We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond the call of duty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Nottingham
1 review
“Above and beyond the call of duty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

This was the best B&B we stayed in on our trip to the Rockies. We visited a lot of the number 1 trip advisor B&Bs on our 2 week holiday (which were all lovely) but this one was the best by far. Sue and Dave provided us with all that we could possibly have needed to get the most from our time in Canmore including snow shoes, cross country skis, boots and even their jackets! The breakfasts were ace and left overs packed up kept us going for the whole day (not once did we buy lunch). The hot tub was great and their advice on things to do was excellent. Thank you so much for a wonderful 3 days!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1continent2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
131
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

We just have to add our comments about the Ambleside B & B.
What a fantastic weekend we just enjoyed there. Sue and Dave are the friendliest of hosts.
The breakfasts were scrumptious, the tourist information was very helpful, the home was relaxing and provided us with a handy base for visiting Canmore and the Rockies. Thank you Sue and Dave for everything!

  • Liked — The hosts, Dave and Sue
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kamloopser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

What an extraordinary place!! We stayed with Sue and Dave two nights, and wished we could have stayed a week. This is one of the most welcoming places we've ever stayed -- the hosts are warm and friendly, the rooms are immaculate and bright (the chocolates in the room were a treat :) and the common areas are comfy. On top of that, the breakfasts were delicious!!! Eggs Bennie, home baked muffins and scones, wonderfully prepared fruit ... delightful surprises with each course! Sue definitely cares about making her guests feel special. We both highly recommend Ambleside Lodge -- we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the breakfasts and hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cidquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Susie and David are the best. We were "part of the family" for five days and loved it. The hot tub out back is a big plus. Just a short walk to town and a beautiful river and picnic tables. Only improvement would be the addition of a strong exhaust fan because of an in-room bath and lack of air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrianOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Our six-night stay with Sue and Dave Booth at their beautiful Ambleside Lodge was like staying with the most hospitable of friends. The bedroom/bathroom were clean, comfy, and quiet. Although beautiful music abounds in the two-story lounge, once the bedroom door was closed, we heard nothing. But in the mornings, the aroma of freshly baked scones or muffins managed to creep under the door and whet our appetites. Breakfast is a grand affair at Ambleside and Sue is an accomplished cook. Dave is a veteran hiking guide and knows Banff National Park (and surrounding areas) like the back of his hand. He was most helpful in suggesting doable itineraries for us each day.

The lodge itself is in a beautiful setting, surrounded by gorgeous mountains, including the famous Three Sisters. Set in the lovely town of Canmore, it is about 15 miles away from the tourist-heavy town of Banff. Lake Louise is about 40 minutes away and most tourist must-sees are in comfortable driving distance. Restaurants are more accessible in Canmore and traffic is certainly lighter than in downtown Banff.

We would highly recommend Ambleside Lodge to anyone wanting to visit Banff National Park. Kudos to Sue and Dave as they are the quintessential hosts of a wonderful B&B.

Sherry and Marv, Surprise AZ

  • Disliked — Hosts and location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surprisesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

After the long flight from the UK to Calgary, it was just a pleasure to make the short journey to Canmore and find this delightful B&B. We stayed 3 nights and would have stayed longer but we had so much to more see.

Dave & Sue were very welcoming and happy to chat or just let us get on with things - we could come and go as we pleased. Dave has written out some excellent local driving tours which take the strain out finding your way around the sights. Sue's breakfasts are to die for - different every day and of such high standard it would be impossible to crticise anything.

We really loved our time there and would recommend Ambleside to ANYONE who wants to step outside the blandness of the big hotels in Banff and get a taste of real Canadian hospitality (actually they are English!) .

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Claptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Ambleside Lodge, and we can't recommend it highly enough. Sue and Dave are friendly, knowledgeable hosts who will do their best to be sure your stay exceeds your expectations.

The breakfasts are delicious, but not so heavy that you can't move until midday. If you're not a meat-eater, Sue adjusts her menus to accommodate you while still giving you a great meal.

Dave is a hiking guide, and as a result, he can recommend outdoor activities--not just hikes--that help you see the best parts of the surrounding area. If you're lucky, he might even accompany you. If you're more interested in a scenic drive or an easy hike, he and Sue can help you plan your day accordingly.

The Booths are also well-acquainted with restaurants in town and can help you find one that suits your tastes. They'll even make reservations for you, if you want them to.

We spent half of our vacation at a B&B in Banff and half at Ambleside, and though our other B&B was very nice, if we had it to do over again, we'd spend the whole time at Ambleside. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The hosts and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
1.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
1.0 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.2 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 123 Rundle Cres, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Lodge Bed And Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing