We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, weird smell, and even smaller TV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great room if all you will do is sleep and ski/snowboard! Otherwise, wouldn't suggest it. The rooms smelled, the washroom was dirty and the light kept flickering when on, and the T.V was the size of a tablet in the living room (no TV in bedroom).
The hot tub and sauna was nice though, so like I said, great place for skiing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RMSL, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Customer,

Greetings from the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge. We are very sorry to hear about your recent unpleasant stay with us in October 2013. Offering clean and comfortable rooms is our mainstay and to hear that it was less than that is disappointing.

The Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge takes pride in offering great service and good value at an affordable price and we apologize if we fell short of this. It’s unfortunate that we were not made aware of the situation while you were here as we would have been happy to address it right away. With regards to the size of the TV in your room, it is true that we still have some rooms with smaller flat screen TV’s. However, we are moving towards larger scale televisions in all our rooms.

If you are able to contact us directly, I would be happy to discuss this with you further with the hopes that you might give the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge another try on your next visit to Canmore. You might even want to try our newly renovated standard style rooms, some of which have kitchens.

Regards,
Donna Trautman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 488 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very convenient location, comfy rooms, love the fireplace! I stay here whenever I visit Canmore and it never disappoints. The staff are friendly and quick to respond to any requests. I always get the apartment room, love being able to cook my own meals. It is sure to be clean and bright. Short walk to downtown Canmore, grocery stores or anywhere in town I need to go. And the rabbits are an added attraction when they visit outside my patio doors...: ) I recommend this place for anyone travelling with a family or by themselves, you can even get a loft bedroom!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My 2 friends and I chose this hotel because it had apartments that would give each of us our own bed - we stayed in the loft apt with 2 beds upstairs and one downstairs. The hotel is in an easy to get to location just of the Trans Canada and is an eay 10 minute walk to downtown Canmore. There are plenty of shops nearby.

The apt was very clean and had a good sized fridge and a small stove. It also had a gas fireplace, but we could never figure out how to get it turned on. The negatives were the dripping ac in the loft that required us to place a recycling container lined with a towel under it so that the carpet didn't get wet and so that the dripping noise didn't keep us up all night. The cleaning staff didn't do anything abt it when they came in (nor did we mention it to the front desk), Also, the shower is really short - I'm 5'5" and I could barely fit under it. I'm not sure how my 6'2" friend managed. The apt was also about 4-5' too narrow - getting in and out was a bit awkward with the door and the stairs.

The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful and can sell you stamps to both the US and Europe if you're in need.

Overall, it was what we were looking for and the positives outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place was ok, but nothing special. Location in Canmore made it easy to find, and was hndy or Boston Pizza across the road. Also Canmore is lightly less expensive than Banff or Lake Louise. Check in, etc was efficient. Wifi worked, but there are no frills. We had a fridge and microwave in the room, but sink for washing dishes doubled as wash hand basin. Towels clean, but not fluffy. No toiletries other than soap. But kitchen had washing up liquid and dishcloths. If you want a basic motel, this will suit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in a pet friendly room #120. We enjoyed our stay here! Just don't forget nappy pads for your dog. The cleanliness, Bed was so comfy and the shower was great! :) my only complaint was the stove coil it's sticking out not safe! needs new Teflon pans, It's nice to have cream or milk to those coffee lovers!
Yes,I will recommend it!!

Room Tip: Front of the office.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 322elizabethjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It had been a few years since we were in Canmore and have never stayed at this hotel. The price was very good and that was the reason we chose this hotel as well as the good reviews on this site. When we got into the unit we noticed right away how clean it was!! Everything we needed to cook our own meals in the unit was there. No dishwasher and a small TV was our only complaint. View from our patio door was amazing! Sitting on the couch you could see China Mans peak.
It was nice to be in walking distance to many restaurants and a couple cold beer stores. Boston Pizza is just across the street for a decent priced meal.
The hot tub is indoors but it also has a great view of the mountains.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dino#71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an enjoyable six night stay here whilst visiting the Canmore / Banff / Lake Louise area.

In some respects the facilities in our unit were a bit basic, e.g. the serving / food preparation area was small and available utensils decidedly limited. Nothing however that couldn't be put right by spending $20 at the local Safeway. The unit was looking a little tired but was otherwise perfectly clean and comfortably. The daily servicing of the room was efficient and we were never short of clean towels, soap etc.

Noisy neighbours could be a problem but whilst we were here it was never really an issue. We paid $Can 1,000 for a 6 night stay for a one bedroom apartment in September and this struck us as good value for money given the location.

Laundry facilities were excellent. We would have no problem in staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.3 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#21 of 28 in Canmore
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $75 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing