We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$436
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Resorts(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$300
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pocaterra Inn(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$340
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$316
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $306/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$331
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Silver Creek Lodge(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Georgetown Inn(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Canmore(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Canmore(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$317
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamphouse Hotel(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$285
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
170
20
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssue's breakfastsgreat hostshomemade muffinsset us up for the daymid morning snackglass screeninteresting informationrestaurant reservationsen suite facilitieshill walkingbeautiful fireplacetwo nightseasy walking distanceevery morningb and bnordic centerbanff national park
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 192 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have travelled all around the world and stayed at many bed and breakfasts, Ambleside Lodge has made it to my top 3. My sister and I were planning a little getaway together and found this b&b on the internet, it turned out to be everything we expected and more! The ambiance is warm and welcoming, the views breathtaking, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are just wonderful! Sue and Dave are wonderful hosts, it is very easy to just sit back with a glass of wine or a cup of hot chocolate and get caught up in a conversation. There is plenty to do in Canmore and Banf, if you didn't do your research before arriving no worries, whether it is where to go, what to do, what to see, where to eat......just ask Sue or Dave!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The title says it all! The 3 course breakfasts were stunning to look at and tasted even better! And if we couldn't manage the third course we were provided with a packed treat to savour during the day. Sue and Dave are lovely, genuinely warm people who share their home and their knowldege of the area with grace and generosity. I would not hesitate in recommending Ambleside Lodge and congratulate them on making our first few days very enjoyable indeed.

Room Tip: Both Wilderness and CPR are great rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthumberlandJulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice B&B, lovely hosts, clean & comfortable room. Breakfast was wonderful, with the homemade scones & muffins to take away if you didn't have room after the other two courses. Dave was particularly helpful with his itinerarys of all the best to see in & around Canmore & Banff National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnylover1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Ambleside Lodge was our first B&B during our holiday in Canada and we were spoiled from the beginning!

Sue's breakfasts were amazing and extremely delicious! It’s no punishment to wake up with the smell of fresh scones and muffins in the morning…

Our room (CPR) was very convenient and clean. We felt right at home, as well in our room as in the entire B&B.

Sue and Dave are terrific hosts; they provided us with loads of suggestions and even a Dutch route description for sightseeing in the neighbourhood. We also could borrow towels for our visit to the hot springs.

The location is also perfect; Canmore is a cosy town, located at walking distance from the lodge and nearby Banff.

We certainly can recommend this B&B to everyone and will definitely come back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've stayed in many B&Bs and the quality can vary greatly from one to the next. Ambleside Lodge was one of the best I have experienced. The location, within walking distance of downtown Canmore, was great. The house itself is beautiful and the room (Wilderness) was exceptionally clean and cozy. There were two fans and the breeze from the bathroom windows kept the temperature very comfortable. The room had all the small touches, right down to the little chocolates and the small in-room fridge. Sue and Dave are excellent hosts. We had booked with Ambleside after e-mailing around to see if someone could help us arrange our transportation to/from two different trailheads for our thru-hike to Mt. Assiniboine. I probably should have looked more closely on the map because I had no idea just how far apart the two trailheads were! Dave and Sue helped us park our car at Mt. Shark trailhead and then drove us back to the B&B, which turned out to be a TWO HOUR affair. Dave then drove us the next morning to Sunshine trailhead, which was another 20 minutes or so from Canmore. Needless to say, it was a huge help to us and was certainly beyond a) what we anticipated and b) what any B&B host would be expected to provide. They also helped us to arrange a shuttle bus up to Sunshine Village, which we had neglected to book in advance. Dave was also a great resource for information about hiking in the area. I would also like to add that the breakfast was delicious (even the glasses on the fruit cup were rimmed with sugar) and Sue plied us with muffins and scones to take with us on our hike. A great experience and I would highly recommend Ambleside B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Canmore area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinyonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews