We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Canmore”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still the best in Canmore”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at this inn 6 years ago for our honeymoon and was so happy to see the hotel and staff were just as amazing now as 6 years ago. I would say to anyone who is looking for a really comfortable friendly place to stay this is one of the best. It's not a huge hotel so the service you receive is more personal.
Thank you Georgetown Inn.

Lorrie & John

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    136
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
72
316
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent one night at the Georgetown Inn in early March. We were warmly greeted, and the room was clean - the bed extremely comfortable. It was a mini-suite actually, with electric fireplace and lounge area. The facility has a pub/restauarant but closes early enough that sleep is not disturbed. We ate brunch the following morning - excellent and very good pricing. Parkling is a bit of a premium,.as the pub is busy - but staff were very accomodating - so no inconvenience to us. Prioperty is well located and staff very pleasant. It has anice "homey" feel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the outdoor patio - nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimberTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We are British Canadians who live in Edmonton Alberta. We adore the mountains and decided on Canmore for this trip and as it was my husbands birthday, I booked this Inn due to the British menu and I am very pleased I did! Booking was via email/internet and my questions were answered quickly. On arrival we were quickly checked in with very friendly and personal service. We ate supper in the bar and my goodness! The beef and yorkshire puddings were worthy of the English Yorkshire dales and the shepherds pie was absolutely amazing. Our room was lovely and comfortable with a British feel (the whole place has). We ate breakfast in the bar the next morning, I had the omelette and my husband and daughter had sausage, bacon and egg - amazing - all of it! Katie, a member of the restaurant team was fabulous, friendly, positive and very attentive to our daughter Katie who is still raving about Katie E! Katie made us feel so comfortable and at home, as did every other member of the Georgetown Inn team that we will be back! It situated outside of the downtown but not more than 10 minutes walk. 10-15 minutes away is the rec centre if you want to go for a swim (the new one will be built in 2012 and will be 5 mins away!!).

Back to the Georgetown! We watched a football/soccer match in the TV room and had great service and once again, Katie E entertained our Katie J! We went for a siesta after the game (Barcelona won) and came back for supper! We had the beef in guiness pie and oh my God! Amazing!!!!!!!!!! The weather was mild so we had a few more drinks on the patio with lovely views and our daughter entertained us with yoga and dancing!! Retired to our lovely comfy beds refreshed for the next day. Had breakfast again and left without haste for some more adventures and then back home to Edmonton.

If you visit (which I recommend), visit the 1st floor corridoor where you will see pictures and text with regard to movies which have happened in and around the rocky mountains! Very interesting for sure.

We will be back and we cannnot wait!!! Thank you to all at The Georgetown Inn, we had a fabulous time.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthiesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed at the Georgetown because of it's association with the Charming Inns of Alberta. I found my room very clean, tidy and very spacious. King size bed was comfortable and I enjoyed a very quiet and peaceful sleep. Breakfast was tasty. All staff members that I encountered were friendly and efficient. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised at the friendliness and team work that we experienced during our stay. Instead of a "hotel" feeling, we had a "home" feeling with both the accommodations and all of the staff. During the few days of our stay, we felt we were already getting to know the staff and enjoyed their company. Food was also great. I had probably the best steak sandwich I have had in a very long time.

Keep up the good work, and keep working together.

Room Tip: East side of the buiding - Train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2011

we chose to stay here because it was listed in a little book of Charming Inns of Alberta. We found it OK, decent value price-wise but the housekeeping let the place down severely and it certanly was not charming. Our room was dirty on arrival and we had to ask for it to be vacuumed, along with the communal stairs and landings which appeared not to have been cleaned for weeks. Staff were helpful and responsive to our complaints but the cleaning remained poor. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmb085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, General Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor. I am very sorry that we did not address your concerns at the moment you found the dish piece in your dinner. I would love to be able to make this up to you. My guests are so important to me and I want you to know that you did not experience our normal level of service.

I have done some discovery on what happened to ensure that if something similar in the future were to happen it is better addressed. The back of house learned of what happen and the correct procedures were followed by our chef. He immediately removed the Veggie curry and remade the batch. He discovered that it was a piece of the plastic lid had broken off into the portion that was being used for dinner service that night. Thank goodness you found it and were not harmed.

The true lack of caring and service you received is unacceptable. The server was given instructions by the duty manager to remove the meal. She is a new staff member and did not follow thru with her instructions. In addition, the duty manager should have came to the table directly. I was very disappointed to hear how your situation was mishandled.

Thank you agian for this very valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed over at Georgetown on a groupon deal which made the value received reasonable. Had a bad experience in the Miner's Lamp restaurant in the Georgetown that left a bad taste for the venue. My partner found a piece of broken glass in her vegetarian curry (likely a piece of a broken plate) and was very disturbed and obviously couldn't eat the dish. Apologies were extended by a server working her second shift but I needed to request that the price of the curry be taken off the bill and no manager/chef made an effort to remedy the issue. Two other parties, at adjoining tables, had issues with their meals so it would seem that a food service manager is needed here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Property: Georgetown Inn
Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing