We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent basecamp for a weekend in the rockies.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A decent basecamp for a weekend in the rockies.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed here over the New Year. We like to stay in Canmore because prices are much more reasonable than Banff!

We picked this hotel because while we usually stay at the Econolodge, they were booked and this hotel was Pet Friendly. On the whole, it's a pretty nice place. The lobby is nice and stocked with snacks if you have a case of the late-night munchies, it's close to "downtown", it has an adequate fitness centre, pool and outdoor hot tub and an attached restaurant that provides room service during normal hours.

Housekeeping was wonderful and kept our space spotless. They even arranged the dog toys on top of the fireplace while we were out (the fireplace, on the other hand, has a loud timer on it, so when it's running it's also ticking. A little annoying).

There were a few downsides: the room was very, very hot. I'm not a cold sleeper, so for me to complain about a warm room is serious business. We slept with the window open all weekend (for those of you who stumble across this review years down the road, although it was January, it was unseasonably warm that year, so take this with a grain of salt). The restaurant was not open for breakfast on weekdays, which kind of sucked and our room phone was so old and crackly, people could hardly understand me on the other end.

Besides that, this place served well as a spot from which to launch our mountain adventures and took no issues with our 2 LARGE dogs accompanying us in the hotel. We will probably stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor. For the first few days of the trip, I almost went nuts listening to the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApatheticAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    104
    89
    56
    49
See reviews for
126
121
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2011

we had the king suite room with the bedroom on the second level (from which you couldn't see the view from), there is a railway on the back side which wasn't mentioned on their website or when we booked. It was romantic with the fireplace and view of the mountains but if you're interested in more than cuddling with your partner it kind of sucked. The pool was small, you had to rent the dvd players and couldn't hook it up to the tv in the bedroom (which only had half the channels of the downstairs one). The food was not good but lots of places close by. kitchen sink to small to do large dishes, no soap or towels for it, microwave was broken and old, but still good for the cost of the room but bring your own dishes, untensils etc. It was nice because it was more like a little apartment than a hotel room if you get the 2 level suite.

Room Tip: king suite was romantic for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandC_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a king suite which was very comfortable, clean and quiet. A washer & dryer was just down the hall, so we were able to wash clothes. Had a great sleep which we needed. Everything was fine, but breakfast was the worst I think I ever had! We did the $9 buffett and it was awful - dried scrambled eggs, greasy bacon that hadn't been cooked long enough, stale bread, & old, old fruit that I think made me sick. They charged extra for coffee and even charged us for milk they never brought. Really, really bad place to have breakfast & I wouldn't eat there at night either after our experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The room was on the 3rd floor. It was very hot and stuffy even with the a/c on especially in the little sitting area and it needed some upgrading. A family member had a room on the 4th floor and it was the same layout except it had bigger windows, a much nicer fireplace and was not stuffy. The breakfast buffet was terrible so the second morning we went somewhere else to eat. Other than that the staff was friendly enough and tried to be accommodating. Not sure I would stay here again though.

Room Tip: The suites on the 4th floor are brighter, bigger (especially the loft suites) and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were happy to stay overnight at this hotel on a beautiful long weekend. Our check-in was courteous, our suite was clean and comfortable, being well-equipped with a small fridge and microwave. The hotel was on a walking trail leading to a Boston Pizza and Subway 5 minutes away, and into downtown Canmore beside the railway tracks: it made for a nice walk while we waited for our room to be ready (check-in 4PM, although we received a 3PM early time). Reception staff were helpful in providing information.
The decor is not fancy, but it met our needs well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway tracks if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed there for the weekend, Had a very tough finding a place to park on site. Front desk staff were busy & a bit dismissive. Bought some very expensive water for the room. Walked by the pool, which was very small & had about 20 teenages crammed into it. Room was clean enough, with very old sparce furniture. 4 people in the room, so we needed to use the pull out couch, so uncomfortable, the floor would have been better. Then the Train came through the hotel, I mean behind the hotel. Whole place shook!! God forbid if you miss the elevator, you'll be standing there for a very long time for it to return from 4 floors. There are other more reasonable pleases to stay in town, I'd save this one for the teenagers!!

Room Tip: Loft Rooms are big, but if there are more than 2 travellers, the pullout bed is uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needsagoodsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in a two stories suite. The room is beautiful. The kitchenette has all the necessary dishes for a short stay. Large windows give great views of the mountains. A propane fireplace adorns the room. Everything is included and functional (toaster, coffee maker, air dryer, freezer ...) The bed is very comfortable and the room is quiet. A more efficient air conditioning would be appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vireago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Resort Chateau Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Property: Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
Address: 1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Chateau Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Resort Chateau Canmore is an all suite property features 93 units, offering spectacular views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This full service hotel includes a family restaurant, sports lounge, and full fitness centre. You can enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or soothe aching muscles in the outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Resort Chateau Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Hotel Canmore
Quality Inn Canmore
Quality Hotel Chateau Canmore
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing