We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stay for all Canmore Travellers”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Stay for all Canmore Travellers”
Reviewed November 29, 2008

I attended a Christmas Party at the Georgetown Inn and had a wonderful experience.

The great experience began with Candice at the front desk. She was chipper and genuinely made us feel welcomed. When we got to our room, it was fantastic. Our room contained a King sized bed, a fireplace, a television, a couple of cushy chairs, a bathroom with a shower and a huge, 2 person jet tub. The tub was in the main room, not the bathroom and looked incredible. Unfortunately, due to time constraints, I didn't have a chance to use the tub, but I plan on taking a trip back for that purpose.

The meal for our party was excellent. We started with a cream of asparagus soup and even as a non-cream soup liking person I found this one pretty good. A salad followed with a wonderful pomegranate vinaigrette and the main course was excellent. We had our choice between prime rib and turkey. I chose the prime rib and it was cooked to perfection. Additionally, the waitresses serving us were great.

From the entire stay I only have 2 small complaints: the hot water for tea was lukewarm at best and when I showered in the morning there was little water pressure. I assume this had to do with a number of people showering in the hotel at the same time as my fiancee had a shower the evening before and he said the water pressure was fine.

  • Liked — Almost Everything
  • Disliked — Luke warm water for tea
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintlyhellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    132
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
68
307
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a getaway weekend. We stayed on the third floor in one of the Victoria suites. Nice setup with vaulted ceilings, a double Jacuzzi tub, sitting room area with a fire place and King size bed. Also a fridge to store our drinks etc. They also provide a corkscrew and two wine glasses so that you are able to enjoy your own wine in your room if you choose. We found a great wine merchant on the High street (8th Ave) that had a good selection and a knowledgeable owner who helped us pick an excellent wine.
We ate in the Pub and the food was very good. Nice quiet atmosphere with traditional English decor mixed with local pieces.
Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with a selection of cereals, yogurt, quiche, scones, pastries and fruit all included with the room. A step above most continental breakfasts we have experienced at various hotels.

  • Liked — room, pub
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Stayed in the Victoria room great deal included a what they called continental breakfast. It included smoked salmon, and mini quiches. Also available for 5 or 6 dollars were somewhat exotic omlettes with you choice of ingredients, including smoked gouda, shirmp, smoked salmon, caramilized onions, etc. Staff was very courtious. Had dinner in the english style pub twice, once fish and chips, and other steak and guiness pie. Rooms were both large stayed in Victoria one night and I believe edward the next night both were excellent. Victoria had larger two person jacuzzi tub. Both rooms were furnished with different antiques. If you have any questions feel free to ask.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Train noise (only on one side of hotel)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We spent 3 nights at the inn and were more then sattisfied with every aspect of the inn.
Staff were very pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank railson_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We stayed here for a Friday night recently. It was a super last minute thing as we were meant to stay in Radium Hot Springs, but were sick of driving. The front desk staff was fantastic. Our room had a king size bed, and a separate sitting area with a couch and a TV. The room was decorated nicely and was extremely clean. I was a little worried about the noise, as it is close to the train tracks, but it really wasn't an issue. The breakfast was fairly unremarkable, but we did show up at 9:45 when it closes at 10 (perhaps this had something to do with it). The waitress did her best to avoid all eye contact and certainly did not speak to us. When another couple arrived after us she basically barked at them that they better take what the want because she was packing it up. Overall I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank CD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We stayed two separate nights here in different rooms. The first was the Albert. This room faced the road and train tracks and was a little noisy (though had a better view of the mountains). It had a small sitting area with TV and small kitchenette type set up. The bed was on the other side - you couldn't see the TV from the bed if that matters to you. The 2nd room was the Elizabeth and was a little smaller, though somehow it felt bigger - more space to put our bags and a smaller bed I guess. This one faced the parking lot so it seemed a little quieter. The trains go by pretty regularly here so if you are a light sleeper you might want ear plugs. The rooms were both clean and well-appointed. The breakfast was VERY generous and yummy. Way better than your average hotel breakfast. They even had smoked salmon, and my husband loved the pastries. And for us yanks with a bad exchange rate in high season having a meal included was a big deal. The pub downstairs is a nice feature, though pretty quiet. We're glad we stayed in Canmore, it was much cheaper and not far at all to Banff.

  • Liked — Huge delicious breakfast
  • Disliked — Trains at night
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank girlygirl8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed here on a wonderful trip to Canada in Sept. The room was very clean, the staff was very nice and friendly, the breakfast was delicious, and the price was reasonable considering that every place in this part of Canada is overpriced. Overall we were quite pleased and definitely would stay here again.

  • Liked — Quaint
  • Disliked — Reastaurant not always open
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Property: Georgetown Inn
Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing