We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was good but the room had a very bad smell”
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bow Valley Motel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Generally the place was good; very good location in Canmore, basic but clean room, bathroom. The kitchen was very nice. Free internet was nice too.

But the room STANK! The stink was as if someone had cooked and the stale cooking smell had just permeated into everything in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocket_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVMBREEZE, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Hello,

Thank you for staying at Canmore's Bow Valley Motel. We appreciate your feedback and your candid comments. We are sorry to hear that your kitchenette had a cooking odor. Our housekeepers must have missed placing the air cleaner (ecologizer) in your room after a previous occupants prepared a particularly odorous meal. Feel free to inform us of situations after you check into the room and we would have been happy to move you to another or made our best effort to purify the air.

We hope to welcome you to the Bow Valley Motel again and apologize if the odor had a negative effect for you stay.

Warm regards,
Cayley
Manager/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 257 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

We booked the "large kitchen" unit, which had a double bedroom with TV, a well equipped kitchen, and dining area and a small but comfortable sitting area with new Ikea chairs, TV and a pull-down Murphy bed. All windows had lovely mountain views. My husband and I slept very well in the bedroom and our grown son on the Murphy bed. The location right downtown on Main Street was perfect and we had no problems with noise. There are walking or biking trails along the river right outside the motel. A great place to stay if you enjoy self-catering and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine_pettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Easy to find off the highway. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at the Bow Valley Motel with traveling through the the Okanagan after finding it on TripAdvisor. It was exactly how most of the other reviews described it; a clean, well priced motel in Canmore.

Yes, as some have "complained", the motel was dated looking. It wasn't up to the current motel fashions, but the cleanliness and condition of the rooms more than made up for it. I would much prefer to stay at a place which maintained their motel in this condition, than any of the larger chains that need to keep updating their decor because it falls into disrepair so quickly.

The attendant and the desk was friendly, helpful, and recommended a great local place for breakfast. Although we were just passing through Canmore, and stayed only one night, we would definitely return for an extended visit.

Using the CAA discount we found their price exceptionally competitive, and with free wireless internet was an exceptional value.

I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone looking for a clean, well maintained motel in a beautiful mountain location. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful.
Request a microwave, iron and ironing board if you need them. They may be available.
Ask for a top floor room for a quieter sleep (no one walking in the room above to disturb you in the morning), but you will need to be able to climb outside stairs to get to your room.
We were disturbed by noise from people chatting loudly and yahooing on the sidewalk around 1 - 2 pm on a weekend night.
Unfortunately the hot tub was not available when we used this motel which was disappointing.
This hotel is somewhat older, but offers reasonable rates. The rooms are clean although the furnishings are old style. The beds are very comfortable,

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seetheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This motel was a great find when we couldn't get reasonably priced accommodation in Banff, this is the best value we have had in a 3 week trip through the rockies. Why stay in Banff when it is a short drive along the road. Units are very clean & well equiped and staff were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This little motel was one of the few motels/hotels that was NOT near or next to the train tracks, which is a big plus for parents on a break from the kids.
It was fabulous walking to all of the great Canmore restaurants and to be able to leave the car behind, have a few drinks and come back to a good night's sleep. As we were on a "night off" without the kids... but didn't want to go over-board on the wallet, this was a great little retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.3 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Address: 610 Main St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It plans to reopen once the makeover is complete. Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing