We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - not great, but not bad either (read on...)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“OK - not great, but not bad either (read on...)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights using Choice Hotels points. In summary, it was a good choice for free nights with points, but I wouldn't have felt so happy if I had to pay the going rate for the room. As I said in the title; OK, but not great. (At the bottom of this review is an important comment about the railroad tracks right next to the hotel).

Firstly the positives; great view of the mountains from most of the rooms. Air conditioning was great (as it was mid August it was essential). The room was dated but clean. Free WiFi was good. Parking was OK (close to the hotel but it got full every night). There was no noise from adjoining rooms or the ones above. Good location less than 1 minute from the highway and in walking distance of the entire town. The pool (indoor) and hot tub (outdoor) was small for a hotel this large, but it was well maintained. The gym was fantastic, one of the best hotel gyms I have used in years.

The negatives: for a room that is supposed to sleep 6, the bathroom was tiny (and I mean tiny). Not enough room to swing a toothbrush, let alone a cat. This is the only Quality Inn / Choice Hotels property I have every stayed in with no free breakfast. There aren't enough power sockets in the room so be sure to bring a power bar with you. The layout is pretty confusing, with one slow elevator in the center of the hotel and no option of using stairs from the third or fourth floor, and a separate elevator to the restaurant that doesn't go to the lobby. Weird.

Now, on to the railroad tracks ... Yes the Canadian Pacific Railroad is immediately behind the hotel. There are a lot of reviews moaning about this. However we did have a room overlooking the railroad and we loved every minute of it. There is something magical about seeing large trains rolling through the mountains, they are part of Canada's (and Canmore's) history and there is nothing better than having a close-up view from your hotel window. About 4 or 5 trains rumbled on through in the middle of the night but it was part of the experience (very cozy to lie in bed listening to the trains making their way through the valley in the dead of night).

If you don't like trains, don't come to Canmore - period. If you choose Canmore and this hotel, enjoy the trains for what they are - a wonderful part of the history and of the mountains. Ask for a room facing the trains!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    83
    80
    49
    47
See reviews for
106
102
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
port vila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We actually left the Rundle Ridge Cabins after a terrible experience there and headed to this chateau in the hope of finding a reprieve - we found it! The hotel was comfortable and cosy and well appointed. We had a road facing room and did not hear the trains going by at night. All facilities were catered for and we had 3 good nights here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebellePortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a great room. Nice big living area had a sofa, service bar with microwave, refrigerator and sink, and a loft bedroom with a king bed and second TV. Unfortunately the hotel is built right alongside active railroad tracks and the trains do run at night! Service was not the greatest. We left at 7:00 AM to spend the day in Banff Park and returned hot and tired at 5:00 PM to shower and change for dinner and our room had not been made up yet. We called to the front desk twice to have someone come with clean towels, etc. but after at least 20 rings each time with no answer we had to walk down to the lobby to voice our request. We asked that the manager call us so we could talk to him/her personally, but we never got the call. The three gals who showed up a little while later made some lame excuse about how they always do our room last and they hadn't gotten to it yet. We never heard an "sorry" from anyone.

Room Tip: If you can sleep through anything, this location may not bother you. If you're a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSIER, LA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here starting 6-25-12 for several nights. The hotel is in a great location right off Highway 1. The lobby is very nice and tastefully decorated and the staff very friendly and helpful. You park behind the hotel. There is also a train track running behind the hotel as others have noted but our room faced the front and we did not hear the train at all. Our room was very nice and cleaned nicely each day. It is a short drive to Banff, about 12 - 15 minutes. You do have to stop to buy the National Park pass if you don't already have one and this could take a few extra minutes. There is a mountain range behind and in front of the hotel so basically mountains all around. There was snow on top of the mountains. It was pretty cold our first day but we had no problems with our room. We had a great experience here and would stay here again. The fitness room is very nice and has big windows that overlook the Bow Valley Trail road - nice. There was no continental b'fast, but there is a restaurant on end of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BossierCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Positives: Very comfy beds, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, complete work-out room/equipment, business center with computer and printer available, individual climate controlled rooms, good morning coffee, friendly hotel staff.

Negatives: Only one elevator for a 5 floor hotel, no complimentary breakfast included in the hotel rate but there is a restaraunt on-site for made to order breakfast, a single ice-machine on 3rd floor only, Availabale parking at back of hotel is 'tight'.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel for much better views of mountains but also hear trains as railroad tracks run al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hello and Good day to you all.Just would like to share my expirence who you on this Quality Inn.I arrived a little early,So i had to wait about an hour(it,s ok tho).When i checked in,I found this Quality Inn to be rather a BLESSING! It had EVERTHING i really did need.Comfy bed,s for Me and Schell and my Wooo,s,Room service was exceptional,And the Sales Manager(Sheri) Went out of her way to see that i had everything i needed,(THANK YOU Sheri)!!The girl who checked me in was also VERY Professional,And curtious.I WILL definetlly make this Quality Inn my chioce to stay when in Canmore AB......

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Mountains....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Underway1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

While there is a very wide choice of hotels, this is a very nice, comfortable and convenient place to stay while visiting Banff. A little away from Banff, it is still worth driving the extra distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junaidadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#14 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Canmore
Days Inn Canmore
#11 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Resort Chateau Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Property: Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
Address: 1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Chateau Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Resort Chateau Canmore is an all suite property features 93 units, offering spectacular views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This full service hotel includes a family restaurant, sports lounge, and full fitness centre. You can enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or soothe aching muscles in the outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Choice Canada, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Resort Chateau Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Hotel Canmore
Quality Inn Canmore
Quality Hotel Chateau Canmore
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing