We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Luxurious home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Solara was the "base camp," so to speak, for our wedding weekend that took place from September 6 - 9, 2012. From the moment we checked in, we were treated like VIPs - this is to say nothing of the return guest rate we were given (we are frequent guests of another BellStar property, the equally stunning Blackstone Mountain Lodge)! From the front desk staff to housekeeping to even security (yes things got rowdy the night of the wedding!), all staff seemed genuinely concerned that we were happy and enjoying our stay. The three bedroom premium suite that was used as the rehearsal dinner location on Thursday night and the bridal suite on our wedding day Friday was gorgeous. Easily the best suite in the house. We wanted for nothing the entire weekend, and again we both felt like we were treated like royalty. Facilitated by Monique, the events coordinator, and Sarah our favourite front desk girl, our wedding weekend stay at Solara was indeed a memorable one and we will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCabreraStapfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Our team at Solara Resort & Spa were so honoured to be a part of such a special day and to be able to host your family and friends! We are very proud of our teams, we are all passionate about striving to make each guests stay memorable. I am delighted to hear that we were able deliver!

Canmore is an spectacular destination for weddings and Monique is absolutely amazing, she goes above and beyond to assist in making our guests visions come true.

Thank you for your kind words, the team at Bellstar wishes you a lifetime of happiness together and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Sincerely,
Sara K
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    237
    103
    54
    32
See reviews for
370
236
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stay in Canmore at least once per month. We usually choose the one of the top three hotels in Canmore according to Trip Advisor, but because they were all full this time, we went with Solara, which had vacancies -- this should have been the first red flag. Solara is in no way at the level of the other Bellstar properties, in which we have happily stayed in the past.

Pros: amazingly friendly and attentive staff at the front desk. I really believe they actually cared about whether I had a good stay. For their sake, I wish I could give a nicer review, but I can't. Check in and checkout was actually pleasurable.

Cons:
1. We arrived to find the toilet in our 2-bedroom suite had fresh urine stains all over (and I mean ALL over) the seat. There was urine in the bowl along with toilet paper.
2. There were make-up stains (mascara and foundation) on the pillow case of our bed.
3. There is absolutely no sound proofing between the floors. The only explanation I have for the sounds that we heard until at least 11:30 is that a woman was trying to soothe her screaming infant by walking up and down while wearing the loudest, highest heels she owned. It was horrible, and started up again at 6:45 the next morning. Maybe sleep deprivation is why I am so cranky with this review.
4.The staff (maybe from housekeeping or the kitchen) sit and smoke on the staircase between the main building and the parkade. We came across this more than once during our stay. Not only is this visually ugly, but so unhealthy and unacceptable in a health conscious place like Canmore.
5. It appeared that the parkade door was open all night. In the other properties we usually rent, the doors are closed and there is a much more secure feeling.
6. Dirty laundy (I mean visibly dirty) was piled in a bin and stored beside the elevator of our floor for an entire 24-hours. Disgusting.
7. The Kidz play area was not working. We watched at least 7-kids as they sadly pushed the buttons on the water park, to no avail. Also a caution about the pool: read the description very carefully, because Solara are economical with the truth when they use terms like "relaxation pool". The relaxation pool is a hot tub that is so long and narrow that you will be knee to knee with other guests. Furthermore, the relaxation pool is 4-feet from a kids wading pool. Older kids who want to actually swim will be completely out of luck, here. View the photos on the website carefully, because what you see in this photos is literally all you will get.
8. There is a desperate first impression, unfortunately, as a result of the billboard advertisements that are showing that prices have been reduced for anyone who wants to actually purchase a unit in Solara. As guests, we started our stay wondering why no one wants to live here. Now, we know why.
9. Only one of our two key cards worked for the common areas of the property. One helpful staff member told us that "we have been having a lot of problems with the common locks, but I guarantee that your room key will work on your room". Really? Just fix the locks.

Finally, I have noticed that the manager is diligent in replying to negative reviews on Trip Advisor. To the manager, I would say, you have my permission NOT to spend the time answering my review, and instead, spending the time going over your property with a fine tooth comb. Please don't spend time making excuses for the state of the property. Instead, get out there and fix the issues and don't blame a power outage or your suppliers or your guests or anyone else. Your property is your responsibility. Maybe the person who trains the front-desk staff needs to start training the housekeeping people to be more thorough and moving the smokers from your staff to a less visible part of the property. Seriously, the competition in Canmore lodging is so competetive and you are being left in the dust.

Room Tip: IF you have to stay here and you want any chance of getting some sleep, accept a room ONLY on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Skytre,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience while staying at Solara, we appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually improve our levels of service to our guests.

I would like to address some of your concerns during your stay and acknowledge that it does seem that our teams did not provide the level of service and ensure the high standards that we normally adhere to at Solara. For this we do apologise and have used your feedback constructively. We are pleased to read that enjoyed the service that our front desk agents were able to provide, our entire team is passionate about ensuring the enjoyment of each of our guests.

We are in the process of erecting signage in our water area to advise guests on how to initiate the fountains in the splash park or jets for the hot pool if simply pressing the green buttons do not work. It is not that the Splash Park was down, the cause of the fountain not initiating is that the stop button had been engaged. We have discovered that guests tend to depress the red stop button if they choose to leave before the fountains have timed out. We hope that providing signage will alleviate the frustrations of guests who believe that it is just broken.

Our relaxation and hot pools are much larger than your average hot tub, approx 12' long, 5' wide, and 3' deep. We have found that our guests enjoy this size as it does provide more personal space per person than a typical hot tub. We are very honest when advertising our water features and do not purport to have a swimming pool. If when making a reservation at the resort and guests' indicate that this is important to them we are the first to advise exactly the amenities that we have so that our guests can make an informed choice as to whether our facilities meet their specific needs for that stay.

Our teams agree that smoking outside our buildings is inappropriate and have advised our staff that they are prohibited from having their breaks there. Solara and Bellstar are committed to providing a smoke free environment within the hotel and units, the poles are there for those guests that smoke as our balconies are to be smoke free. We do ask any guest that has been disturbed by smokers to alert our Guest Services Team so that we can address these concerns immediately.

The magnetic keys are not infallible and do have their limitations and vulnerabilities. The most common cause of these keys not working is that they have come into contact with something magnetic like a mobile phone. This is why we encourage our guests to keep their keys in the sleeves that we provide at check-in. Also the locks themselves are not infallible as most are battery powered as they are stand-alone units. As soon as we are alerted that a lock is not performing consistently our Engineering team will go and perform a diagnostic and replace the battery and reprogram as the situation dictates. Unfortunately a lot of the time we must rely on guests to inform us as the timing is not exact. The pro's to the magnetic key system is that if a key is lost we can immediately cancel that key out and thus ensuring the utmost security for our guests. I will be re-educating our teams about the locking system to prevent any misinformation to be communicated to our guests. The comments made by our staff were incorrect and again for that we apologise.

Regarding your experiences with our housekeeping we have communicated your feedback to our teams and housekeeping management. Our supervisors are to check each room before releasing as ready to be checked in. Clearly this was missed during your stay. We have tightened our training and again appreciate your feedback. We are extremely disappointed that this was your experience while staying with us.

Our team appreciates your feedback, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss your stay in further detail and would like the opportunity to host you again so you can experience the true Solara Resort & Spa experience.

Sincerely,

Sara K
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We decided last minute to go spend some time in the mountains and were limited as we had decided to take our dogs. Solara had been recommended to us by a friend in the past and we were so happy when it popped up under our "pet-friendly" hotel search.
When I called less than 24 hours before we wished to arrive, they were pleasant and helpful in finding a last minute room for us (we were lucky that they had had a pet friendly room cancellation).
The day we arrived early, about 5 hours before check in and the front desk people held our luggage and gave us lots of tips on how to occupy our time (with our dogs) before we checked in. When we returned we were blown away by our room...or should I say suite. It was beautifully decorated, very clean and just plain amazing...and pet friendly as well. The disinfectant smell lingered but gave us reassurance that any previous dogs in that room were well clean up after and that ours would be safe to sniff away to their hearts content.
The fireplace in the living room and bedroom were great. We cooked a wonderful meal in the fully equipped and luxury kitchen and enjoyed the wonderful soaker tub and rain shower in the bathroom.
To be honest we could have happily moved into this suite, the decor was modern and tasteful and there was nothing we wanted for while staying at Solara.
In fact we enjoyed our visit so much, as we were checking out, we booked another visit to celebrate our anniversary in the next few months!
Two thumbs up and a couple of puppy tail wags for Solara!

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room facing the sunset on your balcony! If booking in the summer you may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear PaulaW,

Thank you for your glowing review of Solara Resort & Spa, we are delighted to hear that the whole family enjoyed your first stay with us!!

We are very proud to be a part of Pets Can Stay and love when we can host our four legged friends and their families! Canmore has so many great walks/hikes for pets and owners alike! I am so pleased that our Guest Services Team were able to provide you with some good local hints, we have a great team that is dedicated to providing exceptional service to our guests.

Our units were designed so our guests would feel like they are in a home away from home, equipped with the gourmet kitchen so you can enjoy a night in and relax! The showers and tubs are amazing! A great way to relax and unwind after enjoying the many activities in Canmore. Our housekeeping team is dedicated to ensuring that these units are kept in the highest standards for our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time and sharing your experiences with our Trip Advisor readers and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to our teams!

We look forward to hosting you again soon!!

Kind Regards,

Sara K
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We started with a room mix up, which admittedly was the fault of the company we booked through and not the resort. They did rectify it quite quickly. We had to call maintenance to our room to turn the fires on, re-attach the bathroom mirror (it fell right off the wall as it was not attached properly) and replace the microwave (the door was jammed, which makes me wonder why house keeping did not notice - don't they clean them?) In addition, there was no soap or toilet paper in the room and this "luxury" rental is supposed to include a 3 day starter kit. Also, the one day we did go into the children's games room, we were almost completely overcome with the extremely noxious fumes from some chemical (smelled like dry cleaning fluid) and had to get out of there very quickly before getting ill or passing out.

All of that being said, the staff were very nice and were very quick to respond to all of our requests. It was great to be able to bring our dog with us and have plenty of room for the entire family. The resort kind of has the feel of a cheaply renovated old condo development with a glossy facade plastered on to make it look "luxurious". The walls and floors are very thin (the people in the apartment above us sounded like a herd of elephants). They would do better, especially given the significant amount of competition all around them, if they didn't pretend to be so upscale and expensive. Even the prices at the spa are ridiculously excessive and much higher than any other spa we looked up (and there are plenty of them to choose from in Canmore).

They need to train their housekeeping staff to be more thorough and ensure the rooms are ready with all of the promised inclusions. A checklist, including checking that all of the appliances work, would be a simple way to do this. They also need to reconsider their prices based on the competition close by and the quality of the renovation keeping in mind this resort has no pool (it does have a hot tub and a small kids splash area that are very nice though). The spa will go out of business if it does not recognize the massive amount of far more realistically priced competition in the area. We would give this resort another chance but only if the deal was worth it.

Room Tip: Before you arrive, make sure you confirm that they have you booked into the room you are expecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzadazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Kezzadazza,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experiences at Solara Resort & Spa.

I am pleased to read that our team was able to respond quickly and efficiently when responding to your requests! Canmore did have a power outage prior to your arrival which caused every fireplace needing to to be reset throughout the property, we apologise yours was not caught before your arrival. We will definitely look into the odour in the Kids play room, our cleaning products that we use are odour free, perhaps it was some of the kids paint that we supply or markers? I have our team looking into it right now.

We are very proud to be a part of Pets Can Stay and that the entire family can enjoy our resort in our selective pet friendly units!

One Wellness and Spa is a separate entity to us but we have passed your comments onto them as well.

We would love to have you back so that you can experience the true Solara Resort & Spa experience, please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.

Sincerely,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was at Solara for a wedding. I absolutely loved the accommodations! Very modern colors, furniture, flooring, everything! Decor matched the majesty of the mountains and wildlife in the area! Underground parking is nice, too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear LindaJ,

Thank you for your excellent review of Solara! We are always so honoured when we are able to be a part of such a special occasion like a wedding, anniversary's, etc! We look forward to hosting you once again, don't forget to mention that you have stayed with us before and we will apply our exclusive loyalty rates to your reservation.

Kind Regards,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouse Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

On short notice Solara resort where able to accommodate 3 golfers from Australia for 8 days 9 to 17 August 2012. The apartment and amenities brilliant for our time, close to good resturants & more importantly Golf courses Silvertip & Stewarts Creek. both spectaclau courses a must play for any visitor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us! Solara is a great base for exploring the Bow Valley and the Rocky Mountain Region! Our suites allow for guests to enjoy a night in with our fully stocked gourmet kitchens or, as you mention, we are just a few moments away from all the great restaurants in town. Canmore has something for everyone, it is a definite destination for golf with many great courses near by but also has spectacular walks and hikes! And of course close to the ski hills for our winter guests!

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us for the TA community, we hope to see you the next time you're in Canada!

Sincerely,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom condo for 3 nights. Location is perfect. Service is not very good. The spa was not working well, we informed them several times and were told that it is fixed. However, it was not. The stove did not work well. However, it is spacious, comfortable, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear sw425b,

We appreciate you taking the time and providing feedback regarding your stay with us at Solara and are happy to hear you enjoyed your unit. Our kitchens are equipped with european style ovens which can be a new experience for some of our guests, however, our team is always ready to assist if our guests have any questions and will come to the room to provide help. Unfortunately from time to time unforeseen maintenance issues may arise with amenities as it seems may have occurred during you visit. This is a disappointment for our team as well as we always want our guests to have exceptional experiences and we endeavour to rectify the issue as soon as possible so that our guests can enjoy all aspects of the resort.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you had a great summer!

Sincerely,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#19 of 29 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Property: Solara Resort & Spa
Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#1 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing