weeks we stayed here, we didn't encounter any problems except the minor issue with the freezer. We paid about $4K for a three bedroom unit for 2 weeks which I thought was a decent price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week after 9 weeks around the world travel. Canmore was a good decision over Banff but this would be the noisiest room we stayed in the whole time. Large exhaust fans in the central court yards between bow and aurora from carpark started and stopped 24/7 and prohibited balcony use. We moved from 2nd to 3rd floor after complaining which improved but still too noisy in living area for a toddler to sleep. No blackout blinds. Fabulous kitchen and bathroom. If you want a view need a premium suite and top level apartments are mostly for 2-3 bedrooms. Comfortable but overall was a mediocre stay and not what we looked forward to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austoddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I completely agree with the opinion of canadianquebecer about the hotel. We were in the two bedrooms apartment with living room. Beds in the bedrooms were very comfortable but the sofabed in the living room is not suitable for sleeping . When we turned to the management, they offered to move us to hotels in standard much lower and when we did not agree,just ignored us and gave us the feeling that they do not care, even though they knew our daughter slept on the floor.
Also, all eight days, the housekeeping did not washed or vacuumed the floor. even though when we arrived, we were told that they will clean the rooms every four days.
Overall, we liked the location and design of the apartment, which was clean and pleasant.The kitchen was nicely equipped with all you need.. But also we realized that no one take care of any problems when came up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mayaHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
11.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Property: Solara Resort & Spa
Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#1 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing