We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Super clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bow Valley Motel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Super clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

You don't notice that some of the furniture is dated because everything is spotless, and there is a flat-screen on the wall. We had room 42 on the top floor so we had no issues with noise. Front desk closes at 11:00 PM.
Friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank is1groovygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
121
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed our last night in the Rockies here and wondered why we had never come to Canmore before. We had a nice room on the second floor with a fridge and stovetop. The view of the mountains was amazing. Canmore is beautiful and we enjoyed walking the main street and visiting various shops and galleries (and seeing Jason Carter's sculptures and paintings). The town is much quieter and cheaper than Banff and just as beautiful. There were lots of good places to eat near the motel, including the great Gaucho's Brazilian Barbecue. There is also a very nice boardwalk trail close to the motel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We chose this hotel for location and price. We were visiting our daughter who is living in Canmore for the summer, and wanted to be within easy walking distance of downtown Canmore's shops and restaurants, in an inexpensive hotel. The Bow Valley Motel was great on both these counts! Although not "fancy", and the furniture was not the newest or most stylish, everything was in good repair and the room was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in - kudos to the staff!

I phoned to make the reservation, and the woman who assisted me was friendly and helpful. A young woman checked us in, also friendly and helpful. She offered me the choice of two rooms, saying that the second floor one we had requested might be a bit noisy because of its proximity to the street. We walked up and listened, and decided it would be just fine, especially at night once traffic lessened - and we were right; street noise was not a problem at all. There was some noise on the stairs and in the hallway outside our room on the second night of our stay as some rather "boisterous" guests returned to the hotel after a night out, but that was short-lived.

The room was not terribly large, but served the two of us well. We liked having a large screened window at the front and a smaller one in the bathroom for fresh air, and the lovely view of Ha Ling and other peaks out front was a nice bonus. There was a small air conditioning unit, but the weather was not terribly warm when we were there, and we never needed it.

The room had a fridge, and a small table and chairs was provided, as well as a more comfy chair for watching TV. My husband appreciated the big, flatscreen TV. The free WiFi was pretty fast most of the time. The bathroom was small, but well maintained and absolutely spotless. Some of the towels were a bit frayed at the edges, but otherwise in decent shape.

Free parking was provided just outside our room.

When checking out, we made another reservation for next month's visit. See you again soon, Canmore!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krp329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night whilst driving from Vancouver to Calgary. I was worried before we left England that the floods may have put our stay in jeopardy, however a quick email reassured us that the motel had not been touched, despite being so close to the river.

The motel itself is very clean and welcoming and our room had a full kitchen, separate bedroom, pull down bed in the lounge area, a rocking chair, footstool, armchair, dining table and chairs.

Canmore is a very pretty little town with mountains as a backdrop. I would definitely recommend the Bow Valley Motel.



It suited us very well for a short stay in Canmore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeicestershireKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

this was a very pleasant stay. the price was affordable and the rooms fairly average .. i would not hesitate to stay here again. it was located in walking distance to all the attractions f down town and about 1/2 hour from banff. easy to get to from the hiway.. only complaint was no ice machine ..

Room Tip: no pool so if you have kids keep that in mind second floor has no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Simple, basic motel but really welcoming. Very helpful staff (let me phone Hertz for free from the desk when I had a problem) Rooms are nothing special but have all you need and are really clean. Right in the heart of the town on a lovely high street with mountains all around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeastOfSnakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolligen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in Canmore. Banff NP is very close, so the location is ideal for day visits in this area.
Friendliness of the staff and the room was very good, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose this motel again for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSR3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Property: Bow Valley Motel
Address: 610 Main St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing