We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrified.”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived with so much excitement and it quickly declined. It was frightening. We were taken to a room about 2 feet behind reception desk, so close that when I walked out of my room I was face to face with the receptionist. It seemed like Grandma's house....except Grandma had been passed away for many years and hadn't cleaned or changed anything in that time. We left as soon as possible. I am amazed the price was so high, even more amazed that people leave great reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your input about our cosy inn......we are sorry tohear that it was differetn than you expected. If you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me judy@waymarker.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Georgetown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 523 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed two nights here for a birthday get away. Loved it. The suite was very nice with a huge comfortable bed, and a sitting room with a fireplace and a corner spa tub in an alcove so you could sit in the tub and watch the fire. We ate at the English style pub for two dinners and two breakfasts and enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. There were also little extras, like a tea tray and (because they knew it was my birthday) some chocolate covered strawberries. For a romantic getaway or just a nice place to stay in Canmore I would definitely recommend the Georgetown Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are honoured that you stayed with us for your birthday and are so tickled that your enjoyed it. We love doing these small extra touches so our guests feel at home and pampered especially on such an important day for you. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cute hotel and pub not a chain atmosphere in a good location in downtown. We stayed one night in the Georgetown Inn in a king bed room. They have only rooms with one queen bed or 1 king bed so not really condusive to sharing friends only couples. While the bedding was nice the room was not particularly appealing. Dirty light switches and bathroom doors. Scuffed dressers gungy looking floors. The hotel was not full but they put us right over the door of the back entrance that slammed when someone entered or left and we had the most expensive room in the place so that was not appreciated with people coming and going after midnight.The pub below is ok nice atmosphere with what tasted like premade meals. The lobby and common areas are dirty and dark. For 189.00 you can do better in Canmore even the holiday inn has much cleaner standards. Look around before you book.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10000elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ever since we moved to Canada, we've been looking for a getaway location to match the little bed and breakfast in the English Lake District that we visited two or three times every year. Finally we think we have found it. The Georgetown Inn is small but cozy, and the rooms are very well appointed. The bar and restaurant are excellent - we particularly enjoyed the French toast for breakfast.

I should add that due to a technical problem, the room we had booked was not available on the night. The staff went out of their way to resolve this for us and to compensate us for the disappointment, and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zantesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and apologies for any mix ups.....we are glad that we could resolve your issues right away . Thank you for your patience!!!! We hope to see you again very soon!!!! Thanks so much for your kind words.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Need some inspiration for your vacation? This is definitely a place with some character. Antique items fill the lobby and old movie posters hang the walls. There is even an interesting pub that makes the most incredible Guinness steak pie...OMG I don't even like gravy normally, but you have to try this. The rooms have been recently updated and look really nice, they finally have flat screens. The cleaning staff outdid themselves. We come here twice a year for a girls’ scrapbooking retreat and typically get great service and accommodation.

This time was mostly good, but there's a bit of a downside. Dorian is usually an angel by making sure that the food service is extra special, but unfortunately, he fell a little behind this time. It appeared the staff were busy and overworked, being expected to work split shifts and to move from site to site. It is possible that they were short staffed, but overall the food service was pretty disorganized and inconsistent. Most of the time, we had to flag someone down to serve us and we ended waiting almost an hour for one of our breakfasts, which wasn't that great once it arrived. I don't like to be a complainer, but we drop quite a bit of dough at the property when we come to these things and deserve better than this. I wonder if someone can move Dorian over to the front desk side and have Annik sort things out over in the pub. Nevertheless, it is a cool pub, lots of locals go there, which is a great sign.

Now there is something you should know about this hotel. If you are a person who has particular tastes and cannot let things slide, you should not visit. It's very laid back here. Sometimes I wonder if the place is haunted. As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff leave you alone at night and its a bit of a complicated, confusing process to let yourself back in if you leave the premises late at night. Additionally, locking the scrapbook room is an interesting experience. This is what I like about the place though so I don't think it should change. Overall, great minus the food part.

Room Tip: Talk to Boz
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunseekerinCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had 2 lovely nights at Georgetown Inn in Canmore. Room was comfortable yet small. It was a nice surprise to have a gas fireplace. Restaurant served large and tasty meals, especially the Full English Breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for staying with us!!! Glas to hear that you enjoyed your two nights with us and tried the traditional english breakfast!!! Hope to see you again very soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had an opportunity to visit here on our getaway weekend from the city, very quaint and certainly charming which is exactly what we were looking for. The suite we had made us feel at home the minute we entered. It did not feel like a hotel or commercial place at all. As soon as you walk in, you go back in time a bit. The staff was great, French Toast with Berries capped off the next morning perfectly. Strongly suggest you get away to this romantic and quiet spot at least once. If you live in Calgary or the area, this is a gem in your own back yard.
The Georgetown Inn has certainly earned its "Charming Inns of Alberta" designation in our mind.
B&C

Room Tip: Get a suite and relax
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BD0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our charming inn.....we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.....you should check out our new Date Night in the Pub package!!!! You will love it!! Hope to see you both back again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $139 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing