We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great family Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bow Valley Motel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great family Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were so pleased with our recent weekend stay at the Bow Valley Motel. We rented the large housekeeping unit with the Murphy bed in the living room. We were thrilled it was so handy to town and also the walkway. We managed to cook our Thanksgiving dinner in the unit. Only thing required was oven pan, foil wrap and Saran Wrap. I would highly recommend this Motel to anyone who needs a getaway from the city for a good price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petuniatokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
125
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This is an ok place for a few nights in the area. We stayed in a queen suite. The bedroom and bathroom were smart, clean and tidy. The kitchen was fully equipped even if the cutlery was a bit mix and match. Overall the kitchen and living area were functional but a bit tired. Flat screen TVs in lounge and bedroom. Situation in Canmore spot on, quiet, fab views of mountains and close to the main shopping area. Canmore itself is a pleasant town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I needed to get away for at least one night last weekend, and I booked us here. I am so very glad I did - this motel is in the heart of downtown Canmore, and it is very well run.

Friendly staff, excellent location to be able to walk to all amenities, and clean rooms make this a place to stay for any budget.

The check-in process was very smooth and friendly, and we were in our room within minutes.

The room itself was a standard queen room with a kitchenette - this kitchenette was bigger than most apartments I have been in! Wow! The decor is what may be expected of a country motel, a little dark, but my girlfriend and I were very comfortable and cozy here.

There was a flat-screen tv as well as a small desk, where I used the motel wi-fi on my tablet to get some work done before bed. Smooth wi-fi network as well, and was very happy.

Went next door (literally) to the grizzly restaurant/bar for evening meal, and liked that we could get a drink and not worry about who may drive home... we are social drinkers, but feel strongly about not drinking and driving, so our room location made it easy to not worry and have a fun night.

Our sleep was a sound one, but me being an avid photographer I rose at around 6 am to go and get my location on for some morning sunrise shots.... Needless to say, I was extremely pleased with my results around Spray Lakes Road among the mountains surrounding Canmore.

Even the shower and bathroom facilities in the room was great!

On the Sunday morning during our packing, my girlfriend noticed she needed a safety pin for something, and we did not pack any such things, so I went to the front desk on the off chance that they may have one. After a few minutes of searching, they found 2 different sizes for us! This may not sound like much, but to me, it can be the little things that can make or break your experience, and this was one of the little things that make you smile and appreciate the great staff that this motel has!

Our stay was very quiet, and we would definitely recommend this motel to anyone staying in Canmore!

Thank you to all the staff (morning and night) for your hospitality, we will see you again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. Family run motel and staff were courteous and helpful. The room was very clean, we had what we needed and felt at home here. The motel is in a good location on the main street opposite a picturesque wooden church. Value for money motel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IncogNia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

So we found this little motel on Main street in Canmore and just loved our stay. Canmore and more so Banff, is very expensive so we felt we got our money's worth. Which most of the reviews mention as well. We paid $110.00 for a standard room, with nice flat screen TV, comfy bed, fridge, coffee and full bathroom. I've stayed in Airdrie and Calgary a couple times and you'll pay $159.00+ for the same room type and in Banff even more. You will not get the amazing location this motel has and personal service. We checked rates at other properties in Canmore as we drove in and these guys were $20 (or more!) less than all of them. Their front desk staff is amazing with suggestions. Yes, their property is a little more dated in decor but functionality is the same.

You can't beat their location because you can walk to EVERYTHING! We were recommend great restaurants to try all very close.

Great price, great location, great staff! These guys can't be beat in Canmore! We will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Upper levels offer no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Trout Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We first tried to book into a hotel in Banff. They were full, and/or expensive.
We then tried Canmore... I am glad we did. It is not far from Banff. Better prices, lots of shopping and restaurants.
The Bow Valley Motel has an excellent location, and ample parking. It was quiet at night. Good WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Given the price we paid I really can't rate this higher than a three. Not that we had a bad stay. The room was a decent size, had a good bed, AC that worked and was clean. For the rest it was nothing special. Pillows were a little flumpy, you could hear water running in adjacent suites, street noise and people walking on the stairs and upper level walkway. If you are a light sleeper like me that will keep you awake. Also there is no breakfast offering at all. For $110 + tax I was hoping for more,

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WingNutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your candid review of our property. We pride ourselves on being an excellent value for your money. We are sorry to hear you didn't feel this when staying at our property. Typically June-September is considered high season here in the mountains. We find our rates to be very competitive and are some of the lowest in the Banff / Canmore area, especially when you take in consideration you are right downtown in the heart of it all. I am sure if you compared your stay with us against some of the other properties in the valley you would see we are very reasonably priced and a great value when visiting the mountains.

We are a small family owned and operated business , we constantly do updates to help maintain our property but it can come with some older plumbing. Unfortunately we do not offer breakfast as we are within walking distance of over a dozen eateries and do not have space on site for a breakfast room.

We hope to welcome you again,

Anastasia Breeze
Manager
Bow Valley Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Property: Bow Valley Motel
Address: 610 Main St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing