We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Visiting Canmore and Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visiting Canmore and Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family - seven persons - 5 adults & 2 children- , have a wonderful night in our trip from Edmonton to Banff area.
For us the site was ideal; we prepare our own food in the kitchen; being rated 2 stars in the website, we were very happy there.

Room Tip: It has wonderful sights of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edm-ab_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    154
    51
    10
    1
See reviews for
98
129
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cerritos
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very good option when visiting Banf, on the way when driving from Calgary (east). Away from the crowded, pricey Banf. Very near to many shops, convenience stores, restaurants, main high way. Requires driving (we stayed here 2 nights). Well maintained rooms with kitchen and living room. Great for families too!. This was in August 2010 (sorry for the late review).

Room Tip: Being next to the main street, not sure there is any difference? May want to avoid the rooms close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elixirpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room was clean, good space. The location is good. Close to the town, easy access to major attraction and highways. The staff is ok, helpful and friendly.
Good option if you are looking for an economical place to stay, while enjoying your summer/winter vacations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, my 4 and 6 year old shared the futon and we had a playpen in the bedroom. The room was clean a little dated but fine. The room was warm, the heater a little noisy, oven worked well. 15 minute walk into town

Room Tip: Wouldn't want 2 big kids sharing the futom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bar harbor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been staying at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge every winter for the last 6 years and will continue to do so. The rooms are clean, property is well maintained, the staff is super friendly. I have always gotten a room with a kitchenette which has saved me a ton on meals. Weekly discounts are a huge help on saving too. I have always gotten a good nights sleep at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk for room selection- quiet, by the hot tub, next to the playground, bbq etc. One bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshuah990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent the weekend here (jan 2013). Was a very nice hotel, and was extremely clean. Staff were extremely nice too! Hot tub/sauna room were very very well maintained and very clean! Beautiful view of the mountains. Accommodating with BBQ's, park,snack machines/pop machines, laundry room etc. I would stay here again in a heart beat. I mean if your looking for a romantic getaway it may not be the place to chose. Bed was a bit small for two, and a little uncomfortable but whatever! We didn't spend much time there! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porschapickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent a weekend in Canmore & stayed at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge (Jan 2013). This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. On this occasion, there were 2 couples in our party. We had a one bedroom apartment. There was a bedroom, bathroom & then a living area with a kitchen, sofa/pull out bed. Both the bed in the bedroom & the pull out futon bed were comfortable. Kitchen was equipped with fridge, stove, microwave, plates etc. The room was clean. The fireplace in the living area was a nice touch.

Location is good - about a 10 minute walk to downtown shopping, bars, pubs & restaurants. Boston Pizza is directly opposite the hotel. If you are looking for breakfast, just a 3 min walk away is Chez Francois Restaurant (beside the Econolodge)

The hotel has a large hot tub & sauna room. They offer free wifi (codes required for each device, but they gave us as many codes as we needed). You can park right outside your room as it's motel style buildings. Vehicle plug in's available for wintertime.

I would have preferred it if there had been a safe in the room. Value for money was good. Staff were friendly. Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
0.9 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#14 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Property: Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing