We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at the Solara Apr 9-11 in a 1 bedroom unit. The check-in was easy and informative, with the clerk giving us directions and a map to both the parkade and our suite. Upon arrival to the room you are instantly taken aback by the beautiful high-end kitchen finishes and the stunning mountain view! Everything in our suite was clean and in good order, and the suite was sufficient size for our family of 4, utilizing the pull-out sofa for the kids. The room had 2 flat screen tv's, a PS3 console, large balcony with a full-size table, 4 chairs and a BBQ. I have no complaints other than we had a night-owl of an upstairs neighbor who walked the floors all night long in heeled shoes/boots keeping us awake. The pool area is on the small side, with a knee deep wading pool, large hottub (the jets were out of order during our stay), and a cute spray park - small, but sufficient to keep young ones entertained. The Theatre was great and at 7pm the whole lobby floor smells of popcorn....YUM!!!! Forgot to mention that we did receive the courtesy call upon arrival to the room on day of check in to ensure everything was in order and satisfactory. Our check-out was equally as easy and painless, with another friendly clerk manning the desk. 2 thumbs up :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyCMartensville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort and Spa.

We're very proud of our Resort and the many ammenities it has to offer to our guests. Your suite has been well designed and equipped with the essentials as well as some additional features like the PS3 systems. Did you know that we rent out DVD movies and PS3 games at the front desk for FREE? It's just another way we like to add value to your stay. Of course you can always join us for a free movie on the big screen at our very own Aurora Theatre at 7:00pm daily.

Stay in touch with us on our Facebook page to share some of your photos of Solara and find out about the most recent deals. You will also be entered to win a free stay whne we reach 1,500 "Likes".

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solara in the near future.

Thank you,

Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
There are newer reviews for Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 990 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

I am saddened to read a previous review of the bow building, because I have nothi g but praise and high recommendations for this beautiful resort!
We have travelled the world, but never did we receive such hospitality from everyone here at solara!
Upon checking in, the front desk woman (Colleen) was so pleasant and kind with us and our children. She was happy and knowledgeable, and could tell she thoroughly enjoys her job.
The cleaning staff were very good and respected our privacy. Sheileh(the cleaning woman) was so sweet and friendly, and took care of our room just the way I would!
Our view was unbelieveable, movie room great, pool area wonderful, even though it was closed temporarily, we couldn't have asked for more!
Colleen the front desk woman was very helpful when it came to directions, things to do, and fun things for the kids!
Thank you for such a beautiful, relaxing, and clean accommodations! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We frequent the Canmore area and have stayed at other lodges in the past. We were drawn to this particular property by an escapes deal. Upon arrival, the clerk at the front desk created a detailed map, making in pen on it where to park and which elevator to take by circling both. Unfortunately, we were sent to the wrong elevator and ended up in the Aurora building, rather than the Bow. Self sleuthing to find our room independently, we arrived to a room that smelled of garbage and where the floors had not been vacuumed or washed prior to our arrival. There were other supplies missing as well, which were replaced immediately. However, since no one arrived to vacuum and clean the floors of the unit by 9pm, I cleaned the floors myself. Later that evening we were kept awake by the unit above- it seems that the building is made of plywood-not the typical concrete building that one would expect of a luxury resort. We called the front desk to complain at 11pm, and the noise continued on til 1am(on both nights of our mid-week stay!). Most unfortunately, upon booking, we were not informed that the pool area would be closed for the majority of our stay. Of the Bellstar properties, this one was chosen for it's family amenities-which were not available. I have never had an experience like this at a resort, perhaps one of these issues in the past, but not cumulatively. When the sequence of events were explained to the hotel desk upon checkout, we received an insincere and patronizing apology "that's too bad". We will be going back to Spring Creek, where we have had multiple pleasant stays. I would not recommend a stay in the Bow Building at this resort(aside from a dirty unit, the hallways had not been vacuumed, lights were out and the elevator smelled of wet carpet although the weather was dry), and would hope that the Aurora building might offer a better experience. Good luck here, unless you are visiting the spa! It was the best part of the experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to hear about the events from your stay and will address these matters immediately. There was a temporary pool closure due to unforeseen circumstances and we're very sorry for the inconvenience that it caused.

We take all feedback very seriously and will use it to improve in any areas where we may have fallen short. Overall this experience is not a reflection of a true Solara Resort and Spa stay and we encourage the TripAdvisor community to read all of our reviews for a clearer picture of our resort.

Sincerely,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was my first time to Canmore and it was amazing! The room my love and I stayed in was incredible! We had a great view of the mountains, 2 large flat screen TVs, a kitchen complete with granite counter tops and all cooking tools! Oh and let's not forget the most unreal bed! Sooo comfortable! It was hard to wake up and go shopping ;) This is the best place to vacation close to home with or without children. A romantic getaway or just a place to take the family for the weekend. We will definitely be coming back to Solara without a doubt!!! 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunniscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for your stellar review of Solara Resort and Spa.

All of the finishes in our suites are carefully selected based on their quality and style, our guest amenities included facilities such as a 96-seat movie theatre, hot tub, water play area, 8,000sq. ft. spa and fitness facility and our Resort's location lies right by the heart of Canmore and minutes away from the Banff National Park. All of these combine to offer you the most sophisticated and unique accommodation experience in the area.

We're glad to hear your feedback and appreciate that time you have taken to share this experience. Please join us on Facebook to remain in touch and stay up to speed on our latest special offers.

Warm regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

After reading many great reviews I decided to book a weekend get away for my wife and I.
We arrived 7pm Friday evening,no baggage carts,elevator very slow and a smell of burnt wiring.
We were given a two bedroom as original request for a one bedroom not available.
No tv in bedroom,not a big deal,however most rooms do have it,no deep soaker tub,spare room had a tv but queen bed,unused space for us.
The room was not cleaned the next day
Had to ask for coffee at front desk as nothing replenished in room.
No pepper,took some small packages from a local restraunt.
Hot tub along way from our room and wasn't sure how to find it.
No welcome call which was raved about in some reviews.
Internet went down Saturday evening
Patio door would not lock,which was fixed promptly,however,for a ground floor unit on street side a little worrisome.
All in all a very mediocre to poor stay,not worth the 500.00 for two nights,I felt ripped off.
Best part was dinner away from the resort and the fact you can bring your dog.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank austin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Your feedback is valuable to us. It allows us to improve where we might be falling short and we apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay.

Friday evenings are a very busy time for arrivals and at times it may be difficult to get a hold of a luggage cart right away as they might be in use. Our staff are always ready to help you with your bags upon request.

Your concerns are important to us and we will address them internally. Again, thank you for bringing them to light. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if you would like to discuss the details of your stay further.

Sincerely,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Booked a last minute weekend getaway to Canmore and had an unbelievable time. We were tossed between staying at Falcon Crest again or testing new waters at nearby Solara. Well, I think we found our new place of choice when spending time in Canmore. Solara is an incredible property, by far the top Resort in Canmore. The rooms are very well appointed and the service is top tier. We have already booked are next trip for June.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Three Sisters.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of Solara Resort and Spa!

Solara is definitely the top resort in Canmore and our team shows their pride through their exceptional service. Be sure to "Like" our Facebook page... We have Trivia Tuesdays that run every Tuesday in March and get you a chance to win $30 worth of Bellstar Bucks! It's easy to play... and easy to win, just be the first to answer with the correct answer.

Thank you again, we look forward to your return to our Resort.

Warm regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I got a great deal on a 3 night stay after inquiring about purchasing our own condo at Solara. We had a one bedroom condo which has a complete kitchen with top of the line appliances, balcony with bbq, 2 fireplaces and a great shower! This is our second time staying at Solara (check out my first review) and this stay was much better!! There are still a few negatives but nothing that will keep us from staying here again. The condos are very spacious and fairly quiet. The only thing missing from the one bedroom units is the gorgeous soaker tub you see on the website. The shower is amazing though. Kitchens come with everything you need to cook, drink... whatever you want to do... minus the food of course. A tip... turn on the ice maker as soon as you step in the room. Grab your ice bucket and head to the front desk as it takes forever for the freezer to make ice. Staff at this resort are amazing!! Everyone says hi even if just passing them in the hallway. There is a movie theatre that plays two movies on the weekends: early time for a kiddie movie, late showing for a more adult movie. You can buy popcorn and snacks. What a great idea!
The disappointing part of Solara is the pool area. There is one hot pool, a wading pool and a kids splash zone. Everything is inside and all in the same area. If you have a family then perhaps it is more inviting but for us nothing beats soaking in a hot pool outside on a cool evening.
Another negative... it is very hard and seemingly awkward to get anywhere in the resort from your room. In order to get to the front desk, spa, gym from our building (Aurora) we had to walk through the parking garage and a construction zone, through a door that was possibly just for staff. Not sure if there are plans to change this or not.
One Wellness Spa is located inside Solara and is the best spa in Canmore. My husband got a massage and I got a pedicure. Beautiful facility, excellent staff. They have a huge steam room and sauna that are free to use if you're getting a treatment at the spa or $25 for the day if you just want to relax in them. We also used the huge gym near the spa which has all equipment that you would use at home and more!
Solara is still expected to add a restaurant and a Farmer's Market which means you would never have to leave.
Overall, we would definitely stay at Solara again. The positives definitely outweigh the negatives. I'm excited to see the next phase of this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Callaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for the delightful review of Solara Resort and Spa!

We're very excited about the offerings at our Resort and we're happy that you share the same excitement. There's so much value that our guests get out of Solara. The fully equipped suites allow for you and your guests to cook your own meals and the in-suite washer and dryer are great for extended stays. We play free movies every evening at 7:00pm in our 96-seat movie theatre. Our hot tub and splash park area is a great place for families and we've reserved that hours from 9:00pm to 11:00pm as a quiet time for guests looking to enjoy some relaxation time.

Plans are under way which will include a restaurant as well as a hallway that directly connects the Aurora building to the amenity space.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are great things happening at Solara Resort and Spa and we're looking forward to share them with you again soon. Remember to mention that you have stayed with us when booking so that we can extend a special repeat guest discount to you.

Warm regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,126 reviews
12.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $149 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of Canada's top wellness resort situated in the heart of the stunning Canadian Rocky Mountains. Not your typical hotel this condo-hotel offers spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartment style condo units with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Take in the fresh mountain air on your own private balcony or terrace or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. All units feature wine fridges, fully stocked gourmet kitchens, fireplaces, electric bbqs, upgraded Kohler massage showers, complimentary WIFI, heated undergroung parking and more. The best rooms in the Canadian Rockies also provide access to Canmore's only movie theatre where Solara guests enjoy complimentary movies. In 2017 the pool area was renovated and now offers Canmore's largest hot tub. The attached One Wellness Spa offers massage and complimetary gym access to guests. Book on the property's own official website to avoid any disappointments and to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing