We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second stay at Ambleside, having visited 6 years previously. It was just as enjoyable as our first trip and Dave set out a great drive into Kannaskis for us - never saw the moose but did get to almost shake hands (paws) with a big grizzly. Great food and we can recommend this as a place to stay when in the Banff / Canmore area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NerysClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have travelled all around the world and stayed at many bed and breakfasts, Ambleside Lodge has made it to my top 3. My sister and I were planning a little getaway together and found this b&b on the internet, it turned out to be everything we expected and more! The ambiance is warm and welcoming, the views breathtaking, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are just wonderful! Sue and Dave are wonderful hosts, it is very easy to just sit back with a glass of wine or a cup of hot chocolate and get caught up in a conversation. There is plenty to do in Canmore and Banf, if you didn't do your research before arriving no worries, whether it is where to go, what to do, what to see, where to eat......just ask Sue or Dave!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The title says it all! The 3 course breakfasts were stunning to look at and tasted even better! And if we couldn't manage the third course we were provided with a packed treat to savour during the day. Sue and Dave are lovely, genuinely warm people who share their home and their knowldege of the area with grace and generosity. I would not hesitate in recommending Ambleside Lodge and congratulate them on making our first few days very enjoyable indeed.

Room Tip: Both Wilderness and CPR are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthumberlandJulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice B&B, lovely hosts, clean & comfortable room. Breakfast was wonderful, with the homemade scones & muffins to take away if you didn't have room after the other two courses. Dave was particularly helpful with his itinerarys of all the best to see in & around Canmore & Banff National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnylover1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Ambleside Lodge was our first B&B during our holiday in Canada and we were spoiled from the beginning!

Sue's breakfasts were amazing and extremely delicious! It’s no punishment to wake up with the smell of fresh scones and muffins in the morning…

Our room (CPR) was very convenient and clean. We felt right at home, as well in our room as in the entire B&B.

Sue and Dave are terrific hosts; they provided us with loads of suggestions and even a Dutch route description for sightseeing in the neighbourhood. We also could borrow towels for our visit to the hot springs.

The location is also perfect; Canmore is a cosy town, located at walking distance from the lodge and nearby Banff.

We certainly can recommend this B&B to everyone and will definitely come back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've stayed in many B&Bs and the quality can vary greatly from one to the next. Ambleside Lodge was one of the best I have experienced. The location, within walking distance of downtown Canmore, was great. The house itself is beautiful and the room (Wilderness) was exceptionally clean and cozy. There were two fans and the breeze from the bathroom windows kept the temperature very comfortable. The room had all the small touches, right down to the little chocolates and the small in-room fridge. Sue and Dave are excellent hosts. We had booked with Ambleside after e-mailing around to see if someone could help us arrange our transportation to/from two different trailheads for our thru-hike to Mt. Assiniboine. I probably should have looked more closely on the map because I had no idea just how far apart the two trailheads were! Dave and Sue helped us park our car at Mt. Shark trailhead and then drove us back to the B&B, which turned out to be a TWO HOUR affair. Dave then drove us the next morning to Sunshine trailhead, which was another 20 minutes or so from Canmore. Needless to say, it was a huge help to us and was certainly beyond a) what we anticipated and b) what any B&B host would be expected to provide. They also helped us to arrange a shuttle bus up to Sunshine Village, which we had neglected to book in advance. Dave was also a great resource for information about hiking in the area. I would also like to add that the breakfast was delicious (even the glasses on the fruit cup were rimmed with sugar) and Sue plied us with muffins and scones to take with us on our hike. A great experience and I would highly recommend Ambleside B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Canmore area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinyonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Myself and granddaughter stayed at Ambleside lodge, a and found it very clean, comfortable and cosy. Would definitely consider staying there again, if ever in the area . Sue and Dave were great hosts and made everything so easy for us.
Canmore is a very pretty town, great views. We loved every moment. Thank you Sue and Dave could not find fault at all.

Room Tip: If you want comfort, cleanliness and such good service, choose Ambleside lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.0 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,004 reviews
1.8 mi away
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
1.8 mi away
Creekside Villa
Creekside Villa
#6 of 31 in Canmore
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 123 Rundle Cres, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range: $86 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Lodge Bed And Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing