We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely place to stay and Canmore is in my opinion much nicer than Banff (if your middle aged) so much quieter,the Ambleside is very well run by Dave & Sue,great advice and help from Dave (sorry for nicking your maps,hope you got them back) and a fantastic breakfast from Sue,immaculately clean and very comfortable,highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyEvs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
124
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed staying here very much. Only had one night in Canmore and wished we could have stayed longer.
Sue and Dave are great hosts, very friendly and helpful. The house is magnificent and extremely well located. Its a short walk to the main part of town where the shops and restaurants are located.
We had the CPR room and it was very comfortable (bed was great). Everything in the room was spotless.
Sue prepared a wonderful breakfast. We had a choice of three and as we were the only guests there that morning she made my wife and I each a separate one. We had smoked salmon with scrambled egg on a croissant and mushrooms on toast with a poached egg. We each had a nice fruit cup of fresh berries. Breakfast also included Sue's homemade muffins - we took two to go for the road. The other breakfast choice was eggs benedict which we did not have.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The CPR room has two nice chairs for sitting. The bathroom is quite small and right inside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hosts in Sue & Dave,brilliant hospitality and breakfasts second to none,such a clean & friendly place to stay,Dave was first class at providing detailed itineraries for us,with easy to follow directions and interesting footnotes on what we were seeing,made it so much easier for us as first time visitors to this area.I've mentioned the fabulous breakfasts but I'd also like to mention the great chat's we had over breakfast and we don't blame Dave one iota for popping back in to sample more so Sue's muffins :-)
Highly Recommend for a stay in this area and we think Canmore a much quieter,friendly town than Banff

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cmoncymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If your looking for a pleasant stay, with a good location and great people I'd highly recommend Ableside Lodge! The breakfasts cooked were magnificant! We were lucky enough to be staying there without other guests and had wonderful conversations with the owners! Very interesting people, well worth your time to get to know them. If we ever stay in Canmore again without hesitation this is where we are going!

Room Tip: The wilderness room is slightly smaller than the rest that I am aware of however for a couple its su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckethead82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful home set in a stunning location. B & B is spotlessly clean with large guest lounge with soft music playing in the back ground. Sue was helpful in suggesting local restaurants and the walk to town was close and scenic. Breakfast was fabulous - Eggs Benedict and homemade muffins. Sue packed muffins-to-go which sure came in handy later. She joined us for breakfast and had an enjoyable conversation about Canmore and Scotland. We regretted to leave and hope to be back again at Ambleside Lodge to spend more time in this beautiful area and enjoy Sue and Dave's company.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-light09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is quite simple - we keep coming back. Both food and accommodation as well as a very warm welcome, we love it here. Sue does a fantastic breakfast and Dave is a well informed and experienced mountain guide, perfect for snow shoeing, where to go to see wildlife and generally get the most out of your visit. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay. I cannot praise it highly enough.
We were welcomed and looked after all week. The breakfasts were stunning and the house is beautiful. We chose this as the location for the first week of our honeymoon and we will always remember it fondly.
We were treated to mountain walks and disc golf by Dave which I can highly recommend.
Go there, really, it's a must!
Can't wait to come back!
Gary and Catherine

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyowales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
1.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
1.0 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
5.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 123 Rundle Cres, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Lodge Bed And Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing