We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bow Valley Motel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This motel is clean, fairly priced, and in a fantastic location. Booking a room with a kitchenette allowed us to cook our own meals, which is a penny-saver in Canmore. The room was comfortable and the staff nice. The location is what's best...close to downtown, grocery stores, and two doors down from The Grizzly Paw--a great local brewery. Money saved cooking our own meals went to a few pints each night followed by a brief, but freezing walk back to the motel. Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank insearchofamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    80
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
105
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What lovely and quaint motel. It was like staying in a time capsule. You were immediately transported back to the 1980s in this great little Motel. It was super clean and in a great location on Main Street Canmore. Waliking distance to a variety of restaurants, pubs and shopping. The lady behind the reception desk was very friendly and helpful.

The room was well appointed for a Motel. Nice new Flat Screen TV, Coffee maker, Fridge. The bed was comfortable and the motel was quiet which made it easy to have a good restful sleep.

The price was just like being in the eighties as well. Great value!! I will be back to visit the Bow Valley Motel the next time we go to Canmore for the weekend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the door faces south and you get a fabulous view of the three sisters mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaggy90506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is your average hotel, but the location can't be beat! It is right along the "main drag" in Canmore, everything (shops, pubs, eateries) is in walking distance! Lots of parking is available and included in the price. I would definitely stay again and would also recommend to anyone (families, couples, solo travelers). It is not for someone wanting a luxury stay - very basic and outdated however clean and convenient. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. I would suggest an upstairs room if you plan to sleep in - the walls are quite thin and I woke early when vehciles started up outside my room. I am a very light sleeper, however. I also woke in the middle of the night when the guys staying beside me arrived back at 3am.

Room Tip: Stay in a room upstairs if you are a light sleeper and don't plan to be up when others are leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaperJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This motel is a good value for the money and is located just down the street from the downtown shopping district and approximately 3 blocks from a shopping mall with a large grocery store. It has a fridge and coffee maker in the room, room was clean, and we had an amazing view from our front window of amazing mountain peaks.

Room Tip: ask for one on the second floor for a view...however watch the stairs for ice in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a decent motel in the heart of Canmore.
If you're not expecting much you won't be dissapointed, the furniture is old but functional, the bathroom clean, the room clean by motel standards :)
They have this huge flat screen TV in the room, the only reason i'm mentioning it it's because they placed it at 90degrees angle from the bed/sofa, so impossible to watch.
Very good value for money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DDumitru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As everyone knows travel in Canada can be pretty costly. We were doing a road trip in Canada this summer and found the Bow Motel in Canmore, Alberta to be a really good choice for a place to stay while we were in the Banff area. Banff is much more expensive and is only a few miles away. The town of Canmore is really nice with lots of good restaurants and plenty of shops to visit. This motel is perfectly located for walking and has a laundry mat right out front. The people were very helpful, rates were good and we found it to be one of our best catches of our entire trip and we were on the road for over 5 weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were so pleased with our recent weekend stay at the Bow Valley Motel. We rented the large housekeeping unit with the Murphy bed in the living room. We were thrilled it was so handy to town and also the walkway. We managed to cook our Thanksgiving dinner in the unit. Only thing required was oven pan, foil wrap and Saran Wrap. I would highly recommend this Motel to anyone who needs a getaway from the city for a good price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petuniatokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Property: Bow Valley Motel
Address: 610 Main St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing